We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College tour cont. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“College tour cont. ”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

It's been a long time since I've stayed in a HI property and I was pleasantly surprised. Beautifully decorated, up to date, and very clean. Love how they offer firm and soft pillows with labels. Breakfast was good. The entire Clemson area is currently having water issues and the water smells and tastes funny so the orange juice (made from concentrate) should be avoided. We would def stay here again, very good value.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Lisa M,

Very glad to hear you decided to stay with us at our Clemson location and had an enjoyable experience. We take pride in this hotel from top to bottom! I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay. We truly appreciate our guests! I sincerely apologize for the water situation, i wish there was something we've could have done to fix it.
We are looking forward for your stay with us again for your next stay in Clemson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    45
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
83
24
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have had good experience at other holiday inn express hotels and this one had good reviews so decided to try it with a last minute need to stay near Clemson university. It turned out to be a good choice. I was already in the area so rather than booking online I decided to just walk in. Front desk person was nice and offered to find a room and let us checkin even though it was earlier than checkin time. Very nice clean room. We had a good stay and the breakfast was very nice as mentioned by other reviewers already. Only issue we faced was the room lock which I think someone else has mentioned also. The lock is very hard to open after you put the key in and the light turns green. Because it is hard to open we kept running out of the few seconds you have before it turns red and you have to put the key in again. We were on the ground floor and maybe would have been even better being at a higher level floor so parking wasn't right outside but didn't bother us much. Overall a nice clean hotel and good value with the breakfast included.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler2here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear NM_2012_12,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay. We truly appreciate your business and your feedback. I am sorry for the experience you had with the door lock and the information has been turned over to our maintenance staff to be fixed. Other than the door, I'm glad to hear your experience was pleasant and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Seems to be a very new hotel, right off of 123 (be aware entrance is actually off a road that turns off of 123). Rooms were clean, but while we were visiting we had to move rooms due to emergency repairs being done on bottom floor...which is fine, except instead of being told of our needing to move rooms, our keys were turned off and didn't know of the need of us to move until we went to the desk and asked why our keys were turned off. Overall, typical and nondescript Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear spreese,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay. Our utmost apologies go to you for the emergency move. We do appreciate your patience and business with us.

We are a newer hotel, only 5 years old! Our staff takes pride in keeping everything very clean. We appreciate the positive feedback!!

We hope to get another opportunity to serve you if you are in the Clemson area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on business, June 12th. Get the suite, the extra room is worth a few more bucks.

Great welcome , with cookies and the hotel was spotless. One if the better breakfasts I have had at a hotel where breakfast is included.

Great location if you want to be near the college.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Gary2525 ,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Clemson! The suites are very lovely and glad you appreciated it!

Our hot breakfast and cookies are our yummy extras and glad you enjoyed them!
Thank you for taking the time and leaving such a positive review on TripAdvisor!
We hope to see you again next time you are in the Clemson area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed Fri-Sun for a tennis tournament @ Holiday Inn Express. It is a clean, quiet place but kind of a hidden property. Its hard to see it off the road and you can easily miss it. Hotel is clean, beds are average and property is nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Heena P,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. It is very nice to know that you have notice the cleanliness of the property. Hence, please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered on some aspects of your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel on 4/15/14. We stayed here in January also, and this time was also a pleasant experience. We arrived late, but we were checked right in. We stayed on the first floor this time. Beds were comfy with extra pillows. This time, the pool was open but we arrived too late to use it. The breakfast buffet was good, with fresh and hot items to choose from. If we come back to Clemson, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caylismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear caylismom,

We are so glad to hear you stayed with us a second time and that you had an pleasant experience. Hopefully next time you and your family are in town you can enjoy the pool!

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Robbin should be nominated for employee of the month. Absolutely had to have a fax sent by 12:30 am one night. She went out of her way to get this done. Such a nice person. Please stay at this hotel on her behalf.

Room Tip: Let Robbin Take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin_275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixclemson, Hotel Staff at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Dustin_275,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor!
Robbin is a great addition to our staff. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with her customer service!
Thank you again and we hope to see you again next time you are in the Clemson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#2 of 10 in Clemson
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#5 of 10 in Clemson
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
0.4 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Address: 1381 Tiger Blvd, Clemson, SC 29631-1119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Clemson
#3 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is conveniently located just one mile from Clemson University, home of the Clemson Tigers and the Brooks Center for the Performing Arts. This Clemson hotel is minutes from Lake Hartwell, Southern Wesleyan University, Fort Hill Plantation, the Oconee Nuclear Power Plant and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Additional points of interest include: Hanover House, South Carolina Botanical Garden, Ashtabula Plantation, Woodburn Plantation, and the T. Ed Garrison Livestock Arena. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located in the heart of Clemson, recognized as one of four sites on the South Carolina National Heritage Corridor. Within four miles of the hotel, visitors will enjoy golfing, tennis, water skiing, racquetball, nature trails, jeep tours and white water rafting on the Chattanooga River. At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites we consider ourselves a step above the rest and enjoy accommodating specific needs for our guests to ensure a satisfying stay. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will ensure that every stay to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel is convenient, easy and relaxing. We look forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Clemson, SC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clemson - Univ Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing