We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Thought I was Home"”
Review of Spears Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheraw
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Cheraw B&B and Inns
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“"Thought I was Home"”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have nothing against hotel chains; I use them and are generally very pleased with them. However, they cannot begin to compare to Larry and Kay's guest house. As a product of the small town South, I thought I had come home. You will feel the same, and if they treat you half as well as they did me, you will return...as will I.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMA25TheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
25
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband & I have stayed at Spears Guest House every year for many years, when we are traveling to NC beach. It's a marvelous gem! The house & beds are very comfortable & well kept up. Everything is lovely and very unpretentious. You are in a fascinating historic neighborhood with splendid homes all around dating back to early 19th (even late 18th) centuries -- overshadowed by magnificent old trees. The house itself is set up like a home -- so you can relax, fix your own food in the handy kitchen, enjoy the homemade muffins & other treats that Larry & Kay provide. Larry & Kay, the innkeepers, are great! They treat you like friends of the family -- nonobtrusive but helpful & warm as needed. They have lots of interesting info & materials about Cheraw -- which is a historically important & beautifully preserved town...don't neglect walking in the downtown square with statue to Dizzy Gillespie (who was from Cheraw)...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluegrass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed at the Spears Guest House many nights over a period of 5 months. It was truly a home away from home. Cheraw is a beautiful, friendly town. Kay and Larry Spears are excellent host and will quickly become your friends. They make you feel part of the community and part of the family. The house is located in the historic area of Cheraw and is very nice and quiet. The kitchen was nice for a late night snack or a quick breakfast in the morning. Each room has a private bath and there are complimentary laundry facilities in the house which is nice for an extended stay. I would highly recommend the Spears Guest House over other hotel options that I have stayed in in the area, whether for business or just a personal visit. I will definitely be bringing my wife to the Spears Guest House.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Be sure to book a room at the Spears Guest House! Kay and Larry Spears make your stay in their charming guest house a time for relaxing and enjoying the beautiful town of Cheraw, SC. You can walk to town or church from their location. Our family greatly enjoyed the Cheraw Spring Festival. Enjoy good food and lots of history. A must for you history buffs that enjoy learning about The War of Northern Aggression.
We enjoyed our fresh coffee, muffins and treats for breakfast while sitting on the front porch.
This house provided us with privacy and quiet while delivering southern charm!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCDixieChick, Owner at Spears Guest House, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Beverly, thanks so much for your nice review. We had a wonderful time visiting with all 3 Beverlys and, of course, Mr. Rogers was a special treat! We hope y'all will come back soon and bring the rest of the family! It was a special time with y'all, and I'll practice my singing to be ready for the next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Homemade muffins and food...very welcoming atmosphere. Spacious bathrooms. Had a great stay and an enjoyable taste of southern comfort - Frank

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Was in town for a couple of days for business in Cheraw and chose Spears from Trip Advisor. So glad I did! It was a lovely place to relax after a long work day. The house was charming and immaculate. My room was cozy, well-decorated and spacious. The kitchen was stocked with coffee, snacks and breakfast items. Would definitely come back. Thanks Larry and Kay! You are great!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscargoKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dowagiac
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Spears Guest House! The house is very clean, cozy and all ammenities were easily accessible. Next time we are in this area, we plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Extra pillows are in the closet. We forgot to look. We stayed in the Maple Room and had to turn th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheraw
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Cheraw
Quality Inn Cheraw
#1 of 4 in Cheraw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Bennettsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rockingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Laurinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
23.6 mi away
Quality Inn Laurinburg
Quality Inn Laurinburg
#3 of 5 in Laurinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
17.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Guest House

Property: Spears Guest House
Address: 228 Huger Street, Cheraw, SC 29520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Cheraw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cheraw
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of Cheraw, SGH has 4 rooms, all with en-suite baths, as well as a common parlor, dining room, half-bath for visitors, and fully equipped kitchen. Each bedroom has a queen bed, flat-screen television, hair dryer, iron, robe, CD and DVD players, and brandy. SGH is beautifully furnished with antiques and local artwork. At your convenience, you may choose from a variety of breakfast foods. Complimentary wireless, expanded cable, and an assortment of books and DVDs are provided. A gas grill as well as a washer and dryer are available. Whole house rentals are great for golfing, weddings, and reunions. The owners live across the street and are readily available, while at the same time affording guests maximum privacy. It's a great place to stay to take day trips to Columbia, Mrytle Beach, Charlotte, or Raleigh--all are about 100 miles. Larry and Kay, being a lifelong native, are great ambassadors for the town, and will tell you lots of local stories and Larry may even come over and entertain you with guitar and song on the front porch! It's a great time! Pour a glass of wine, relax on the front porch, and enjoy the "Prettiest Town in Dixie." Come as Guests...Leave as friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing