We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Greek in Columbia”
Review of Devine Foods

Devine Foods
Ranked #182 of 974 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek in Columbia”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Pretty authentic and tasty Greek right in the middle of Columbia. Only disappointment was the plastic cutlery and 3 compartment styrofoam plates and plastic drink glasses. Made the place feel like a works cafeteria instead of a restaurant. Spoilt the " nice dinner on a Saturday night feel that most people are looking for when they go out on the weekend

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilbert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Great except strange "Greek" salad”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I had the Gyros (very good) with Greek salad and added Greek potatoes (over the top delicious!). My only complaint was the strangely anemic "Greek" salad. It consisted of iceberg lettuce only, 2 cucumber slices, a few pieces of julienned carrots, feta cheese and house dressing (nothing to rave about). It did not contain kalamata olives, onions, pepperoncini or tomatoes. Other than that, it is a great place. I may have just gotten an "off" bit of salad as I'm never one to complain. I will say I've had the wonderful chicken in the past, as well as the lamb - both are always good and plentiful. Souvlaki is always a good bet, as are whatever is on the special had written board out front! It is an institution in the Devine St Shandon area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeighborhoodMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good greek”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a small ma and pa restaurant that is not the easiest to find. Parking is available across the street, but nobody seems to notice because of the hedges. The servers are very friendly and the food is good. The cheesecake dessert is amazing, whichever one you choose.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaseKas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Quiet, informal. Very good Greek food and friendly service...try the pasticcio or gyro. Near Five Points.Good selection of beer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
162 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not Greek enough”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

I had the Pork Souvlaki Dinner which included a Greek Salad. The salad lacked Kalamata olives and Pepperoncini peppers. The Souvlaki lacked enough tazazeki. Overall good but not DEVINE. Slightly better than average. I was hoping for more. The Baklava needed more honey poured over it and warmed up then it would have been a GREAT desert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockyTop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devine Foods also viewed

 

Been to Devine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing