We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a blast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
An Inn on York Street
Ranked #1 of 3 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a blast!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We spent two night at The Inn on York Street in March, and we absolutely loved everything about it! The food was delicious, the room was beautiful and oh so comfortable, and the innkeepers were wonderful hosts! We spent hours just visiting with Mark and Sandie...we felt we had known them forever! The highlight of the town for us was Hall's Lumber, an antique store packed with so much interesting stuff, and the people at Gene's Restaurant gave us extra special treatment by making two of their chicken pot pies for us to take back to the inn. Sandie was gracious to let us cook them there, and we shared them with our hosts as we visited...such fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyandGreg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
130
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

THE best Bed and Breakfast we have EVER stayed at was in Chester, SC. The host and hostess were absolutely wonderful. They were from the UK and went out of their way to show us a great time. Their home is absolutely beautiful and the rooms were wonderful. Our bed/bath were comfortable and I loved the shower especially. I could walk out in the morning and have coffee through the french doors onto the upstairs deck. Literally sit outside with the boughs of the trees swaying right in front of me while I lounged, read a good book and drank amazing coffee. (They have an amazing expresso/coffee maker and know how to make a great strong cup).
The breakfast were to die for. They don't just buy muffins from Costco and serve yoghurt. Poached pears, fresh muffins from the oven, followed by such items as eggs Benedict, assorted meats, etc.
While we were there, they also served dinner one night and each course was paired with the perfect wine. How wonderful to listen to a British accent explain the course, the wine, and with a joke or two thrown in.
As I said, the house and the decorating was beautiful and I wanted to just live there permanently! Besides the beautiful house and rooms, there is also an in ground swimming pool for those who like to lounge and swim in the summer months.
Because we are history buffs, we found plenty to do/see. Parts of the movie "The Patriot" were filmed close by and a Revolutionary battle called "Huck's Retreat" is close by with the old homes and buildings preserved. In town, there is a placque noting that Mary Chestnutt (a famous southern woman who wrote a diary during the civil war as she fled from one southern town to the next) stayed in Chester for a short time. Since I have read her diary and heard it quoted during Ken Burn's The Civil War series, that was really kind of cool. I also noted that there is a rock with a placque indicating that Aaron Burr also made a speech there as he was being returned back for his treason trial. If you like history and Southern Charm, then Chester IS a quaint little town. If you adore golf, then you can find that not far as well.
If your goal is to relax and enjoy southern hospitality "British Style", then this is THE place to judge all B&B's. If I EVER am even close to this area again, I would stop and stay in a heartbeat! Trip Adviser only has to April 2012 and I think it was summer July 2011 when we stayed there but any time, any year, any person would love the place!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historylover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

While we loved our visit and great breakfasts, the town offered little in the way of dining or shopping. Like so many towns the main streets are barren, just empty store fronts. Guess golf is a draw here.
P.S. Do ask for new pillows for your bed.

Room Tip: Two rooms in front the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shysure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berrysales, Owner at An Inn on York Street, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Each room has a choice of feather or synthetic pillows, we couldn't trace which type the problem was with so naturally we have renewed all pillows and apologise. We are very proud of our Inn and always will uphold the highest of standards as we enjoy receiving excellent reviews here on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant Lake
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Wonderful stay in an immaculate inn and served gourmet food by gracious folks from the UK. Inn is located in a small town that is near Rock Hill, SC. Great place to spend a few days relaxing or playing golf.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a wonderful experience at this inn! The innkeepers were gracious, the food was fabulous, and the accommodations were extremely clean and comfortable. It is a wonderful getaway place to relax. We will definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dackwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

What a treasure in the heart of this pretty little town in the north central part of South Carolina! We were greeted warmly by Sandy and Mark, and were given a tour of their beautiful bed and breakfast. There are four guest suites on the second floor, each named for a famous author. We stayed in the Noel Coward Suite, a front corner room which was attractively decorated in primary colors. The three course breakfasts were so delectable, especially the fruit (baked peaches topped with homemade granola the first morning and baked spiced plums in sauce the next morning). The pastry-covered spiced sausage was delicious too! We did not need to eat again until dinner! If you are looking for a great place just to get away and relax, be sure to visit An Inn at York Street!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RamblingRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUPITER
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at An Inn on York Street, Chester, SC and found the experience to be one of the most wonderful times of the summer. The Innkeepers, Mark and Sandy, were exceptional; they were very personable, accomodating and fun. Mark provided wonderful conversation while Sandy prepared fantastic food for breakfast. We highly recommend a stay at An Inn on York Street.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the Inn are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Richburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
10.2 mi away
Days Inn Richburg
Days Inn Richburg
#4 of 7 in Richburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
9.8 mi away
Motel 6 Richburg
Motel 6 Richburg
#3 of 7 in Richburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#1 of 22 in Rock Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
#4 of 22 in Rock Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
23.3 mi away
Super 8 Lancaster
Super 8 Lancaster
#1 of 3 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Inn on York Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Inn on York Street

Property: An Inn on York Street
Address: 164 York St, Chester, SC 29706-1487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful Southern Plantation Home, built in 1898 on a street full of interesting historic houses. An Inn on York Street is set in 3 acre grounds, with a large swimming pool and porches on both levels, on York Street in the historic district of Chester, SC. While away a relaxing weekend, curled up with a book or exploring the local State Parks and Historic English District. We're close to Charlotte, NC for all your shopping needs, great theatre and arts. Closer to home, explore the antique shops and beautiful historic buildings all around the area. In any season, the Inn is the place to be. Be adventurous, be yourself, be sporty, be entertained, be relaxed.... or just "be". New this season - try out our outdoor hot tub, set in the grounds of the Inn, on a covered patio. Come and enjoy a relaxing stay in a place that will take you back to a bygone era of grandeur and hospitality. Welcome to An Inn on York Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing