We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martin Inn is the Place to Stay at Clemson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Martin Inn is surrounded by the University golf course and landscaped hills rolling down to the lake. There are only about 100 well appointed rooms. Your room includes a complete breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the lake.

The restaurant is a great place for a drink or dinner in the evening. If you get back soon enough there will be warm oatmeal and chocolate chip cookies waiting in the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north over look the lake. There is a choice of suites and rooms with one king or two q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chemtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

My son and I stayed here while on a college visit trip. Our room overlooked the lake and it was beautiful! The room was very nice and the staff were extra friendly and helpful. Very clean and comfortable. We ate dinner at the restaurant on property and it was phenomenal, however, breakfast was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake - it's gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaxMom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Great location and comfortable bed. Basic continental breakfast can be upgraded for $8.95 or so. Feels like an older hotel with really poor soundproofing. Even with very low occupancy got stuck in a room with a door adjoining another occupied room. Could hear the tv and conversations next door quite clearly even though they were not being loud. My wife was woken up a number of times by the sound of doors opening and closing. I was glad that I had earplugs. It's a reasonably nice place with a great location if you're at Clemson and can deal with the noise.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jgbnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Whenever I take my kids to visit potential schools, I attempt to stay at the Inn or Hotel that is affiliated with the school.

When we visited Clemson, we stayed at the James F.Martin Inn at Clemson University.

The hotel was easy to find and clean. It was located on the University grounds. They served a good breakfast, although we had to upgrade to get an omelette.

The rooms were clean and functional. The bathroom in our room had everything we needed, including a hairdryer. It was probably due for some caulk and grout maintenance, but everything else was in great shape.

My only complaint was that I was surprised the front desk did not have more information about the college tours that the University runs. They did not know where they started, where we would park or any other information. They offered to find out, but I already had that information in the car. It appears that they are more geared toward conference events, but I would bet that I am not the only parent that likes to stay at an on-campus hotel when visiting a school. Having this information available at the front desk would be really helpful--especially for someone like us who drove many hours to get here, arriving very late and having to be on campus early. It is a small thing, but it would be very helpful.

This is a good hotel with great access to the school. I would recommend staying here if you are visiting Clemson.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I am a graduate of Clemson University. When I attended there were about 4 hotel options in this quaint college town- no there are so many. I still fully believe that the Martin Inn is BY FAR the best place to stay in Clemson. The location is perfectly located on campus- but far enough a way from the hustle and bustle of student life. The rooms, location, amenities, staff, etc. are all wonderful. This is your best choice!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Queen Suite. It was huge! Small kitchen, dining table, living room, two vanities an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clemson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Facility is beautiful, on a lake and golf course just 2 minutes from campus. Restaurant on-site has excellent food from fried green tomatoes to pork and vegetarian options. Patio seating overlooks the golf course and lake. Bar has specials every night. Prices are very reasonable, even for wine.
Rooms are very comfortable, clean, and the friendly staff throughout the facility makes the experience special. In room coffee, fridge. TV has very limited number of stations.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with an odd number to overlook the lake and on the 2nd or 3rd floor though you can se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vedado61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms. Friendly and helpful people. Seasons by the Lake has great appetizers and entrees, desserts could be better but overall a wonderful place to stay. Loved the grounds around the property. Only got to stay one night but truly enjoyed the experience. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.3 mi away
The Abernathy
The Abernathy
#2 of 11 in Clemson
45 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#6 of 11 in Clemson
153 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Patrick Square
The Inn at Patrick Square
#9 of 11 in Clemson
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn & Conference Center
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#4 of 11 in Clemson
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn

Address: 240 Madren Center Dr, Clemson, SC 29634-0001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Clemson
#4 Business Hotel in Clemson
Price Range: £101 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the quiet luxury of The James F. Martin Inn- Clemson University's Hotel. Surrounded by the Walker Golf Course, the James F. Martin Inn is connected to the Madren Conference Center. The 89 room four-story hotel overlooks Hartwell Lake and features 27 luxurious suites and 62 spacious guest rooms, a hospitality suite, bridal suite and fitness room. Guests may also enjoy wireless and high speed Internet access, an outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, on-site restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James f. Martin Hotel Clemson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing