We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SC ARNG PDS Conference”
Review of Columbia Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Columbia Marriott
Ranked #16 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
“SC ARNG PDS Conference”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I just wanted to take a few minutes of your time to express my opinion of the service that I received at your Hotel this past weekend. Outstanding is the first word that comes to mind. Ms. Price is an absolute jewel. There was absolutely nothing that we requested or required that she did not provide immediately. When she was getting off for the day, she would introduce me to the person filling in until she returned.
The food service provided was excellent. I know that the Chaplain’s and psychiatrists we had present had absolutely no concept of time and we were late breaking for lunch as well as dinner. Your hotel staff was extremely gracious concerning our lack of promptness. I just cannot say enough about your hotel and its staff. Please acknowledge to your staff of what a wonderful job they all did, it was truly a pleasure working with them.
As for Ms Price she definitely deserves a raise or/and a all expenses paid vacation, she has earned it – I’d insure you all hung onto to her. I am quite certain your competitors would jump at the chance to steal her away for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ywoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear ywoodall,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Marriott Columbia and for taking the time to share such nice comments about the hotel and staff. I can let you know that I have no intention of letting my Julie go to any other hotels, she is truly valued by all of us. Please come back soon!

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    170
    100
    37
    18
See reviews for
118
69
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Cowichan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Staff were always pleasant.

I felt room could have been cleaner.
In the week I was there I did not think they vacuumed once. If they did the dust bunnies and 2 half peanuts were still under the edge of the bed when I left.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the indoor pool. Lots of noise if kids were in the pool. Sometimes strong aroma o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelDarrGM1200, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Ben Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. I am glad you found he service of our team to be excellent. I am very sorry your floor was not vacuumed appropriately. I will address you issues with the Housekeeping team immediately. Please reach out to me when you return to town and I will personally inspect your room and buy you a drink.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I recently retired from 24 years with Marriott International. To say that I've stayed in a few hotels over the years is an understatement. This hotel was one of the BEST EVER. We were so pleasantly surprised. We booked our room the morning of our arrival when we decided to come to town to see USC, on a college tour. The staff was awesome; from the bellmen (Ben) to the front desk to the restaurant staff. We met both Logan (brand new in the restaurant) and Roxy during our meals and they were both fabulous. The hotel was clean and the housekeepers actually spoke to us, pleasantly, in the halls! The food at both of our meals was excellent-- one suggestion-- your bellstaff and front desk need to recommend the restaurant. They both told us about many options, but never included your own offerings. There were 5 of us eating and we all loved our meal and our dining experience. Congrats to the GM and the hotel staff for an awesome hotel; you should be proud of the work that you do to make this a great hotel. We will be back! And I've already told a number of Marriott people what a great hotel you are running :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Nancy M,

Wow, I just love reading this review! Marriott veterans are the hardest bunch to impress, I am just thrilled. I will share your feedback the our team and celebrate them appropriately. I hope you choose to come back soon and congratulations on your retirement.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Recently, I had the real privilege of spending 8 days in this hotel, attending a conference. It is, without any reservation, the finest staff of any hotel I know. From the time you enter the front door, you feel at home. On the first night, we ate in the hotel restaurant and that did it. We ate there for every meal the rest of our stay. The restaurant staff was outstanding and the food was great. I think I ate most every item on the menu and never had a thing I did not competely enjoy. By the way, the ice cream is homemade and is WONDERFUL! The hotel general manager and the food and beverage manager were right there checking to be sure we enjoyed everything. I highly recommend this hotel for an individual stay or for a convention.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Richard620,

My team and I are very grateful to you for choosing to stay with us for a week recently. Your group was such a pleasure to service, we wish you would not have checked out. I will pass on your comments to the team and celebrate them appropriately. Please come back soon and travel safe!

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is a typical Marriott hotel in a good location. The rooms are clean. The bathroom is updated. Our only complaint is that the walls are amazingly thin so hallway noise and neighbors can be very disruptive. It's basically like keeping the door open.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelD2012, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jodi P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am very sorry that you found the walls to be thin. This is not a common challenge that we face, would you mind sending me the room number you were in so I can investigate. I will be sure to address this issue specifically and I hope you choose to give us another try.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Esther, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I would like to personally thank the following individuals
Office manager Julie Price, Lauren Oliva and Sara
If these individuals are the typical employees at Marriott your hotel would do very well.
Customer service is the linchpin to success.
It's refreshing to see people who care.
I will definitely choose Marriott the next time for my business travel.
Chaplain Larry J. Carter
Mary Esther FL

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelDarrGM1200, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Chaplin Larry C,

Thank you so much for sharing such nice comments about our team members and the Brilliant Service they provide you and your group. My entire team very is very grateful that you chose to hold your convention with us and that you were such gracious guests. I hope to have the chance to welcome you back very soon. Have safe and exciting travels.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice location, reasonable rate but hotel is dated and could use a face lift. There is an average onsite gym available and a nice indoor pool. A small outside courtyard area for sunbathing which is sufficient but nothing fancy. If you like exercise, the hotel is about 1 mile from a great walking/running track along the Riverfront. Very nice area to run from hotel to park and a couple of other nice parks close walking distance to the hotel. Saturdays have a great Farmers Market directly in front of the hotel which is worth checking out. However, service at this property was not great as it took us well over an hour to a get a requested roll-a-way bed delivered to the room on our 1st night (didn't get the roll-a-way until almost 1am) and the 2nd night we were kept awake until well after 1am with a loud wedding party being held in the club lounge directly next to our hotel room. If the hotel knew they would be having a late night party, they should not rent out room 1405. Terrible room location if anything is being held at the Club Lounge. Rooms are very average and fairly small compared to other Marriott properties we have stayed in. There is a nice convenient parking garage connected to the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay anywhere near the club lounge as it is VERY noisy if they are having any events or parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HcKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoelDarrGM1200, General Manager at Columbia Marriott, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear HcKeith,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. I appreciate you pointing out the things you enjoyed about the hotel. and it's location. I will address the rollaway delivery time and Concierge Lounge event with my team immediately. I am sorry you had to wait so late at night and that you were disturbed by the wedding party. I hope you have a chance to return on a quitter evening. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest Regards,

Joel Darr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Marriott

Property: Columbia Marriott
Address: 1200 Hampton St, Columbia, SC 29201-2826
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Columbia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#21 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Columbia Marriott, a top choice among hotels in Columbia, SC and a hotel located in the vibrant downtown Columbia area near the University of South Carolina. Our hotel offers some of the finest accommodations in Columbia, SC. To meet our guests' needs, the Columbia Marriott hotel has remodeled guest rooms, lobby, meeting space, and restaurant and bar. Stay with us and you'll enjoy generous amenities such as pillow-top mattresses, 42" flat panel televisions, and wireless Internet access for plenty of entertainment. Our 28,000 square feet of space makes our Columbia, SC hotel a favorite choice for businesses and social functions in Columbia. Just minutes from popular destinations, including Columbia Museum of Art, Riverbanks Zoo, the state capitol, Colonial Life Arena, and Williams Brice Stadium, Columbia Marriott is close to many popular attractions. Guests are welcome to take advantage of our indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Reserve a room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbia Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Marriott Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing