We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheraw's Finest Accommodations”
Review of Spears Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheraw
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Cheraw B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My husband and I visited Cheraw, the Prettiest Town in Dixie, in October. We discovered the Spears Guest House and its gracious proprietors, Kay and Larry Spears, and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The house provided the perfect accommodations for us. My husband is an early riser and enjoyed the comfortable sitting room while I enjoyed my sleep. The kitchen is self-service, so you can eat whenever you wish. The refrig was stocked with delicious homemade apple and pecan muffins, English muffins, bagels, yogurt, etc. There was cereal and fresh fruit available as well as a Keurig coffeemaker with numerous coffee selections. We had wine and hors d'oeuvres one evening with Kay and Larry and enjoyed discussions about Cheraw and its history.
Our room and bathroom were fully equipped with anything you could possibly need. The guest house is on a quiet street in the heart of Cheraw, perfect for walking to view the beauty of this Southern town. We will definitely stay at the Spears Guest House on return trips to Cheraw.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LHHIOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

A group of us stayed at the Spears Guest house this past weekend while we were in the area for the Tough Mudder- Carolinas in Society Hill. The accommodations were perfect. We loved how each guest room had it's own bathroom. Having a TV in each room allowed the guys to watch several different college football games at one time on Saturday afternoon! On Saturday night, we used the grill to make a big steak dinner to celebrate finishing the Tough Mudder. We enjoyed sitting around the cozy dining room table to share a meal together. Miss Kay stopped in to say hello and make sure everything was comfortable for us and she was just so nice. I thought the 'make your own' breakfast worked out perfect for us since we were up so early on Saturday, and we all left at different times on Sunday. Furthermore, the house wasn't too far from the restaurants in downtown Cheraw - we were able to walk to the Oyster Bar to have a couple drinks after dinner. I would highly recommend the Spears Guest House and hope we can return sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fusillijackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Spear's Guest House is in the heart of historic Cheraw, SC. It is a beautifully appointed home with comfortable beds, a living room furnished with lovely antiques, cozy kitchen, dining room, and all amenities. The owners made us feel like family. The conversation was easy and their knowledge of the area gave us insight into the charm that Cheraw has to offer. Larry entertains with songs and stories while Kay serves up homade cheese wafers and southern hospitality. She can tell you about famous local artists, the history of the stately homes, and point you towards the best local experiences. We absolutely loved staying at Spear's Guest House and will make it our destination next time we visit Cheraw.

Room Tip: All rooms have private baths with all the hot water you care to use. There is wi if and TV in every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDNock-n-Stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Local hotels suck so my wife and I looked for an alternative in small town Cheraw SC. We found it in the Spears Guest House. Our room was very clean, had all the modern conveniences and no extra costs (hot water, large towels, wi-fi, UVerse, easy parking, etc.) and after meeting the owners', I know we'll be back. Kick back in Southern hospitality and spend some time with the Spears. Oh yea, loved the Brandy in my room also.

Room Tip: Make reservations early, there are only four rooms and the guest house is popular. IF YOU ARE IN CH...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We look forward to going back to Cheraw and Spears Guest House. Actually, I can’t remember why we left. I guess we remembered that we have children at home.
We had driven through many times and noticed the beautiful, historic town of Cheraw. So, we decided to spend a couple of days and nights there to celebrate our anniversary.
We wandered the streets and looked at the old homes and businesses. If you like small towns, you will love Cheraw. Everyone says hello and takes time to chat. To see the museum in the Lyceum, you go to town hall and they give you the key. No forms. No driver’s license. They just lend you the key. While you are in the museum, ponder the miracle that General Sherman was there for days and most of the town still stands.
We explored the 240-year-old cemetery at Old Saint David’s Church. My challenge to you: count the churches and pick the prettiest.
We paddled around the lake at Cheraw State Park and looked at the lily pads, the cypress and some beautiful yellow plants that eat insects.
The guest house is in the historic area on a lovely street. It is comfortable and is beautifully and tastefully decorated. Kay’s muffins were to die for. We met some delightful fellow visitors on the second day, but there is a sense of privacy, since it is not in someone’s home.
Now, what to say about Larry and Kay Spears? I don’t want to suggest that all guests should impose on Kay and Larry’s time as much as we did. But, let me say that if they have any time to talk and you have any time to talk, they are interesting fun people and good story tellers. And be sure to ask them about the book and the blog.
And I know that some people would like to go away for a romantic retreat and just spend it with each other. Spears guest house would be a good place for that, but, we are a little bit on the extroverted side, and if we can spend a couple of days in a beautiful historic southern town and meet and have conversations with half of the town’s residents, that’s fine with us.
I would hate to suggest that we followed Larry and Kay around town, like puppies, but the truth is that we did some of that. They know everybody in town and lots of people seem to want to buy them drinks. And everybody has good stories to tell.
You probably know that Dizzy Gillespie is from Cheraw and there is a great statue of him. If you want to have a beer in a place where he used to play, there is Pee Dee Gas and Ice Co. known as the Icehouse. (Note, GAS & ICE CO., not to be confused with an upscale lounge.)
You might not know the stories about a former Cheraw Night Club called Another Place. In 1969, before their first album came out, Lynnard Skinnard came to Cheraw for a two night gig. They drove into the wall of Another Place because they couldn’t get their brakes fixed until they got paid for the gig. While they were there they finished writing “Take Three Steps.” Be sure to ask for the other stories about music in Cheraw.
When you look at the beautiful old homes, think Cotton: Cotton growing, Cotton selling, Cotton ginning, Cotton spinning. Remember to ask about the year everybody got cotton sweaters for Christmas to support the local cotton mill.
If you have time, take a look at The Market and The Teacherage, two of the oldest and prettiest buildings and ask Kay about her family’s connections to thLe those buildings.
We had a yummie lunch at River’s Edge and excellent seafood at The Oyster Bar. And don’t forget that Thursday is Trivia night at The Oyster Bar. We did well at first, but took a dive on some questions about TV shows we had never heard of. I think two of the teams to which we lost were named respectively; “Dem not Dachsuns, Dem Weenie Dogs,” and “Fat people are harder to kidnap.” They are serious about Trivia in Cheraw.
And we are serious about going back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldFlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We - a family of four from the Netherlands - spent one night in July 2012 in the Spears Guest House in Cheraw, on our way to Savannah. The Spears Guest House is a great place. Nice house, good rooms in a pretty environment. But what makes the Spears Guest House really stand out are the wonderful hosts: Kay and Larry. Within an hour of our arrival we were invited to their own house, where our kids could swim in their pool. That started a fantastic evening which turned memorable when Larry brought out a couple of guitars and together with our kids started making music. The pictures can be seen on www.larryspearslive.com
This evening will be in our memories for a long time. Great place, wonderful people, couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterVR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Lovely feel of being home, with a beautiful dining room complete with Bose cd player, living room to sit and read and enjoy a glass of their complimentary brandy!
The only draw-back was the food which was 'help your self' out of family sized packaging. This is a 'guest house', not a B&B. I did not feel comfortable sharing tubs of cream cheese, jam etc. with other people. Probably because of shows like 60 mins. which show how much nasty stuff people have on their hands, or double-dipping, or not washing hands after using the bathroom etc.
Individual packages of cream cheese, peanut butter, frozen breakfast sandwiches etc. would be an improvement. They are part way there with the coffee service and selection which was excellent.
The owners do not stay at the property but are right across the street and very accesable
Bathroom sink was slow to drain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saylorfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Spears Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Guest House

Address: 228 Huger Street, Cheraw, SC 29520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Cheraw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cheraw
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of Cheraw, SGH has 4 rooms, all with en-suite baths, as well as a common parlor, dining room, half-bath for visitors, and fully equipped kitchen. Each bedroom has a queen bed, flat-screen television, hair dryer, iron, robe, CD and DVD players, and brandy. SGH is beautifully furnished with antiques and local artwork. At your convenience, you may choose from a variety of breakfast foods. Complimentary wireless, expanded cable, and an assortment of books and DVDs are provided. A gas grill as well as a washer and dryer are available. Whole house rentals are great for golfing, weddings, and reunions. The owners live across the street and are readily available, while at the same time affording guests maximum privacy. It's a great place to stay to take day trips to Columbia, Mrytle Beach, Charlotte, or Raleigh--all are about 100 miles. Larry and Kay, being a lifelong native, are great ambassadors for the town, and will tell you lots of local stories and Larry may even come over and entertain you with guitar and song on the front porch! It's a great time! Pour a glass of wine, relax on the front porch, and enjoy the "Prettiest Town in Dixie." Come as Guests...Leave as friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing