We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn Upon Moon River Plantation
Ranked #2 of 3 Chester B&B and Inns
Dunnellon, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most wonderful B&B experience”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stefanie and I recently made our first trip to the Chester area for a family reunion. We knew it was a rural area, with Chester a time capsule of Americana. I searched online for a B&B and will be eternally grateful that I chose Inn Upon Moon River Plantation. There is no exaggeration in the earlier reviews, all was exceptional. A first experience, was Dave helping with our bags. I spent a very enjoyable hour talking about all the different types of music and the roll it plays in peoples lives. I toured the 1904 two story home and enjoyed all of the museum like decor. Our bed in the Delta Room was perfect and breakfast was the best mix of American home cooking with local sources. Spending time with Elizabeth and Dave was a rewarding life experience, so many hugs upon our departure. Recommended highly. Steve & Stefanie, Citrus Springs, Florida

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your sharing the experience of your stay at the Inn Upon Moon River Plantation Bed and Breakfast. There is nothing more satisfying than to know that our guests had a wonderful stay with us. Your warm review is encouraging and it validates what we want to convey to each and everyone visiting our Bed and Breakfast. The Inn Upon Moon River Plantation strives to be a bed and breakfast for the heart and soul. You truly touched ours with your marvelous and heartwarming review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent one night here in early July. Upon arriving we were greeted by Dave who helped us get our bags and gave us a tour of the lovely home. We were treated like old friends by Dave and Elizabeth our entire short stay. The breakfast was great and the hospitality was even better. If traveling near Chester I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokie-tide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your visit to our Inn Upon Moon River Plantation and the wonderful review of your stay. We enjoyed taking you on a pictorial journey of our 110 year old home in explaining our connection to blues music and its contribution to American musical culture as a whole. Our breakfast conversations were uplifting and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I am impressed again by the hospitality, the service, the amenities, the cleanliness and the food at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation. This trip was with my family/friends, We were given a tour of the home (bed and breakfast) and the town by Elizabeth and Dave that was picturesque,historic and informative. Thanks Elizabeth and Dave.

Room Tip: All the rooms are so unique you will not go wrong in your choice. You will leave with the desire to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlizbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are so fortunate that you and your family graced our bed and breakfast with your presence. We take our role as the inn-keepers seriously and a satisfied customer is a cherished achievement. We are so delighted that you and your family had a wonderful Valentine's Weekend Celebration and we look forward to your return visit, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candler, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for a night and not knowing what to expect and never having been to Chester before, what a pleasant surprise. The Inn Upon Moon River Plantation is an experience you will never forget. And if you're into blues, jazz or gospel, then you will love this place. Inn keepers Dave and Elizabeth came to Chester from Tallahassee Florida, where they owned and operated a popular Blues Club and Bar. The Inn if filled with music memorabilia - posters, figures, musical instruments, and many pieces that once were in their Tallahassee club. It's fun to just walk around the inn and discover the many music related items. Very cool. We had dinner at the inn with Dave and Elizabeth as well as breakfast. Lovely people. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrypoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for being our guests and sharing our passion for music and southern hospitality! Our historic Chester, SC community is a perfect example of small town America, in the process of revitalization and growth, after maneuvering through challenges resulting from industry relocation in our global economy. Thank you for your heartfelt and warm expression of our bed and breakfast and of our efforts to always provide the best service possible. We look forward to your visiting with us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Business brought me to Chester which included long dreary days at a local mill. Such a welcome surprise the genuine hospitality and companionship I received from Elizabeth and Dave. Not only did they cater to my ever need; exercise, special diet, spa recommendations, but they delivered with such sincerity. The food was delicious southern comfort and homemade, most picked from their own garden. The inn was warm and inviting, rich with culture and music. My trip was a pleasure due to Elizabeth and Dave. Can't wait to come back!!!! I highly recommend!
Hint: request Elizabeth's okra!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We are delighted with your warm and refreshing review of our bed and breakfast. We receive it with great appreciation! We truly enjoyed you and your stay with us--your enthusiasm and perspectives on life. We pray for your continued success and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Arriving at the Inn Upon Moon River Plantation felt like coming home after a long and exhausting drive. When we finally reached our destination, it was already late at night and dark, in a place where we'd never been before, yet we found home. It was so wonderful to be greeted by the sight of that lantern-lit, picturesque historic Inn, where Elizabeth and David had been waiting for our arrival, welcoming us on the porch. From the first moment onward, stepping into the enchanting realm of finely appointed halls, comfortable rooms and cozy chambers, steeped in dapper furnishings and lavish decor, as well as mementos of musical geniuses, we felt happy! And the breakfast...bountiful, luscious, healthy, delicious! So lovingly created, with fruit and veggies from the garden, unforgettable!! We found heaven on earth!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for being our guest and for your kind and thoughtful review. Your stay with us has brighten our world and continues to bring joy and inspiration to our home (Inn Upon Moon River Plantation), our city of Chester, and the "Olde English District" of South Carolina. We look forward to your return in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The historic and so beautifully preserved Inn Upon Moon River Plantation was truly an amazing place - excellent in every way. The most gracious and hospitable innkeepers, Elizabeth and Dave, have a stunning and well appointed home that is like a museum. It is full of marvelous memorabilia of blues and jazz music, plus performing artists that span the decades. And, what they know about this topic is endless and so interesting! The outstanding and home-cooked meals that they prepared for us, much of which came from their glorious garden, were enormous and delicious beyond words. The guest rooms were very clean, charming, comfortable, and so nicely decorated with great attention to the decor. There were stunning surprises everywhere we looked! We really felt right at home the minute we walked in the door, and left feeling like family anxious to return for another visit.

Room Tip: The four guest rooms are each so unique. The innkeepers will describe each one and let you select t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cricket W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth C, Owner at Inn Upon Moon River Plantation, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your uplifting review of your stay at the Inn Upon Moon River Plantation. We were delighted to have you as a guest and are grateful for the shared memories, and the good times we had in communicating the music and cultural appreciation of blues, jazz, and gospel and our historic Chester, SC community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Richburg
73 reviews
10.5 mi away
Motel 6 Richburg
Motel 6 Richburg
#3 of 7 in Richburg
57 reviews
10.9 mi away
Days Inn Richburg
Days Inn Richburg
#4 of 7 in Richburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#1 of 22 in Rock Hill
625 reviews
21.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
Comfort Suites Rock Hill
#4 of 22 in Rock Hill
234 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rock Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Upon Moon River Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Upon Moon River Plantation

Property: Inn Upon Moon River Plantation
Address: 119 Pinckney St, Chester, SC 29706-3814
Region: United States > South Carolina > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn Upon Moon River Plantation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn Upon Moon River Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing