We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and Run-down!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Ranked #49 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Manor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dirty and Run-down!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I should have known what to expect when we pulled up, every window in the place was so filthy they didn't reflect light, bad sign. The hotel is supposedly undergoing a renovation, if so they better get moving. Where to start, the shower was dirty, as I said before the windows were disgusting, the door jam was so screwed up that there was at least a 1/2 inch gap around the door-big security risk... We were exhausted and stayed, though if I could have convinced my husband we would have left. UGH.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrngmdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertcola, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Sleep Inn Near Ft. Jackson.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations on your recent visit to Columbia SC. In anticipation, If you may please advise us of further information so that we can look into your concerns. Currently we only have your comments and as you have acknowledge the property is currently under renovations too. At the time I understand that you were tired during check in, however I was wondering if the property was not to your satisfaction and if you had just given us an opportunity to address any of your concerns I am sure that we would have dealt with it responsibly to your satisfaction. At-least then you would have had a wonderful more positive guest experience and trouble free stay. This is the only negative comment I have received during your stay so Please I would kindly request you consider for future references at any time to allow the facility to address any concerns that you may have to enjoy a wonderful stay free of any stress, thus having a more positive guest experience. I have shared your feedback with project planning department to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    45
    25
    12
    23
See reviews for
81
25
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Ft Jackson graduation. Very convenient to the base. Room was clean and had wifi! The free breakfast was good also! The staff were very professional and friendly. Gave excellent suggestions
for dining establishments. I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially those attending Family Day/Graduation at Ft Jackson.



Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank beach_lover242424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertcola, Guest Relations Manager at Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Raj Sachania, CHO
Hotel Operations Manager/GM
Sleep Inn near Fort Jackson
803-776-6263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boiling Springs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The rooms were nice and comfortable, but a little pricey. The front desk clerk Emily was always nice and went out her way to make sure we had everything we needed.I would give the hotel a 5 just because of the customer service.The rooms was always clean and fresh when coming in from work.The breakfast gets a 4 always fresh and hot. But due to Emily i will be staying there again so thanks Emily.I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertcola, General Manager at Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for allowing us at the Sleep Inn to be your host during your recent visit to Cloumbia SC.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey reonses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Raj Sachania, CHO
Hotel Operations Manager/GM
Sleep Inn near Fort Jackson
803-776-6263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Valle, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I would recomend this hotel due to the staff and management. The was okay mainly because it was being remodel at the time. It wasn't messy. You didn't hear to much noise. We were there for our son's Basic Training Graduation end of August. Seeing how we drove from Wisconsin that day. We there around 6 am,we didn't have a room yet (check in at 3 pm) they offered us the continal breakfast. Which was good. So, alot of running. It was almost closing for the pool but the clerk knew that I had kids that need to play. He was nice enough to let us and others to stay longer. Then we ran into some bad luck which made us late to check out. They didn't charge us another day. Like most hotels. They did an amazing thing. They offered us a free night at the hotel due the bad luck. Talk about the God's Angels. You hardly see this kindness anymore. People just don't seem to have this anymore. Which is so sad. So I would so recomend this all looking for a good hotel and staff treat you like a human.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank april h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertcola, General Manager at Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your compliments & responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Four Oaks, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My best friend and I went to Columbia to go to the 2013 Luke Bryan Farm Tour Concert. We were looking for a clean hotel, convenient, safe location, breakfast option, and a reasonable rate. The Sleep Inn on East Exchange Boulevard did not disappoint. Even though they are doing some construction at this time, it did not affect our stay. I would recommended this hotel to anyone traveling to the area. Also, there are tons of restaurant options surrounding the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertcola, General Manager at Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester on
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Cost of one night stay which included breakfast was a little pricey. We stayed on September 7 in room 314 and it was an average, clean room. Turning on the shower was a serious challenge and even with a manual, some people would not be able to figure it out. As well, once turned on full, there was limited spraying water as the showerhead needed changing or cleaning. Inside the shower door, the calking all around the door was black with mold. Not a good sign that the shower stalls are fully cleaned. The breakfast had a lot of variety, but the coffee had no flavour and needed more grounds. Coffee does not cost that much, we're not asking for champagne, just a good cup of coffee please. Staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Check the room and the shower or bath before signing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertcola, Manager at Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you so much for your response, I do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. As you are aware we are under reconstruction and as such the issues you have mentioned are scheduled for resolution.
However I would suggest for future references as most guest would immediately inform & allow the facility a chance to first correct the issues. Once corrected you can have a great experience and you may have posted a better more positive comment. Its always too late to resolve the issue as you are checking out the next day. If I can be of any assistance please contact me directly at your earliest convenience. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

As everyone knows this is just one's opinion and mine is a good one. First of all remember how much you are paying, this is not a five star top of the Ritz kind of place. This hotel is tucked away from the main highway, it is very quiet and very clean. As I am sure everyone does we check the mattress for anything living and/or dead and we were very impressed to see that even behind the mattress was clean, the floor had no hair, dust or dirt, how refreshing. The other plus is the sink outside the actual shower/bathroom. It makes it so much nicer to get ready. The staff was so welcoming and friendly and even called to check on us. The breakfast bar seemed to have more than the typical hotel breakfast with waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, gravy, biscuits, fruit, yogurt, and countless breads, rolls and donuts not to mention coffee, juices and milk. It is very convenient to USC, for us only 12 minutes! Getting there is very easy as well, right off of 77, perfect location. This hotel is going through renovations and although there were signs around saying "pardon our mess" there was no dirt or dust to show this was happening, it was very clean. We will without hesitation go back here.

Room Tip: If possible stay away from the outside door, guests have access and you can hear people coming and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah15317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertcola, Manager at Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Sleep Inn. All the staff at the facility appreciate the opportunity to serve you and we trust you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you for your future travel needs.
Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia/At Fort Jackson
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson

Property: Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Address: 200 E Exchange Blvd, Columbia, SC 29209-2172
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Near Ft. Jackson Hotel Columbia
Columbia Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing