We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has been over two years and I still can't get the place out of my thoughts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
An Inn on York Street
Ranked #1 of 3 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 March 2013

THE best Bed and Breakfast we have EVER stayed at was in Chester, SC. The host and hostess were absolutely wonderful. They were from the UK and went out of their way to show us a great time. Their home is absolutely beautiful and the rooms were wonderful. Our bed/bath were comfortable and I loved the shower especially. I could walk out in the morning and have coffee through the french doors onto the upstairs deck. Literally sit outside with the boughs of the trees swaying right in front of me while I lounged, read a good book and drank amazing coffee. (They have an amazing expresso/coffee maker and know how to make a great strong cup).
The breakfast were to die for. They don't just buy muffins from Costco and serve yoghurt. Poached pears, fresh muffins from the oven, followed by such items as eggs Benedict, assorted meats, etc.
While we were there, they also served dinner one night and each course was paired with the perfect wine. How wonderful to listen to a British accent explain the course, the wine, and with a joke or two thrown in.
As I said, the house and the decorating was beautiful and I wanted to just live there permanently! Besides the beautiful house and rooms, there is also an in ground swimming pool for those who like to lounge and swim in the summer months.
Because we are history buffs, we found plenty to do/see. Parts of the movie "The Patriot" were filmed close by and a Revolutionary battle called "Huck's Retreat" is close by with the old homes and buildings preserved. In town, there is a placque noting that Mary Chestnutt (a famous southern woman who wrote a diary during the civil war as she fled from one southern town to the next) stayed in Chester for a short time. Since I have read her diary and heard it quoted during Ken Burn's The Civil War series, that was really kind of cool. I also noted that there is a rock with a placque indicating that Aaron Burr also made a speech there as he was being returned back for his treason trial. If you like history and Southern Charm, then Chester IS a quaint little town. If you adore golf, then you can find that not far as well.
If your goal is to relax and enjoy southern hospitality "British Style", then this is THE place to judge all B&B's. If I EVER am even close to this area again, I would stop and stay in a heartbeat! Trip Adviser only has to April 2012 and I think it was summer July 2011 when we stayed there but any time, any year, any person would love the place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historylover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

While we loved our visit and great breakfasts, the town offered little in the way of dining or shopping. Like so many towns the main streets are barren, just empty store fronts. Guess golf is a draw here.
P.S. Do ask for new pillows for your bed.

Room Tip: Two rooms in front the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shysure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berrysales, Owner at An Inn on York Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Each room has a choice of feather or synthetic pillows, we couldn't trace which type the problem was with so naturally we have renewed all pillows and apologise. We are very proud of our Inn and always will uphold the highest of standards as we enjoy receiving excellent reviews here on tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Wonderful stay in an immaculate inn and served gourmet food by gracious folks from the UK. Inn is located in a small town that is near Rock Hill, SC. Great place to spend a few days relaxing or playing golf.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a wonderful experience at this inn! The innkeepers were gracious, the food was fabulous, and the accommodations were extremely clean and comfortable. It is a wonderful getaway place to relax. We will definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dackwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

What a treasure in the heart of this pretty little town in the north central part of South Carolina! We were greeted warmly by Sandy and Mark, and were given a tour of their beautiful bed and breakfast. There are four guest suites on the second floor, each named for a famous author. We stayed in the Noel Coward Suite, a front corner room which was attractively decorated in primary colors. The three course breakfasts were so delectable, especially the fruit (baked peaches topped with homemade granola the first morning and baked spiced plums in sauce the next morning). The pastry-covered spiced sausage was delicious too! We did not need to eat again until dinner! If you are looking for a great place just to get away and relax, be sure to visit An Inn at York Street!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RamblingRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at An Inn on York Street, Chester, SC and found the experience to be one of the most wonderful times of the summer. The Innkeepers, Mark and Sandy, were exceptional; they were very personable, accomodating and fun. Mark provided wonderful conversation while Sandy prepared fantastic food for breakfast. We highly recommend a stay at An Inn on York Street.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the Inn are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We wanted a quiet weekend in a quiet little town, and we indeed found it here. After being warmly welcomed, we got out our books and started reading. We had good food and good company, chatting with the hosts and the other guests. When reading, we had a variety of places to choose from in and around the inn. The front porch swing was a favorite spot. If we wanted to take a break from reading, games were available in the library area. What a great B&B experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CynthiaS27278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to An Inn on York Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Inn on York Street

Address: 164 York St, Chester, SC 29706-1487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful Southern Plantation Home, built in 1898 on a street full of interesting historic houses. An Inn on York Street is set in 3 acre grounds, with a large swimming pool and porches on both levels, on York Street in the historic district of Chester, SC. While away a relaxing weekend, curled up with a book or exploring the local State Parks and Historic English District. We're close to Charlotte, NC for all your shopping needs, great theatre and arts. Closer to home, explore the antique shops and beautiful historic buildings all around the area. In any season, the Inn is the place to be. Be adventurous, be yourself, be sporty, be entertained, be relaxed.... or just "be". New this season - try out our outdoor hot tub, set in the grounds of the Inn, on a covered patio. Come and enjoy a relaxing stay in a place that will take you back to a bygone era of grandeur and hospitality. Welcome to An Inn on York Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing