We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, But Quiet Area on Weekends” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columbia Marriott
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
311 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, But Quiet Area on Weekends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

The Columbia Marriott is a fine hotel, but ironically its location on Columbia's Main Street makes it out of the way and somewhat inconvenient for football weekends (my reason for being there). I checked in on a Friday before a South Carolina football game and checked out the following Sunday. You would have thought there was an evacuation order in effect in the surrounding area the entire time. Nothing -- nothing -- was open in the immediate vicinity. The Vista area and the Five Points area (both several blocks away) were alive with entertainment and restaurant choices, but Main Street and the downtown area around the hotel was dark, and practically a ghost town. The hotel itself was fine. The rooms were comfortable, the staff friendly, and they comped our breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant since the concierge lounge was closed for the weekend. The staff was great -- they opened up the gift shop after it had closed and my wife and I wanted to buy bottled water -- no where around the hotel to do so. The hotel has valet parking, but we parked for free in a municipal garage that was connected to the hotel by a skywalk. Overall, the hotel was nice and probably a good choice if you are in town during the week on business, but definitely not the center of activity otherwise. My rating is based on the location and the fact that I had to pay an exhorbitant rate since it was a football weekend. Definitely not worth what I paid, and I would not stay here again on a football weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Wedgewood,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your visit to Columbia in October. I am happy to read that you found the Marriott to meet your needs. I am glad to report that many things have happened as of late to reinvigorate Main Street on the weekends. We have a Farmers Market every Saturday just outside the hotel. Main Street Ice rink has been a hit for locals to come and enjoy a skate. The Museum of Art, across the street, has a new world class exhibit, Monet and Matisse. Many new restaurants have opened and the vibe on the weekends is much more electric. Many of our guests have commented to me how nice of a 5 block walk it is to the University of South Carolina and Gervais Street. My team and I very much appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope you come back and see what's new, very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    166
    96
    35
    16
See reviews for
115
67
32
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Recently assisted/attended a national conference at this downtown Marriott. Every employee we met was more than helpful. Would stop what they were working on to assist our group and ensure our comfort and needs were met. Did not spend the night, but was able to see one of the rooms. Very clean, attractive and well appropriated

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very nice staff, friendly sports bar. We had an accessible room that was very nice and met our needs perfectly. The hotel was busy but the staff was super helpful and responsive. I would stay again without hesitation.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BCKL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a group stay here. The group rate was good. Hotel is a little old, but they have done
a good job of keeping it up. They did not charge extra for parking and there were always
sufficient spaces in the garage. Breakfast cost extra, but it was good and reasonably priced
for the buffet. I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline, SC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was a very nice property. Very Clean and well kept. There were some noisy guests next door to our room and we were promptly moved at our request. Very helpful, courteous and friendly staff. Nice facilities for food and cocktails, as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glennacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Our party was pretty disappointed in this older Marriott, and felt that the value was not very good at $179 plus $10 internet and $12 self-parking. The hotel common spaces and the room itself looked worn-out and tired. The parking facility was not good and it was pretty confusing getting from it to the room...had to walk thru the pool area, but no signage.

One of my big pet peeves was the lack of electrical outlets in the rooms for laptops, phones, and, in my case, medical equipment. This is so easily solved with lamps that have outlets in the base, but twas not to be here. I had to get back behind the bed to find an outlet...yuck..dirty, dusty, nasty...not deep cleaning done in a long time here. Beds were also old and saggy....just not a quality Marriott experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Carol S,

My team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Your feedback regarding the plugs is being addressed as we speak as our room’s refreshment includes three lamps with multiple plugs. I have also shared your comments with my room team to let them know they need to do a better job deep cleaning the behind the beds. We have also recently implemented complimentary internet along with reasonably priced High Speed options. I have spoken to the City about the garage signage and they have committed to improving that as well. My team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed the hotel. Clean fresh and really friendly staff. Breakfast was very good. Bartender was friendly and made a great margarita with freah squeezed juices. Asked for late check to accomidate moving son into college and allow for a quick shower before getting on the road home. Very accommodating. Went for a run in the morning and the surrounding area seemed great. Would live to walk around area more.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VA-Shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#11 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Marriott

Property: Columbia Marriott
Address: 1200 Hampton St, Columbia, SC 29201-2826
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Columbia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#21 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Columbia Marriott hotel, located in the vibrant downtown Columbia area near the University of South Carolina. Our hotel offers some of the finest accommodations in Columbia, SC. To meet our guests' needs, the Columbia Marriott hotel has remodeled guest rooms, the lobby, meeting space, and the restaurant and bar. Stay with us and you'll enjoy generous amenities such as pillow-top mattresses, 42" flat panel televisions and wireless Internet access for plenty of entertainment. The 28,000 square feet of space makes our downtown hotel a favorite choice for businesses and social functions in Columbia, SC. Just minutes from popular destinations, including Columbia Museum of Art, Riverbanks Zoo, the state capitol, Colonial Life Arena and Williams Brice Stadium, our downtown hotel is close to popular attractions. Guests are welcome to take advantage of our indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Reserve a room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Columbia Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Marriott Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing