We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columbia Marriott
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2005

It is a nice 3.5 star hotel. Priceline has it at a 4 star which is a bit of a push. The indoor pool is very clean with lots of natural light. The rooms are a bit small.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atstpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    166
    96
    35
    16
See reviews for
115
67
32
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2005

We were looking for a stopover on the trip home for FLorida. I got such a great deal on Marriott's website for a package that included dinner (Steak and Lobster) as well as breakfast, that I was a little worried about the quality of the place. So I was very pleasantly surprised to find such an upscale facility with an extremely helpful staff. All my requests were promptly and cheerfully filled including a request for a rollaway that was actually delivered to the room before we could get our luggage up there. Reastaurant was excellent for both meals, though the service at night was a little on the slow side (only negative, but with tired children, bordering on cranky, it was a little bit of a problem). Kids loved the indoor pool the next morning that we used to expend some of their energy before continuing the trip home.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cndij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2005

This is a wonderful hotel! The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The bathrooms are top notch. The beds are very comfortable and clean! The breakfast is great too! The only thing this hotel lacked is proper parking (off the street and out of a parking deck). My family and I would stay again and again! :)

Helpful?
1 Thank TGBTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2005

Right now the Columbia Hotel is in the process of renovation. While I am sure that it will be beautiful when it is complete, plan to be rerouted to the main desk and to hear jack hammers in the public areas during the daytime until it is over. Some of the staff was very nice about this; some were not.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2004

We have been to Columbia on many occasions and had the experience of staying at the Adams Mark on May the 28-30. We needed to check in early and that was no problem. They had our room ready and were very nice and attentive. This room has the best shower. Great pressure and very clean. Rooms were clean view was ok. Now for the bad, the restaurant was horrible. The staff was rude the restaurant manager was stuck up snobby and could have cared less if you were eating a $10 breakfast buffet or not. DO NOT EAT THERE. The gift shop was nice until we went to buy somthing. The guy at the register couldn't figure out how to ring up a sales price item and there wwas No one at the hotel that could help him. We left ate breakfast came back and he not only still couldn't help but he didn't even try to get anyone on the phone who could help. BAD NEWS. So long and short the room was great, get your reservation from priceline do not pay rack rate, and don't eat at the restaurant or shop at the gift shop. .

  • Stayed December 2005, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pho2wiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2004

We stayed at the Adams Mark after bidding at Priceline for a Columbia Hotel. The rooms generally rent for much more than what we bid, and it was accepted. We rented two rooms with our large family.The front desk staff is good - helpful and interested. The parking was in a covered parking garage (multi-level) next door - free with our hotel pass. It was a bit of a pain to park in the garage, then drag all our things across the skywalk, through the pool area, down the hall and up the elevator. The elevators were s.l.o.w. when we were there. There was some kind of conference taking place in the hotel with very young people (teens and up) and they were all over the place with loud music, etc. The rooms were small. We had been given rooms with only one king bed which wasn't ideal, but you take what you get when you go Priceline. There was in-room coffee, but no mini-fridge or microwave or anything like that. Our view was horrible - we were looking out over the roof of a building next to the hotel. We went to get ice and the machine on our floor was broken, as was the machine on the floor directly above. I had to climb several flights of stairs to find an operational ice machine. When we took the kids to the pool, there were no pool towels to be had whatsoever. Housekeeping was "supposed" to bring more but never did. I do have to say, however, that when I requested two extra pillows, a nice woman from housekeeping brought them right up to the room.The noise level was bad because of the large number of kids staying in the hotel and that should have been addressed by the hotel management (which it may have been). The room and amenities were average but no better. The staff, though, was helpful and friendly at all times.

Helpful?
4 Thank thefitzs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2003

To start off with you are greeted with a very attentive and articulate front desk staff. They are great for directions to different places in and around the Columbia area. Parking at this hotel is a little bit different they have no valet and no lot. You have to use a city owned parking garage adjacent to the hotel. The rate when we stayed was ten a night which is not that bad. They have a nice indoor pool and workout room with two tvs in it. The main resturant is very good for breakfast (order off the menu) and supper. I did not try the lounge or the bar but I have had only the best. The rooms are great. Very nice and clean beds, floors, bathrooms, ect. I think this hotel needs nothing. Also one more thing vist the gift shop it is great and has all the stuff you might have forgot at home plus a whole lot more.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Marriott

Property: Columbia Marriott
Address: 1200 Hampton St, Columbia, SC 29201-2826
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Columbia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#21 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Columbia Marriott hotel, located in the vibrant downtown Columbia area near the University of South Carolina. Our hotel offers some of the finest accommodations in Columbia, SC. To meet our guests' needs, the Columbia Marriott hotel has remodeled guest rooms, the lobby, meeting space, and the restaurant and bar. Stay with us and you'll enjoy generous amenities such as pillow-top mattresses, 42" flat panel televisions and wireless Internet access for plenty of entertainment. The 28,000 square feet of space makes our downtown hotel a favorite choice for businesses and social functions in Columbia, SC. Just minutes from popular destinations, including Columbia Museum of Art, Riverbanks Zoo, the state capitol, Colonial Life Arena and Williams Brice Stadium, our downtown hotel is close to popular attractions. Guests are welcome to take advantage of our indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Reserve a room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Columbia Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Marriott Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing