We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style of grand decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carolina University Inn
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This Clarion is was built in the day when hotels had thick walls and grand decor. The staff in the lobby was very helpful - especially Rose at the front desk. My 6th floor room was on the backside of the hotel, away from Gervais Street. The beds were comfy with 4 pillows. I heard that there was a Conference going on in the hotel meeting rooms and they have a full service restaurant with a breakfast buffet for $8.95. The bathroom had been updated however the plumbing was slow to drain in the sink. I would have preferred not to be at the end of the hall near the ice machine which had a motor that I could hear in my room.

Room Tip: A room on the backside of the tower so you are not on Gervais street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTravellerVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Based on my recent stay there this past weekend, this hotel is totally unacceptable. We stayed in the "courtyard rooms" and not the main tower, not sure if this made a difference. But I've stayed at hotels that were HALF the price and were totally comfortable and clean. So first the first room was dimly lit, and dirty, moved to a second room, better lighting .. still dirty, i.e. stains / dirt on carpet and furniture, questionable linen, dirty shower curtain. When we came back from the wedding rehearsal there was a truck parked in the parking lot, and some guys were allowed to tailgate there pretty much ALL Night ?! It was extremely noisy. I'm not sure who the people are that are giving this hotel 3 stars, maybe they didn't actually STAY at this hotel. Needless to say we changed hotels, moved to one of the Harbision Area hotels, and enjoyed the remainder of our stay. STAY AWAY, unless dirty, outdated rooms don't bother you...seriously, sub-par.

Room Tip: All I can say is DO NOT stay at the rooms that are unattached to the main tower. But for any hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiram E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

convienently located downtown and within 5-15 mins of most attractions or major interstates if travel outside city needed. friendly, helpful staff. Geat Restaurant Mgr. Excellent food and service. Filling even special request , exactly as requested. Better than service I have received at some renowned high star establishments elsewhere. Customer satifaction is definitely a priority. While the hotel may not be one of the newest properties in the area, it is definitely a good stay, I have always had a clean stay, and when possible accomodated for an earlier checkin or late checkout if needed due to my odd business schedule due to my travels. Not as cheap as some but not as expensive as most others in same area. Good value for the $$$. would highly recommend.

Room Tip: standards are good .. suites are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kfxtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I will never stay at this hotel again!! We had to change rooms three times due to them being dirty. The first room had pee and hair on the toilet! The second room had hair on the toilet and tub and smelled of smoke. The third room had hair on the bathroom floor and tub! The sheets were stained and the towels smelled unclean. When we complained they just said sorry and sent us to the next dirty room! Awful service. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The rooms in this hotel were not really clean.The bathtub looked like it was not touched in months. I asked for a roll out bed and it had a stench of cigarette smoke! I asked for a new roll outbed and the clerk said everyone went home, I would have to deal with it or get new sheets!Their ballroom facility, lobby and foyer was decent. But how misleading in comparison to the rooms! Never again will I stay there. I switched hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This place is not great but no awlful, just okay. The rooms are clean and neat, not much light. We stayed in the back portion with the door openning to the outside. It was very loud in the morining. The housekeeping staff were not polite, they would speak very loudly outside the rooms and even joked about making the people styaing there mad and getting them to complain on them. The bathroom area is small and a little scary. The water pressure sucked. And we never did figure out how to work the shower. If you turned on hot it was scoulding, if we turned the cold on to cool it down it was freezing. Over all it was fine for what we needed. On the positive side they do have a shuttle that will take you anywhere within 3 miles for free, we however did tip him. there is a lot to do within three miles. you are close to the vista and five points. But walking might be a bit far. Just something to think about.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Very nice room with two queen beds. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. We were traveling
with a group and they had the hotel van take us to the restaurant and pick us up after dinner.
The location is downtown and convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boatingtuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#23 of 93 in Columbia
594 reviews
2.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#27 of 93 in Columbia
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina University Inn

Address: 1615 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3413 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Downtown)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: £81 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolina University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Carolina University Inn located in the heart of Downtown Columbia. Travelers of all needs can take advantage of our one of a kind property located in the business, financial, and entertainment district of downtown Columbia. Unique local restaurants, boutique shopping, and exciting night life are all located within a one mile radius. The brand new USC Law School opening in Fall of 2017 is just across the street from the hotel's front door and a short walk from where you can discover everything the University of South Carolina campus has to offer. We take great pride in our Gamecocks here in Columbia. Williams Brice Stadium is a short 2.9 mile drive where you will experience college football here in Gamecock Country! Breathtaking views of the South Carolina State House are blocks away on Gervais Street. The South Carolina State Museum and Museum of Art are conveniently located downtown offering a taste of our local culture. Take the family on a delightful educational adventure to the Riverbanks Zoo and Garden or the Edventure Children's Museum, both located within 5 miles of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carolina University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Columbia
Clarion Columbia
Columbia Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing