We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and Clean”
Review of Spears Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheraw
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spears Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Cheraw B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This bed & breakfast is truly a wonderful place to stay. We have been there several times and will definitely return!!! If you are in the Chesterfield, Cheraw, etc. are of South Carolina, you must stay at the Spears Guest House. The place is decorated superbly and the hospitality there is Awesome. The place is clean, clean, clean. I would recommend anyone staying there

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2010

Kay and Larry Spears were classy and friendly hosts. We were in town for business and were referred by our client who is a friend of the Spears. We are very grateful he gave us the recommendation.

We arrived for the first night of a two night stay and were delighted to find a stacked refrigerator with food for guests and decanters of brandy in each room. The setup is classy and roomy with beautiful and chraming common spaces and comfortable well laid out rooms with private baths.

We were lucky enough to bump into Larry and Kay at the local Oyster Bar our first night. Larry with his Southern hospitality introduced himself when we walked in (we had not met face to face yet). We enjoyed our time with them and afterwards Larry came back to the guest house (they live next door) and played blue grass and folk music for us while we chatted.

The experience was truly fantastic full of Southern charm and hinted of a bygone era.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watchbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Extended family gatherings can be stressful but Spears Guest House seemed more like home than anything else! They think of everything that we forgot.....blowdryer and an iron! We'll definitely stay here again! Hat tip to Carol Mascia for the recommendation! Spears Guest House and Cheraw are gems of the south!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesofnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

What a wonderful guest house. My sister and I were so impressed with all the unexpected little extra touches that set this apart from the rest - an umbrella for that sudden rain shower, a cd player in my room so that I could finish my book on disc as I dressed, a soft bathrobe and more.We had the pleasure of meeting the owners who went out of their way to insure that our every need was met and also gave us wonderful advise on shops and out of the way places to include in our visit. We will definitely return again and this time bring our husbands.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol450805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We came to Cheraw for my 35th class reunion and stayed at The Spears Guest House. We had other friends staying with us there. I loved the in suite private bathrooms. The house was so cozy and very clean. The beds were comfortable. I loved that they had a grill in the backyard so we decided to grill out and had so much fun sitting in the back yard. The front porch in the morning was just perfect for coffee and reading the complimentary paper that arrive there everyday. The owners live across the street and were available if we needed anything. Needless to say they left no stone unturned and we did not have to call them for anything except to come and share a glass of wine with us in the backyard. I cannot tell you what a wonderful experience we had. If you are ever within earshot of Cheraw you must stop in and stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

What a pleasurable experience we had at Spear's Guest House. The rooms were squeaky clean and very comfortable. We really felt as though we were right at home. The "innkeepers" are so hospitable and are available to address any concerns (we had no concerns during our trip, but it is comforting to know they are a phone call away). The decor is stunning with attention to detail in each part of the house. We felt at home the entire time we visited. You will not be disappointed if you stay in this relaxing "down home" guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I can find nothing negative to say about our stay at Spears Guest House. We especially loved the location since I went to school in Cheraw. We are avid walkers and enjoyed walking the streets and down to the river. This is a very quiet, peaceful place to stay. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheraw
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Cheraw
Quality Inn Cheraw
#1 of 4 in Cheraw
42 reviews
13.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Bennettsville
42 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Hartsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rockingham
24.5 mi away
The Mantissa Executive Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Guest House

Address: 228 Huger Street, Cheraw, SC 29520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Cheraw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cheraw
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of Cheraw, SGH has 4 rooms, all with en-suite baths, as well as a common parlor, dining room, half-bath for visitors, and fully equipped kitchen. Each bedroom has a queen bed, flat-screen television, hair dryer, iron, robe, CD and DVD players, and brandy. SGH is beautifully furnished with antiques and local artwork. At your convenience, you may choose from a variety of breakfast foods. Complimentary wireless, expanded cable, and an assortment of books and DVDs are provided. A gas grill as well as a washer and dryer are available. Whole house rentals are great for golfing, weddings, and reunions. The owners live across the street and are readily available, while at the same time affording guests maximum privacy. It's a great place to stay to take day trips to Columbia, Mrytle Beach, Charlotte, or Raleigh--all are about 100 miles. Larry and Kay, being a lifelong native, are great ambassadors for the town, and will tell you lots of local stories and Larry may even come over and entertain you with guitar and song on the front porch! It's a great time! Pour a glass of wine, relax on the front porch, and enjoy the "Prettiest Town in Dixie." Come as Guests...Leave as friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing