We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Clemson Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I am a graduate of Clemson University. When I attended there were about 4 hotel options in this quaint college town- no there are so many. I still fully believe that the Martin Inn is BY FAR the best place to stay in Clemson. The location is perfectly located on campus- but far enough a way from the hustle and bustle of student life. The rooms, location, amenities, staff, etc. are all wonderful. This is your best choice!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Queen Suite. It was huge! Small kitchen, dining table, living room, two vanities an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clemson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

Facility is beautiful, on a lake and golf course just 2 minutes from campus. Restaurant on-site has excellent food from fried green tomatoes to pork and vegetarian options. Patio seating overlooks the golf course and lake. Bar has specials every night. Prices are very reasonable, even for wine.
Rooms are very comfortable, clean, and the friendly staff throughout the facility makes the experience special. In room coffee, fridge. TV has very limited number of stations.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with an odd number to overlook the lake and on the 2nd or 3rd floor though you can se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vedado61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms. Friendly and helpful people. Seasons by the Lake has great appetizers and entrees, desserts could be better but overall a wonderful place to stay. Loved the grounds around the property. Only got to stay one night but truly enjoyed the experience. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed two nights at this hotel in June to participate in a conference at the adjacent Madren Conference Center. The setting is open and beautiful with a golf course and Hartwell Lake right there. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was of average size, very clean, and nicely decorated. My only complaint was that there was not an easy chair in the room. There was a standard rolling office chair at the desk, but the only other chair was a decorative straight-backed chair. The breakfast area was spacious, clean, and well-arranged so even when it was busy people could get their breakfast without crashing into each other. There was an area to make your own waffles (they smelled great!). There was also yogurt, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, danish, bagels, juice, milk, and very good coffee. There is a restaurant and bar, but I did not use them. There is a coffee maker in each room and a newspaper at your door in the morning. There is also a machine that makes Starbucks coffee in the lobby. For $2 the front desk clerk will give you a cup and you can make your own cup of coffee. All in all I was pleased with my stay there and it was certainly convenient with the conference center right there. That is also very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Enjoyed staying at the Inn but nothing spectacular. Great option if you are in town to head to a sporting game or alumni event and want a bit of seclusion as well. If you're a golfer it's a great option with Clemson's course right there. Staff is friendly and room is comfortable!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is an OK hotel but nothing special. My king room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly. The grounds are beautiful and right next to the lake. Certainly, the location is perfect if you have business at Clemson University. The Inn falls short, though, in the details. My room was dated and some of the trim was coming loose. The room has a coffee maker but they only provide coffee, there was no tea available in the room. The free breakfast had very limited selection. The week I was there each morning the breakfast options were the same: waffle, biscuits and gravy, dry cereal and packaged oatmeal, canned fruit, yogurt, fresh fruit, hardboiled egg, bread, small muffins, scones, bagels, toast.

PROS
Free wifi that worked well
Large room with comfortable bed
Friendly staff
Location on Clemson University campus
Refrigerator and microwave in the room
Windows in room open to let in fresh air

CONS
Aging room in need of a lot of minor repair
No Tea in the room
OK but limited breakfast selection
Insulation not adequate to muffle conversation in adjacent room

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGJ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have stayed at the Inn many times since my daughter enrolled at Clemson University. It is my preferred hotel in Clemson. The rooms are clean and if you are a member of the parent's club they offer a free night after you have stayed for five nights. They have a nice breakfast and always have a paper in the morning. I have eaten at the restaurant only once and it was just fair. You cannot beat the location right on campus, but still secluded and peaceful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mighty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.3 mi away
The Abernathy
The Abernathy
#2 of 11 in Clemson
50 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#6 of 11 in Clemson
153 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Patrick Square
The Inn at Patrick Square
#9 of 11 in Clemson
8 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#4 of 11 in Clemson
193 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn

Address: 240 Madren Center Dr, Clemson, SC 29634-0001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Business Hotel in Clemson
Price Range: £101 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the quiet luxury of The James F. Martin Inn- Clemson University's Hotel. Surrounded by the Walker Golf Course, the James F. Martin Inn is connected to the Madren Conference Center. The 89 room four-story hotel overlooks Hartwell Lake and features 27 luxurious suites and 62 spacious guest rooms, a hospitality suite, bridal suite and fitness room. Guests may also enjoy wireless and high speed Internet access, an outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, on-site restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James f. Martin Hotel Clemson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing