We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn way over their heads”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chestnut Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Columbia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Columbia is not a city noted for B&B's but the website for this one looked very nice. However once we arrived we quickly discovered that The Chesnut Cottage has a lot of potential but it doesn't bear much resemblance to what we saw and read about on-line.

We stayed in The Jefferson Davis Room, which appeared to be decorated with a hodgepodge of Goodwill items. The bed linens were old and worn, the towels ragged and mismatched, and the bathrobes were in such bad shape that a thrift store would've rejected them (one had a 3" diameter hole in the sleeve). The room was cooled by an old and noisy a/c window unit. And when I turned on the jets in the whirlpool tub, water shot straight up in the air like a geyser (not sure what on Earth was going on with that). While we had a new bar of soap to use the other toiletries were old, half used bottles of shampoo and lotion. Yuck! Even the most basic of amenities- water glasses- were not provided.

At breakfast we were served cold coffee (not lukewarm, but cold) and orange juice that was so old it had a metallic taste to it. Breakfast consisted of overcooked, rubbery, scrambled eggs colored with what looked like a ton of paprika, fresh fruit (surprisingly, this was good), sausage, burned bacon, and untoasted stale bread. Or at least, my companion got a slice of bread; I did not. He laughingly cut his piece in half to share it with me, and when Gale, one of the Innkeepers, passed our table midway through our meal he commented, "Oh, did you want a piece of bread, too?".

Top all of this off with a spider infestation (a large one in our bed, some in the bathroom, and another flicked off on my companion's arm at breakfast) and I would have to say that these folks don't put much effort into the little gem that this house could become. In it's current state it has all the charm of a rundown, small town rooming house next door to a bus station. The price of $179.00 a night was beyond ridiculous

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suznfused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Chestnut Cottage for our wedding night! It was very quaint and true to time period. We either had an extremely long night or the bed was extremely comfortable! :) Probably a mix of both. Gale was great... they asked us what we wanted for breakfast and delivered everything to a T! .... it was even delivered on silver trays directly to our room which added to our special night. They have a little area in the back of the house to relax outside also on some lawn chairs and a gazebo. The area was very well kept and made for beautiful photos.

Every aspect of our stay was memorable and we would both love to recommed the CC for any special occasion!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank younique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Chesnut Cottage is one of the best B&Bs we have experienced. Gale is a delightful and thoughtful host, full of excellent information about Columbia, stories about the house and its history, and gracious hospitality--he even mailed me a jacket I had left behind when we departed. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and the house is located in the historic district, surrounded by other gracious old homes and historic landmarks. The boyhood home of Woodrow Wilson is across the street, and the beautiful state capital and University of South Carolina campus are a short walk. Gale and his wife serve a delicious breakfast and the conversation over breakfast was so much fun we wished we could have spent much more time. We are looking forward to return visits.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TallDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

One of the most pet-friendly and hospitable Bed and Breakfast's on the East Coast. We were headed to Columbia for an event at the Metro Center and brought along our two Jack Russell's. We were afraid we might have to skip the event because of the dogs barking but Gregg refused to let that get in the way of our plans. Gregg took care of the dogs like they were his own and accomodated any request we had, even Breakfast in our Rooms. The room was very Historic and much larger than I expected. Would definetly stay again next trip to Columbia!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMURDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2005

The Chestnut Cottage Bed and Breakfast was a great place to stay in Columbia, S.C., and made us feel like we were temporarily living in the middle of Confederate history.
The house, which was apparently almost demolished back in the 1960s before being saved and preserved, was one of the war time residences of Confederate General James Chestnut and his wife, Mary, who is famous for her wartime memoirs, originally published as "Diary from Dixie" in 1905. There was a copy of her biography and a more recent version of the diary in the room, as well as a scrapbook that told about the rescue of the house and later converstion into a B & B in the 1990s.
I stayed with my traveling friend in the Jefferson Davis Room (where the famous Confederate general did sleep), and though we prefer seperate beds, the cushy king bed -- very comfortable -- was plenty roomy for both of us.
There were antiques in the room, a whirlpool bathtub as well as a shower and, suprisingly, a computer with a printer and Internet access. There was a small TV and a telephone hooked to a central system.
It's located on the other side of Hampton Street from Woodrow Wilson's boyhood home in a historic neighborhood.
The host-owner was very hospitable and prepared good breakfasts! He was working on creating a basement pub for guests, improving the garden and pouring a new front sidewalk while we were there.
Our stay was very enjoyable and enhanced by the history of Chestnut Cottage.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZanieOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LasVegas62010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The 1425 Inn
The 1425 Inn
#1 of 5 in Columbia
91 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#29 of 93 in Columbia
625 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnut Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnut Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1718 Hampton St, Columbia, SC 29201-3420
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing