We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome rooms, great breakfast, housekeeping was rude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

First off I would like to say that I NEVER write reviews about hotels but I felt the need to for this hotel. The stay bridge is on of the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in its very clean and the amenities cannot be beat. The breakfast is good and the dinner that is provided mon-thurs is a very nice and delicious surprise as well. The only problem I have is that I have my two dogs with me and every time i go out of the room to take them out the housekeeping mumbles under their breath ignorant things about my dogs. I doesn't feel very welcoming and its very annoying this is a pet friendly hotel and the housekeeping acts like that. I would never bring my pets in a public place if they were aggressive or if i felt that they would hurt anyone. It just makes me angry if you are going to have a pet friendly place then tell the housekeeping that they can expect to see dogs of every size and not to be so rude when they see them in the hallways.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Megan m,
We are so glad that you decided to stay with us during your recent trip to Columbia, SC. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean hotel, unique amenities and complimentary meals to fellow travelers. We are disappointed to hear that you felt your pets were not welcome and would like to thank you for bringing this concern to our attention. Our General Manager would like the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will tell us the best way for him to contact you during the week. We are a pet friendly hotel and our team genuinely loves meeting travelers and their pets! In the future, please reach out to our team immediately if you encounter any problems during your stay. We will do our best to solve the problem right away. We hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we can provide you and your pets with the excellent customer service that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Staybridge Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently spent two nights while visiting the campus of University of South Carolina with our son. The staff was very helpful and offered restaurant recommendations that were wonderful. The amenities were very nice and the suite was clean and well appointed.

One caveat- the hotel is on a busy road/exit ramp and our front facing room (Huger Street) was somewhat noisy. The living room has a recessed window so the noise wasn't as noticeable in that room, but the road noise in the bedroom was somewhat annoying.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Huger Street may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lphilplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

lphilplan,
Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad that you decided to stay with us at the Staybridge Suites while you and your family explored the University of South Carolina campus. We appreciate the kind words about our helpful team and unique amenities. In the future, please let us know that you would prefer a room facing away from Huger Street. We will do our absolute best to accommodate this request. Thanks again for your time. We hope you had a wonderful time at USC and that you will come back to see us again soon!
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This facility was as close to home as you can get! A beautiful, spacious suite with a lovely, complete kitchen, 2 tv's, etc. The staff is awesome, the food is delicious, there is a free laundry facility, a great pool, a nice exercise room.....everything you could ask for...right there on site! Our stay was for over four weeks .....The beds are so comfortable, I almost didn't want to leave! The location is great....so convenient to everything...great restaurants, shopping, the interstate, the university, etc. I will always stay here whenever I am in Columbia.

Room Tip: We stayed in four different rooms and all were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Tracey M,
Thank you very much for making us your home away from home in Columbia, South Carolina. We are absolutely delighted to hear such positive feedback about your four week stay with us. We appreciate the kind words about our comfortable rooms, friendly team and delicious food and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here in February of 2013 and again this weekend (April 2014) and were very happy both times. Having both the living room and bedroom make it possible to spread out after a long car trip, and having the kitchen saves you when you need those little things most hotels don't have (i.e. bottle opener, knives, glasses). The staff is always friendly and helpful, our dog was welcome, and the breakfast cannot be beat. My one small complaint is that the pool is always cold--really, really cold. I thought it may be broken last time, but it seems like the pool just isn't heated ever. Overall, we've been very happy and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashcolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

ashcolton,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for a second time at the Staybridge Suites in Columbia. We are so glad to hear that you enjoy our spacious guest rooms, full kitchens and complimentary breakfast buffet. Generally speaking, we keep our pool temperature at 83 degrees. Unfortunately, our pool heater was under repair last week, so it was a little bit cooler than usual. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that you can enjoy a relaxing day at our indoor pool. Thanks again for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Most everything was pleasant until we took our service dog into the dining area for breakfast . My wife was told twice to take her dog from the dining area even though he had his service vest on until she offered to show paperwork. When we finished breakfast and went to the front desk, the hostess followed us and accosted us at the desk one told her manager" there ain't going to be no dog in my dining room.". The manager said she would have a talk with her. The next day after emailing the General Manager, he called and told me he would give us 5000 points for the problem we had. Sadly, he didn't follow through, even after over a week. We were dissapointed at the way the whole situation was handled . The rooms were spacious enough, but the voices of people passing the room in the hallway could be heard clearly. This was bad, but not so bad until kids were running and playing in the hall at 11:00 P.M. There was dirt on the carpet and on the couch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tex47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Tex47,
Thank you for your review. We take great pride in the excellent customer service that our team has to offer and sincerely apologize for any miscommunication that may have occurred. As we discussed during your stay, we do allow service pets in the breakfast area. Otherwise, guests are asked to keep pets out of the dining area to ensure the comfort and safety of fellow travelers. Our General Manager would be happy to speak with you over the phone if you have any additional questions about our pet friendly accommodations. It is very important to our team that guests feel comfortable reaching out to us with any questions or concerns during their stay. Again, we are sorry for any miscommunication that may have occurred and hope that you will contact our General Manager this week.
Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What great staff! They were all very helpfull with any problem we had Our stay was great this past weekend. Rooms are very clean and a very nice Breakfast Bar. We will be back next year for "Revolution 2015" .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Hi Pete H,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Staybridge Suites in Columbia, SC. We truly appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms and complimentary breakfast buffet. Thanks again for your time. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Really enjoyed this stay and wished it was longer. Really close to USC and their football stadium. Also close to some great restaurants and some of the main parts of downtown Columbia. Furniture was a bit outdated but no complaints the rooms and beds were nice. Stayed with another family and the hotel did a great job in getting us as close to each other as possible even with different room types. They went as far as remembering by my name that we had requested this. Front Desk staff was awesome and on the ball. There is a restaurant that is open for dinner although it wasn't when we were there. They had a free breakfast in the morning that was available until 1030 another plus. Indoor pool that we did not get to use but looked nice. Overall great stay and if ever do this trip again will be coming back.

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel do not call their national 800 number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuckncarolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

stuckncarolinas,

Thank you very much for this awesome five star review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to USC, Williams-Brice Stadium and the Vista Downtown. We look forward to sharing your compliments with our front desk staff and the rest of our team. Our complimentary dinners are available in the lobby Monday - Thursday evenings for hotel guests. The menu changes daily, so please join us during your next visit and let us know what you think! Thanks again for your time. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Staybridge Suites Columbia Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.0 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
924 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Columbia

Address: 1913 Huger St, Columbia, SC 29201-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
#11 Family Hotel in Columbia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £96 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful and spacious all-suites hotel is designed to provide all the comforts of home. Our spacious Studio Suite, One-Bedroom Suite, and Two-Bedroom Suite all include a sleeper sofa beds, and fully-equipped upscale kitchens with granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers. Our accommodations make an ideal choice for temporary housing and short term accommodations as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Staybridge Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing