We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
An Inn on York Street
Ranked #1 of 3 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2014

For our 10th anniversary, we booked their 4 night golf vacation. We had a warm greeting from Mark and Sandie and given a tour of their beautifully decorated house and then shown our room. After unpacking, we met the other guests and were advised that breakfast would be at 8:30. Times changed daily depending on what the all the guests are doing that day. All I can say is bring your appetite. The food was delicious, plentiful, and served while the player piano provided relaxing background music. One could skip lunch after such a feast. The golf course was fun and challenging. Although Chester is a small town, there was enough to do in the surrounding area to keep busy. Hiking in the two state parks, shopping in Charlotte, horseback riding, other golf courses, or just sitting poolside and relaxing. We enjoyed one pleasant evening talking to Mark and Sandie by the pool. I would recommend An Inn on York Street to anyone looking for a great place to stay for a day or a week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndyRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

This delightful bed & breakfast is in a great location for those touring through the South East, especially appealing to those who want to be very active (e.g. golf, watersports) or not at all active (sit by the pool, read a great book). Chester is a small town with great people, and good connections to major roads and other cities. Nearby are state parks to explore (Chester, and Langsford Canal), great shopping opportunities (South Park Mall in Charlotte) and the arts and culture (Charlotte's Blumenthal Arts Centre, in particular).

However, despite all the diversions of the area, An Inn On York Street should rightly be the main attraction for your visit. The rooms are furnished beautifully with taste and style. The linens and towels are high-quality, and with well-appointed amenities and thoughtful services (like guest coffee-making facilities and refrigerator in a guest kitchen, a library, in-room flat-screen TVs with DVD, and a liquor cabinet available in exchange for a small donation), there is almost no need to leave the property at all. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable.

Mark and Sandie are the most friendly and welcoming hosts, bringing beautifully prepared and presented 3-course breakfasts to you along with stories and laughter. I stayed for 9 nights and was impressed that Sandie's culinary repertoire is so wide and varied. You'll definitely not go hungry.

I will be back, time and time again. This is a real gem of a place, hosted by really wonderful innkeepers. Just book and go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FridaysChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. Beautiful late 1800s house. Very comfortable room and nice pool on site. Friendly and accommodating innkeepers. Located on a street filled with majestic old homes. Easy drive to nearby Charlotte North Carolina for sightseeing.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank SteveLandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A big thank you to Mark & Sandi, owners of The Inn on York Street, for one of the loveliest vactions we have ever had! The Inn's decor is absolutely Charming & Sparkling clean. The breakfasts were terrific. We cannot say enough positive things about our hosts & The Inn. We enjoyed our stay so much, that we are going back for Thanksgiving.

Sherry & Allan

Room Tip: Any room you choose will be well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WInesflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We just celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary and feel very lucky to have found this Inn. Mark & Sandy are very gracious hosts and we had a wonderful time exploring the area. Breakfast was excellent, served on their porch overlooking a gazebo and pool. The rooms were nicely air conditioned, very clean, nicely decorated and quiet.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Mark and Sandie made us feel very comfortable in their home. They provided a package of four nights stay with two days of golf. The golf was at a new resort in the area and offered friendly service. The package was well worth the money. We enjoyed their company and their stories of English life. The food in the mornings was excellent with a different meal each day. They also provided us with refreshments in a cooler for our golf days.
The only downside the house was near railroad tracks and at times the trains were distracting. Chester did not have a quality restaurant in town. You have to drive to other towns in the area. For us that was not a problem, we were visiting sites in other communities is SC and found reasonable dining there.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent with private bath rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Perfect spot south of Charlotte. Mark and Sandy are the most gracious host, very accommodating and welcoming. Swimming pool is wonderful. Thank you for a wonderful weekend. Sandy and Mark provided a different breakfast each day with an assortment to please every palate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TotalWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Richburg
82 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#2 of 24 in Rock Hill
676 reviews
10.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Richburg
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Motel 6 Richburg
Motel 6 Richburg
#2 of 7 in Richburg
58 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rock Hill
20.7 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Rock Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Inn on York Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Inn on York Street

Address: 164 York St, Chester, SC 29706-1487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful Southern Plantation Home, built in 1898 on a street full of interesting historic houses. An Inn on York Street is set in 3 acre grounds, with a large swimming pool and porches on both levels, on York Street in the historic district of Chester, SC. While away a relaxing weekend, curled up with a book or exploring the local State Parks and Historic English District. We're close to Charlotte, NC for all your shopping needs, great theatre and arts. Closer to home, explore the antique shops and beautiful historic buildings all around the area. In any season, the Inn is the place to be. Be adventurous, be yourself, be sporty, be entertained, be relaxed.... or just "be". New this season - try out our outdoor hot tub, set in the grounds of the Inn, on a covered patio. Come and enjoy a relaxing stay in a place that will take you back to a bygone era of grandeur and hospitality. Welcome to An Inn on York Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing