We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Great Staff, Great Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
356 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Room, Great Staff, Great Hotel!!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed there because I was in town for a business meeting. I thought the hotel was brand new (opened less than 6 months by the appearence). The front desk told me that the hotel had actually been open for a few years! WOW! This was a very nice hotel - looked new, the rooms were amazing and the staff was great! I wish I stayed in hotels like this one all the time. I actually got upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite and it was really nice. It has a kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms and a nice bathroom. I was very pleased!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    90
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
182
52
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
351 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

It was a little hard to find this place (we didn't see a sign out for the hotel out on the main road), but once we got there we were impressed. Room is good size, with complete kitchen facilities and a large desk area. Only thing we thought was lacking was counter space in the bathroom, but we were there for just 1 night so it was no big deal.
Bed and pillows were comfortable. Towels weren't overly big, which we like, but they were a big stiff. Nice toiletry products. We left the fan running all night and were glad we did, as the noise from surrounding rooms could be heard a few times above the fan noise.
We got a king suite for $84/night and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Business takes me to Ft. Jackson at least one month. And every month for the past year, I stay at the Ft. Jackson Marriott Towneplace Suites. Yes, the rooms are nice and clean, the breakfast decent, the location five minutes from the Army post. But what really sets this hotel apart is the customer service. Friendliest staff I have ever met in this area. They are always warm, helpful, and often greet you by name. In fact, once I forgot to make a three night reservation and figured I would be out of luck calling the day before. Yes, the woman -- Mariga -- told me, no rooms were available. I thanked her and hung up. Not an hour later imagine my surprise when she called me back. She had recognized my voice (I did not introduce myself when I called earlier), and after receiving a cancellation on a room, took the initiative to track me down and give me the reservation. That's the type of service that keeps my business.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nailor26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramerton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

When you first walk in, you see this huge map of the city of columbia, sc, and it has pegs of important places for leisure travelers to visit/ check out. Nice touch! I have never been to a TownePlace Suites, so didnt know what to expect.

It feels somewhat more then of an apartment complex then it does a hotel. I dont think thats necessarily a bad thing. I enjoyed complimentary breakfast, the back deck was neat! I loved the fire pit, and kids loved basketball goal. Nice to unwind the day, and have kids play.

The hotel is in safe area,. and way off highway
Special kudos to Christine at FD, very, very nice girl and efficient. There was external problems at hotel (cable out city wide) and she handled inquiries quite well, and knew right away when it would be back on again

My only grievance, hotels do a poor job of leaving their work staff, to just have 1 attendant at hotel on 2nd and 3rd shift, thats not safe, or sane. TO me at least. At times, I wanted to help her, as she was quite busy. But again, she brought excellent customer service, and kept everyone going.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This all-suites hotel was a really pleasant surprise for me. I've always liked the Marriott brand, and this hotel reinforced this preference for me. The hotel is quite new, only open about 12 months. It's located on a backwater street off Garner's Ferry road. Without a GPS you may have trouble finding it. The rooms are large and nicely appointed, with a kitchenette complete with an apartment sized fridge, a microwave, an apartment sized range with four burners and an oven, a dishwasher, plates, flatware and pots and pans. There are two 32" flat panel TV's, a nice bed/office space with a nice work area, free wired and wireless internet.

The room has separate thermostats for the bedroom and living room.

The bathroom is adequate, but nothing special. A workable tub with a shower, toilet, and vanity.

The rooms are clean and well cared for.

The pool is nice, and the fitness center is well equipped with two treadmills, an elliptical and free weights (dumbbells and a weight bench only).

There is a business center in the front lobby with two computers available to all.

There is a nice, clean breakfast room and a reasonable, although not great, breakfast is served for free. I chose to buy groceries and provide my own breakfast.

All in all a great stay in a nice, well kept hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

I stayed at the Town Place Suites while I was at training at Fort Jackson. I stayed at the hotel because of the "newness", friendliness of staff, and location to South Gate of Fort Jackson.

The Town Place Suites took in about 10 of us trainees and knew us all by name during our stay.

The room was fantastic. There was a kitchenette in my room, but I know others had full kitchens. There was a full fridge, dish washer, and two burner stove range.

The hotel has a great "back yard" that has a pool, basketball/volleyball court, and a fire-pit with gas bar-b-que grill. My friends and I often had fellow classmates over to the hotel and we took over the back yard on weekend evenings.

The am breakfast at the Town Place Suites is great and the staff will even take requests as to what you might want on the menu for the next and they will even make breakfast available for you if you have to leave the hotel before the breakfast opens.

If I ever go back to Fort Jackson and have the choice of where I want to stay, I will stay at the Town Place Suites again with no doubt.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSFortJackson, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Thank you for your pleasant remarks. I have shared your comments with our staff and they very well appreciate it. We would be absolutely thrilled to have you and the rest of your training group stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Our son is a sophomore at the University of South Carolina. We make the trip to SC several times a year to visit him. This time we headed to campus to catch the Gamecocks play the Gators.

Prior to this trip, our favorite hotel was the Marriott Courtyard at USC. But the TownePlace Suites spoiled us! We found a new gem in Columbia. We had a beautiful 2 bedroom suite on the 4th floor. It was so spacious, comfy and loaded with extras...I wanted to stay the week. The suite offered privacy for our teenagers and ourselves. Our boys had fun shooting hoops out on the basketball court late in the evening under the lights. We traveled in November and although the temps were above normal it was still too cool to swim; however, the pool was uncovered and looked beautiful. The patio provided a great place to relax. I love the unique fireside seating. Although my boys remarked, "the fire is fake...it's gas."

The staff were cheerful and friendly. The rooms were clean and I have a fairly high standard for cleanliness. The noise was minimal and barely noticeable even though the place seemed pretty full with way too many Gator fans. ;-) The beds were very comfortable. My husband has now decided that he wants down pillows just like the Marriott's. The full kitchen was stocked with enough pans and utensils for simple cooking. I made pancakes one morning before I realized that breakfast was complimentary. Three big screen televisions, one in each bedroom and another in the living area was more than I expected.

Overall...loved it! We cannot wait to stay there again. I almost hesitated to write a review because I selfishly want to make sure that "our suite" will always be available. Yet, it is fellow reviewers like you all that helped me locate this gem. Thank you and enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmgardner30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSFortJackson, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Thank you for review, and we hope you will stay with us again! Gooo Cocks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson

Property: TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
Address: 250 E Exchange Blvd, Columbia, SC 29209-2172
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Columbia
#6 Green Hotel in Columbia
#10 Business Hotel in Columbia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Columbia, SC, you'll love the neighborhood-style living and great value of the new TownePlace Suites Columbia Fort Jackson. Our all-suite, extended stay Columbia, South Carolina hotel is minutes from Fort Jackson and the University of South Carolina - home of the Gamecocks. We're also near Colonial Center, Williams-Brice Stadium, and the SC State Fair. Here on business? Our Columbia, SC hotel is close to Shaw Air Force Base, Providence Hospitals, McEntire Joint National Guard Base, Sysco, and the Dorn VA Medical Center. Every suite features complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens, 32" flat-screen HD TVs, and luxurious bedding. Start each day with our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Make yourself at home in our pool or fitness room, on our sport court, or in our BBQ/patio area. And bring your pet - we're a pet-friendly hotel! Few hotels in Columbia, SC can beat our warm hospitality, so book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Columbia Se/Fort Jackson Hotel Columbia
Towneplace Suites Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing