We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, limited food”
Review of Courtyard Clemson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Clemson
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, limited food”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Like most travelers staying at this hotel, we were here to visit Clemson University. The hotel is approximately 5 minutes from campus. I liked the spacious room, comfortable queen size beds, and glass doors on the shower. The area is safe. We heard very little noise from other rooms or the hallway. Those are the key factors for me when traveling so this hotel rates well in those areas.

Other things that were impressive were the pool area, the outdoor fire pit, and the large lobby that is very swanky.

Things that caused me to drop the hotel down a notch were the dim lighting in rooms, inability to find the hair dryer (it was in the armoire not the bathroom), bad coffee in the rooms, delayed room service, and slow breakfast service at the limited item restaurant. The hotel is not surrounded by restaurants so you have few choices for food.

While this hotel seems close to campus compared to other choices, I still feel like you need to drive to campus. On football weekends when everyone charges more for a room, I would not find paying extra for being closer worth the extra dollars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuSanSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    58
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
91
22
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here recently while visiting our daughter who attends Clemson. I guess we were used to lower priced hotels, but this was extremely clean and spacious. This may be our go-to place when visiting her from now on. Convenient too, but most everything is in Clemson.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cconhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
293 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Nice, clean hotel w/ comfortable bed. Nice shower door versus shower curtain. Quirky faults here and there though!
Shower flooded the floor, so right after settling in for the 1st night, I had to move across the hall to another room.
Changed rooms at 10pm, lovely!
Local channels not watchable on 1st night, so I couldn't watch favorite show. Bummer! Piss poor channel selection too.
Invasion of room privacy,, I had "do not disturb" sign on door yet someone entered my room to leave a sorry about TV issue note. What the hell! No respect for room privacy!
No ice machine on 6th floor, so you have to walk down to 5 for ice.
No trash can liners - Gross! Why do hotels save pennies on plastic liners, and expose the guest to the germs that must fester on these un-lined trash cans.
Takes 5 mins for shower water to get hot, 2 days in a row.
No complimentary breakfast nor coffee, you must use the lame Bistro. The folks are friendly enough since they are serving in hope of tips. So many hotels offer complimentary breakfast, yet the Courtyard charges you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimB_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for a gymnastics meet that was being held ad Clemson University. The front desk staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and quiet. It was a very short (3-5 minute) ride to the university.

We chose to eat dinner in the lobby cafe. The menu was very limited but we found something to eat. However, they were quite busy due to the gymnastics meet and there was only one person doing all the cooking, serving and cashiering. This caused for a longer than normal wait and errors in the order preparation.

All in all, I would stay there again if we come back to Clemson.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscerningMom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
262 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My son and I stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Clemson this weekend for a Clemson college visit. The hotel appears brand new and everything is spotless.

The check-in experience was great, and was all of the service while we were there. The 2 queen room was very spacious with a large easy chair in addition to the two beds, flat screen and mini fridge. The room had a build-in as well as a furniture type closet. I've lived in apartments with less closet space.

The lobby is large and spacious with 3 computers in the business c enter. I noticed a nice pool and fire pit behind the hotel, but we did not have time for either. I had breakfast in the bistro and it was great. Service was very good.

The drawbacks: First, the location is somewhat remote. It is about 4 miles to campus and there is little close. There is a Bojangles' and a Beef O'Brady's in walking distance, but that's about it. Also, when we checked in on a Sunday night, we were told that the restaurant would not be open that night "because there are not enough people here". We were not counting on the restaurant being open, but you would expect that a hotel provide the advertised services despite their occupancy level.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

There are loads of great, reasonably priced hotels in Clemson and extending farther out into Seneca and Anderson, but none compare to the quality, cleanliness, amenities, and overall experience you will find at the Courtyard Clemson. The room was spacious, nicely laid out, and decorated well. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is convenient to shopping and restaurants (many within walking distance) and just a short bus ride or drive to Clemson University. My only hesitation in recommending this hotel is that it will be tougher for me to book there in the future because once you stay there, you will most definitely want to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for a campus visit. The hotel is clean and seems new. Overall, we would probably stay here again.

The pro: clean, safe, neat, easy to find, close to campus.

The could-be-better: The hot water from the sink never got hot. The shower did - is there some kind of safety? More annoying that really a problem: they recently discontinued free coffee in the lobby - after all, if you sell coffee, I'm sure nobody would care whether coffee was free or $2? I hope someone was paying attention: while I was in the lobby working on paperwork, I heard the explanation that they don't offer comp coffee anymore 10 times (literally). Management: this means 10 people saw the free coffee note in their room, got dressed, went to the lobby and were told they could buy coffee or make some in their room... I've already typed too much about this, but it was annoying.

Overall, the room is fine, especially for one person who isn't planning to grab breakfast at the hotel before starting their day (like all Courtyards, no hotel breakfast here).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professorroyhinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clemson hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#5 of 10 in Clemson
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
2.4 mi away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Clemson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Clemson

Property: Courtyard Clemson
Address: 201 Canoy Ln, Clemson, SC 29631-3160
Region: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
#4 Family Hotel in Clemson
#5 Business Hotel in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Clemson 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you travel near Clemson check in to the BRAND NEW Courtyard by Marriott located off of Hwy. 93 and US 123 , within a mile of Clemson University. Ideally situated between Atlanta and Greenville, the Clemson Courtyard adds vitality to the hotel experience with an impressive new lobby design. Comfortable & productive lounging & work areas are now indoor and out. Modern technology surrounds as you explore the lobby, meeting space & business library- featuring a state of the art, 52" touch screen "GoBoard" which displays up-to-date news headlines plus more! Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast, dinner and beverages onsite, at The Bistro, Starbucks and our full bar. As always, the Market also provides meal options, 24/7. Guest rooms and suites are comfortable and functional with plush bedding, separate work spaces with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. Be sure to take in popular sites such as Clemson University, Fort Hill, South Carolina Botanical Garden & Hanover House while in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Clemson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Clemson Hotel Clemson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing