We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn Upon Moon River Plantation
Ranked #2 of 3 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Business brought me to Chester which included long dreary days at a local mill. Such a welcome surprise the genuine hospitality and companionship I received from Elizabeth and Dave. Not only did they cater to my ever need; exercise, special diet, spa recommendations, but they delivered with such sincerity. The food was delicious southern comfort and homemade, most picked from their own garden. The inn was warm and inviting, rich with culture and music. My trip was a pleasure due to Elizabeth and Dave. Can't wait to come back!!!! I highly recommend!
Hint: request Elizabeth's okra!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimberly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We are delighted with your warm and refreshing review of our bed and breakfast. We receive it with great appreciation! We truly enjoyed you and your stay with us--your enthusiasm and perspectives on life. We pray for your continued success and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Arriving at the Inn Upon Moon River Plantation felt like coming home after a long and exhausting drive. When we finally reached our destination, it was already late at night and dark, in a place where we'd never been before, yet we found home. It was so wonderful to be greeted by the sight of that lantern-lit, picturesque historic Inn, where Elizabeth and David had been waiting for our arrival, welcoming us on the porch. From the first moment onward, stepping into the enchanting realm of finely appointed halls, comfortable rooms and cozy chambers, steeped in dapper furnishings and lavish decor, as well as mementos of musical geniuses, we felt happy! And the breakfast...bountiful, luscious, healthy, delicious! So lovingly created, with fruit and veggies from the garden, unforgettable!! We found heaven on earth!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for being our guest and for your kind and thoughtful review. Your stay with us has brighten our world and continues to bring joy and inspiration to our home (Inn Upon Moon River Plantation), our city of Chester, and the "Olde English District" of South Carolina. We look forward to your return in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The historic and so beautifully preserved Inn Upon Moon River Plantation was truly an amazing place - excellent in every way. The most gracious and hospitable innkeepers, Elizabeth and Dave, have a stunning and well appointed home that is like a museum. It is full of marvelous memorabilia of blues and jazz music, plus performing artists that span the decades. And, what they know about this topic is endless and so interesting! The outstanding and home-cooked meals that they prepared for us, much of which came from their glorious garden, were enormous and delicious beyond words. The guest rooms were very clean, charming, comfortable, and so nicely decorated with great attention to the decor. There were stunning surprises everywhere we looked! We really felt right at home the minute we walked in the door, and left feeling like family anxious to return for another visit.

Room Tip: The four guest rooms are each so unique. The innkeepers will describe each one and let you select t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cricket W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for your uplifting review of your stay at the Inn Upon Moon River Plantation. We were delighted to have you as a guest and are grateful for the shared memories, and the good times we had in communicating the music and cultural appreciation of blues, jazz, and gospel and our historic Chester, SC community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Henry and I chose to explorer Chester county for our 2nd anniversary trip. From the time Elizabeth answered the door we felt welcomed like family or old friends. Our room was very comfortable. We enjoyed the blues memorabilia, the great food, and our time spent with David and Elizabeth. They were very knowledgeable of the area and were able to suggest and direct us to activities we expressed interest in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for the kind and warm expressions you shared during your stay and in your review of Inn upon Moon River Plantation. We are looking forward to your returning. Thank you again for your support of our Bed & Breakfast and Chester, South Carolina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inn Upon Moon River Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Upon Moon River Plantation

Address: 119 Pinckney St, Chester, SC 29706-3814
Region: United States > South Carolina > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: £101 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn Upon Moon River Plantation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Inn Upon Moon River Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing