We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good hotel”
Review of Courtyard Clemson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Clemson
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here for the first time on March 29th. Very spacious clean rooms with excellent bathroom. Check in was seamless and the staff were extermely helpful and attentive. The bed was extremely comfortable. This will be where we stay in future when we visit our son.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keesy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is minutes from the Clemson University campus. It is very well maintained and feels like a new property. Decor and furnishings are the standard Courtyard fare which is a reasonably well thought out floor plan with decent furniture. Plenty of light in the room. Good climate control with a fan control to allow for air circulation and/or background noise. Bed was moderately firm. Pillows were small but there were enough for one person - might need to as for more if two are sleeping in the bed. There were convenient outlets for charging electronics. No room service in Courtyards, but a functional coffee shop/bar styled 'bistro' with limited hours which was fine. There were a number of chain restaurant and fast food options nearby as well.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank joylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed during a series of college visits. We came in the night before the tour and I can say that our experience with the hotel staff (many Clemson grads) and the wonderful hotel made us partial to the University before we even saw it. The rooms are modern and clean. The breakfast is perfect for a Courtyard. The staff is courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KShawnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is one of the cleanest Courtyards I have stayed. Room was comfortable and clean. Front staff friendly and helpful. I'll stay here on my next trip to Clemson. Ask front desk for restaurant recommendations, I picked a bad one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amxpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Like most travelers staying at this hotel, we were here to visit Clemson University. The hotel is approximately 5 minutes from campus. I liked the spacious room, comfortable queen size beds, and glass doors on the shower. The area is safe. We heard very little noise from other rooms or the hallway. Those are the key factors for me when traveling so this hotel rates well in those areas.

Other things that were impressive were the pool area, the outdoor fire pit, and the large lobby that is very swanky.

Things that caused me to drop the hotel down a notch were the dim lighting in rooms, inability to find the hair dryer (it was in the armoire not the bathroom), bad coffee in the rooms, delayed room service, and slow breakfast service at the limited item restaurant. The hotel is not surrounded by restaurants so you have few choices for food.

While this hotel seems close to campus compared to other choices, I still feel like you need to drive to campus. On football weekends when everyone charges more for a room, I would not find paying extra for being closer worth the extra dollars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SGS1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here recently while visiting our daughter who attends Clemson. I guess we were used to lower priced hotels, but this was extremely clean and spacious. This may be our go-to place when visiting her from now on. Convenient too, but most everything is in Clemson.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cconhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Nice, clean hotel w/ comfortable bed. Nice shower door versus shower curtain. Quirky faults here and there though!
Shower flooded the floor, so right after settling in for the 1st night, I had to move across the hall to another room.
Changed rooms at 10pm, lovely!
Local channels not watchable on 1st night, so I couldn't watch favorite show. Bummer! Piss poor channel selection too.
Invasion of room privacy,, I had "do not disturb" sign on door yet someone entered my room to leave a sorry about TV issue note. What the hell! No respect for room privacy!
No ice machine on 6th floor, so you have to walk down to 5 for ice.
No trash can liners - Gross! Why do hotels save pennies on plastic liners, and expose the guest to the germs that must fester on these un-lined trash cans.
Takes 5 mins for shower water to get hot, 2 days in a row.
No complimentary breakfast nor coffee, you must use the lame Bistro. The folks are friendly enough since they are serving in hope of tips. So many hotels offer complimentary breakfast, yet the Courtyard charges you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimB_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clemson hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
1.7 mi away
The Abernathy
The Abernathy
#2 of 11 in Clemson
46 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#6 of 11 in Clemson
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Clemson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Clemson

Address: 201 Canoy Ln, Clemson, SC 29631-3160
Region: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clemson
#4 Family Hotel in Clemson
#5 Business Hotel in Clemson
Price Range: £95 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Clemson 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you travel near Clemson check in to the BRAND NEW Courtyard by Marriott located off of Hwy. 93 and US 123 , within a mile of Clemson University. Ideally situated between Atlanta and Greenville, the Clemson Courtyard adds vitality to the hotel experience with an impressive new lobby design. Comfortable & productive lounging & work areas are now indoor and out. Modern technology surrounds as you explore the lobby, meeting space & business library- featuring a state of the art, 52" touch screen "GoBoard" which displays up-to-date news headlines plus more! Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast, dinner and beverages onsite, at The Bistro, Starbucks and our full bar. As always, the Market also provides meal options, 24/7. Guest rooms and suites are comfortable and functional with plush bedding, separate work spaces with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. Be sure to take in popular sites such as Clemson University, Fort Hill, South Carolina Botanical Garden & Hanover House while in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Clemson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Clemson Hotel Clemson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing