We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not normal expectations of a TownePlace stay from a Marriott regular!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hampton Roads, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not normal expectations of a TownePlace stay from a Marriott regular!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were traveling to the area to visit my father who recently had surgery and stayed in the King room for 2 nights. Room was a bit snug for 2 adults, child and dog, however it made do. Upon entering the room, we noticed a strong, musty smell that never really went away, and we were forced to keep the window open to try to air the room out. The bathroom was snug, but had nice sink and sink counter top. The shower head and pressure was good, but the tub was stained and the shower curtain liner was dirty! There is nothing worse than taking a shower while noticing dirt all around the tub, walls and curtain! Yuck! The bed, however, was vey comfy and slept very well. We noticed that we had an ant infestation in our kitchen and they got on our food, dishes and hubby's medications. We complained to the front desk and Justin eventually came to the room and sprayed the area. I guess it was all that could be done that night, and we were grateful that Justin was very concerned about our inconvenience. Breakfast was not great at all. There was a posted note stating that there were no scrambled eggs or hot sausage (and no reason why) and the waffle machine was broken on one day. I have had better breakfast food options and experiences at other Towneplace Suites (especially in Maryland at the Andrews AirForce Base location). Upon check out, I informed the GM-Mr. Gantt (?) of the ant situation and he stated that he had heard about that. While he apologized, he stated that sometimes you don't know when they are going to come out. Really? As a GM, this is your response to a displeased customer? And he only gave a $31 discount on our bill, even after I told him that the ants ruined our food, got into some of hubby's medication and was just overall unsanitary. His response appeared to be a standard corporate response. This was so unacceptable and I will be writing Marriott to complain further. No one should have to share a room with bugs, especially when you are paying hundreds of dollars for accommodations. I am a rewards member and always try to locate Marriott properties when I travel. Again, I am not used to this type of experience at TownePlace suites. This was a major let down. Two positive things, however, were staff member Justin's help and friendly and professional demeanor and the fact that there was not a high priced pet fee for our dog (one time $35 fee per stay). Will I be staying at this TownePlace Suites location again when I return to the area? Probably not unfortunately. Sad, sad day for this Marriott regular.

Room Tip: consider a larger room over King Bed room, as this room was a bit too snug for 2 adults, child and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrCKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear DrCKJ,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is our goal to have every guest experience the best stay possible. Obviously, we didn't meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we have taken steps to correct every issue you mentioned in your review. While your experience is not a common occurrence, we are human and occasionally there are issues. It is our hope that our efforts to resolve the issues are satisfactory. Please review the email I sent to your email address regarding the other steps taken to provide guest satisfaction. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. My staff and I hope will continue to work to ensure the satisfaction of our guests. We hope you will give us a chance to win your business in the future. Again, thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    90
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
182
52
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The staff is great and very pleasant (just like you would expect in the south…) and the property is in great shape. It was great to be on a business trip, visit my daughter at college and sit by the fire pit in the back of the hotel and enjoy the stars and relaxation.
The price and value are worth the stay at this location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Rick C,
Thank you for your kind words. The staff of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson works hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Frequently we have parents come visit their children who are in school at USC (Go Gamecocks!) or come for graduation at Fort Jackson. We are so proud for you and your children. It is our hope that we can provide a home away from home while you are in Columbia and make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were here three nights in March 2013 with our dog and it was a very pleasant, quite and well staffed and we feel very fairly priced. We had two bedrooms and a very large bathroom. Each bedroom and the living room had TV's and separate a/c controls.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Mary W,
Thank you for your kind words. The staff of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson works hard to ensure that every guest has the best experience possible during their stay with us. I'm glad to hear that we met our goal. We appreciate that you selected our hotel and hope to have you visit with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at TownePlace while attending a graduation at Ft. Jackson. The hotel staff was excellent, the room (we had a 2 bedroom suite) was comfortable, clean and well maintained. The breakfast was very good. The woman who provided for our needs at breakfast (sorry I didn't get her name) was so very helpful. Her personality was great - every request we made of her she took care of quickly. The staff was professional, pleasant and extremely polite. Ian, at the front desk, was especially helpful. We were very careful in selecting a hotel for this trip because we wanted our trip to be memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Patricia S,
Thank you for your kind words about TownePlace Suites by Marriott - Columbia SE/Fort Jackson! The staff of TownePlace Suites by Marriott works hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible. I'm glad to hear we met our goal. It is our pleasure to assist you with your needs or questions. As always, we look forward to your next visit with us at TownePlace Suites by Marriott - Columbia SE/Fort Jackson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angier, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is an excellent hotel to stay at for either a night or several nights. The staff and the manager were very helpfull with any assistance that I needed, I would recommend this hotel for anyone that wants to stay for a day or longer. Rooms were clean. Relaxing rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rondalasater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear rondalasater,
Thank you for your kind words of recommendation! At TownePlace Suites Columbia/Fort Jackson, my staff and I work hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible. I'm glad to hear we met our goal with your stay. I know your time is valuable and I appreciate that you used part of it to write a review of our hotel. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

It was very pet friendly, which was important. The breakfast was great and the rooms were comfortable and clean. also near to restaurants and close to highway Our dog loved the view from the window and the tray for her food, which was raised( great for a big dog)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxanne286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear roxanne286,
Thank you for your kind words about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Columbia SE/Fort Jackson! Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest experiences the best stay possible, including our furry friends. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our rooms ar 30% larger than our competition to help you feel more at home and provide space for longer stays. This is also helpful when you have children or pets! We hope you will come back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This must be one of the best hotel suites that my husband and I have stayed in over the years, and at a VERY reasonable price. Large living room area. There is a FULL kitchen - full sized refrig, stove, dishes. The bathroom is a nice separate room with a door that can be closed. Complimentary breakfast was ample and wonderful.
We were lucky to have reserved our room 3 weeks ahead of time; a week later, it was fully booked. It is located 5 miles from the base (Ft Jackson), so many family members come for graduation ceremonies, etc.
The hotel was full, but the guests were all very polite. The hotel was prepared for all the people; didnt run even low on breakfast. Desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piccpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear piccpete,
Thank you for your kind words! My staff and I are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to ensure that every guest has the best experience possible. TownePlace Suites by Marriott is designed for extended stays, but we are always happy to have guests for one or two nights, as well. Our suites are 30% larger than our competitors and we provide the tools you need to feel at home. It is our goal that you feel at home while staying with us and that you want to return to TownePlace Suites by Marriott on your next visit to our area. Again, thank you for your kind review. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson

Property: TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
Address: 250 E Exchange Blvd, Columbia, SC 29209-2172
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Columbia
#6 Green Hotel in Columbia
#10 Business Hotel in Columbia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for hotels in Columbia, SC, you'll love the neighborhood-style living and great value of the new TownePlace Suites Columbia Fort Jackson. Our all-suite, extended stay Columbia, South Carolina hotel is minutes from Fort Jackson and the University of South Carolina - home of the Gamecocks. We're also near Colonial Center, Williams-Brice Stadium, and the SC State Fair. Here on business? Our Columbia, SC hotel is close to Shaw Air Force Base, Providence Hospitals, McEntire Joint National Guard Base, Sysco, and the Dorn VA Medical Center. Every suite features complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens, 32" flat-screen HD TVs, and luxurious bedding. Start each day with our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Make yourself at home in our pool or fitness room, on our sport court, or in our BBQ/patio area. And bring your pet - we're a pet-friendly hotel! Few hotels in Columbia, SC can beat our warm hospitality, so book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Columbia Se/Fort Jackson Hotel Columbia
Towneplace Suites Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing