We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Location, but other items below standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First off, we stayed for 3 nights. We are from Columbia and had work on our house being completed.

The staff is great. From check in to check out.

The location is right in the heart of downtown Columbia.

Housekeeping, not so much. Our couch had 7 holes in it that ranged from a golf ball size to a grape fruit size.

The doors to the bedroom would not close.

They only cleaned our room once. They never replaced the towels, always had to go to front desk.

Breakfast was bland with powdered eggs, microwaved sausage and greasy bacon.

This seems like a business hotel which I do not usually stay in. Not sure if that was the issue or not.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunterjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear hunterjackson,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us while you were visiting Columbia to work on your house. We truly appreciate the kind words about our great staff and great location! However, we are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations to each and every hotel guest and we are very sorry that we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us so that we can further investigate the concerns mentioned in your review. Thanks in advance for all of your time as it is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for future guests.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Love this hotel. Excellent service. And beautiful rooms. Only paid $129. For two queen beds, living area, and full kitchen. Shower is gorgeous. Couldn't ask for anything else from this hotel. The room is super clean as well as the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear jess s,

Thank you for the kind words about our excellent customer service and beautiful suites! We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our unique hotel amenities including the full kitchen featured in each guest room! We look forward to sharing all of this positive feedback with our team and hope to see you again soon at the Staybridge Suites Columbia hotel.

Sincerely
Staybridge Suites Columbia Downtown Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

First stay in this IHG brand and I was astonished.
Beautiful, well-maintained property with very nice rooms/suites.
I have to say that this gives a run for the money against the best of my favorite brand, Homewood Suites.
It isn't inexpensive but it is a great value.
Clean, sound sleeping. Nice hot meals at the manager's receptions.
I could see where location might not be the best depending on the area being visited but otherwise a great property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Phaser,

Welcome to Staybridge Suites and the IHG Family! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your very first stay at a Staybridge Suites hotel! We truly appreciate the kind words about our beautiful, well maintained property and cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean rooms, quiet atmosphere, and complimentary hot meals to fellow travelers! We hope that you had a few hours of free time during your business trip to explore popular Columbia attractions located nearby including Riverbanks Zoo & Garden, the Vista Downtown, and University of South Carolina! We really appreciate all of your feedback and hope to see you again soon at the Staybridge Suites Columbia hotel!

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times. Not once have we had a bad stay. The staff is excellent and the hotel is beyond excellent. Love this hotel, we drivee to Tennessee twice a year from Florida and stop half way at this hotel. Its is the best hotel we've stayed in on the east coast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Kyle B,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Staybridge Suites Columbia hotel as you travel back and forth between Florida and Tennessee. We hope that you and your family have had a chance to visit popular Columbia attractions including Riverbanks Zoo and the beautiful Lake Murray! We are excited to share all of your positive feedback with our team and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Really nice rooms & very clean. Suites set up nicely with kitchenette & separate bedroom. Nice lounge area. Standard breakfast with some protein (eggs, waffles, breads, yogurt), but make sure you get there in time. They will be cleaning up promptly at 9:30 even if people are still moving through the breakfast area. We had late checkout & I understand they have work to get done, but my door was knocked on at least three times. The last time a few minutes before I was supposed to be out. I was packed and ready to go. My husband was on business, so I was basically waiting for him to get back. I had to make two trips. When I went back up to the room a couple minutes after 1, my key no longer worked. I had to have housekeeping let me in so I could get my bags. So really nice hotel, but I think they could be a bit more patient. Service is what keeps people coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coach_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Coach-Clark

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We truly appreciate the four star rating and the kind words about our clean rooms, unique amenities, and complimentary breakfast buffet. In addition, we would like to thank you for the feedback about your experience at check out. We truly apologize for any miscommunication that may have occurred regarding your late checkout and will be sharing your feedback with our team so that we can be better prepared in the future. Our standard check out time is 12:00PM, but we are happy to provide travelers with a late checkout when possible. The latest that we can offer for a late checkout is 1:00PM. This policy is only in place so that we have time to thoroughly clean each guest room before travelers begin arriving for their 3PM check-in. Thanks again for all of your time. It is feedback like yours that allows us to make necessary changes and improve the overall experience for future guests. We hope that you will visit us again soon so that we can provide the excellent customer service that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is beautiful-the rooms amazing-not a bad complimentary breakfast-yet, little food left at evening reception and no more was put out.
Upon our midnight arrival (as verified), my 85 year old parents who REQUIRE separate beds were given a king size bed? After calling the "manager on duty" AT HOME on 2 different occasions, we were told they could find us accommodations at a nearby hotel????? Really?! I don't think so-not at midnight. They were not charged for that room on this night-that I made certain of.
I however booked a 2bedroom suite. We made it work for the evening giving my parents the 2 beds they required in my room, while inconveniencing the rest of my family having them sleep in the king size room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0llfacee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear D0llfacee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate the kind words about our beautiful hotel, amazing suites, and complimentary breakfast buffet. However, we are disappointed to hear that you experienced a few difficulties during your stay. We are truly sorry for the miscommunication that occurred regarding the number of people that would be staying in each guest room, and would like to thank you for sharing these concerns with our General Manager upon arrival. While we understand that it cannot make up for the inconvenience that you experienced on this particular visit, we would like to thank you for accepting a complimentary night stay as an apology and hope that it helped to alleviate some of the stress. In the future, please feel welcome to contact our front desk team directly to make your reservations instead of using a third party booking site. This way, we can personally record the number of people that will be staying in each room and we can guarantee your preferred room type. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Another reviewer called it home away from home. That's this place exactly.

The Staybridge has exceptional rooms. The staff always is friendly. The food and social get-togethers are top notch. The place is clean. It is quiet and it is in a good location for getting around Columbia.

Many hotels obviously carry the same brand name but by no means are equal. This is the best Staybridge I have stayed at. I enjoyed it so much, I'm willing to let the lack of parking slide and still give it a five-star hit.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank EarlofRoovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear EarlofRoovel,

Thank you very much for the kind review! We are so glad to hear that you feel we offer a home away from home in Columbia, South Carolina. That is one of the highest compliments that you could give our team - everyone will be delighted to hear such positive feedback! We truly appreciate the compliments about our exceptional rooms, friendly team, and top notch evening socials. We are also pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed our convenient location in downtown Columbia. Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers. We hope that you will come back to see us again soon at the Staybridge Suites Columbia hotel.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Downtown Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
932 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.5 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
0.9 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#22 of 93 in Columbia
592 reviews
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Columbia

Address: 1913 Huger St, Columbia, SC 29201-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
#11 Family Hotel in Columbia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £89 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful and spacious all-suites hotel is designed to provide all the comforts of home. Our spacious Studio Suite, One-Bedroom Suite, and Two-Bedroom Suite all include a sleeper sofa beds, and fully-equipped upscale kitchens with granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers. Our accommodations make an ideal choice for temporary housing and short term accommodations as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing