We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, but that is not a bad thing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Certificate of Excellence
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average, but that is not a bad thing”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Older hotel. Rooms probably 20+ years old, but they looked nice and were clean. Had a couple maintenance issues, most significant was the knob to pull on the shower came off/wasn't screwed on. But some issues like this may not be known to the staff if guests don't report them when they check out. Breakfast was average also, typical waffles, coffee, cereal, eggs, sausage. Hotel was crowded and staff wasn't keeping up with the trash and clean up of the small breakfast area. Overall staff was nice. Location was on main street in town and seemed safe. No better location from Clemson university, only about a mile from campus. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are a few suites with a separate sitting/TV room (bedroom also had a TV)in the middle of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Manager at Comfort Inn Clemson University Area, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    28
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
8
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

First let me say that the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Thank you. Now the hotel, it is tired and old. They do their best to keep it clean (which is more difficult because it is old and they allow pets). I have dogs and always have, but even my fellow dog owners have to admit that it is harder to keep it clean with pets. It's a trade off we all willingly accept, trust me I've always had goldens. So, they do their best. The breakfast was the saddest excuse for breakfast I've seen. It's not that they don't have all the normal things, it's that they are bad, just bad. If you are traveling with a pet, go for it. If you are getting a great rate compared to the Hampton Inn and Courtyard, go for it. If it's the only room for a football game, go for it. Just don't expect the same quality as the other hotels I've mentioned. I would not stay there again and I would not recommend it to a friend, but I know I'm really picky about upkeep and cleanliness.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Manager at Comfort Inn Clemson University Area, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I was a guest at the comfort Inn Jan 2-4. The staff and Management was very friendly and helpful. The Hotel was clean, breakfast had a nice variety to choose from. My refrigerator was having a problem, mentioned it to the Desk Clerk sat morning, by the time I arrived back Sat afternoon it was fixed.

I had my dog with me and they had a nice area to walk her.

I wish more hotels were like this....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vika727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Manager at Comfort Inn Clemson University Area, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bessemer, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I travel extensively with my job. Currently I am working at a Duke Power facility and am staying at the Clemson Comfort Inn. I would like to say that from the initial phone call to book my room 5 months ago, and for my entire stay here the service and staff have been outstanding. Fred, Ty and Dawn at the front desk made me feel like family. Don the maintenance man even invited us to his church which was most enjoyable. These folks all take customer service to a level commensurate with a much more expensive property. The property underwent a sale, and is being renovated still. The improvements are noticeable and significant. 5 stars all the way. My wife and I may make excuses to stop here again in the future, just to see the friendly staff again if for no other reason.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyTrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Manager at Comfort Inn Clemson University Area, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I will be sure to share it with the staff. It is always great to hear about the positive experiences during a guests stay. We hope that we will see you again soon! Thank you again for giving our hotel a chance to provide you a home away from home experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in November 2013. The room, especially the bathroom, smelled musty. The wifi is a laugh. While it would connect, it was not possible to even download email. My room was next to an outdoor exit and a mechanical room. There was a periodic mechanical noise that, everytime it started, woke me up. When I complained to the front desk, the response was "Sorry bout that". Find another place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cennet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Manager at Comfort Inn Clemson University Area, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. As of August 29th, the hotel is under new ownership and several changes are being made including major room updates starting this month. Also, a new contract has been submitted for a faster wireless provider. I do apologize for the inconvenience that the wireless may have caused.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First, I'm grateful to have found a room late at night. The staff was very helpful. The location was very quiet and I slept most of the night. The bed was soo soft that I needed to put a pillow between my husband and me to prevent us both from ending up in the middle pit. The room was clean, but the previous remodel was not well done. I'd stay here again, but I'd first try another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakewoodFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Manager at Comfort Inn Clemson University Area, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review. The property is now under new ownership and the rooms are currently being updated. I hope you will visit Clemson in the future and check out our updated rooms. Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is the second visit in a row this month and the wireless Internet is unstable - the signal cuts out completely I'd say 25% of the time so don't come here if you depend on it. I told the front desk and they said they were aware of the problem-they knew about this problem last year.
One moring when we came to breakfast 1/2 hour before breakfast was supposed to be closed all the biscuits were gone and the kitchen staff said it was too late to bake more. No big deal unless you want a biscuit . Last time 2 weeks ago the room for eating breakfast didn't have the tables set up so we had to move the tables ourselves. These are little things, but when you are paying $240 per night I expect more...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28Docwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April M, Manager at Comfort Inn Clemson University Area, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your review to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. As of August 29th, the hotel is under new ownership and several changes are being made including major room updates starting this month. Also, a new contract has been submitted for a faster wireless provider. I do apologize for the inconvenience that the wireless may have caused.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#4 of 10 in Clemson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#2 of 10 in Clemson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Clemson University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Clemson University Area

Property: Comfort Inn Clemson University Area
Address: 1305 Tiger Blvd, US 123 & 76, Clemson, SC 29631-1118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Clemson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Clemson University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn, (Clemson University) S.C. is conveniently located at the intersection of US 76 & US 123. So traveling in and out of the area is simple! Come relax in our stylish lobby and listen to our contemporary sounds. We want to make your next stay with us a memorable experience. We have got it all right here waiting for you! We are ready to provide you with real genuine service that recognizes your real world needs. Our hotel features: Complimentary Hot Deluxe Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Seasonal Pool, In-room microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & iron board, guest laundry, same day dry cleaning services, on-site business & state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary wireless/wired high speed Internet access, all rooms features 32" HD/LCD Flat-Screen Television, 100% non-smoking hotel, over 1,482 sq. ft of meeting room space with on-site catering options available. Contact the sales office for more information. We also have Bus Parking!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Clemson University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Clemson
Comfort Inn Clemson
Clemson Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing