We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the right place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carolina University Inn
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Suitably placed in Columbia, this hotel offers good service and friendly staff. Many choices locally to eat and within walking distance. Rooms are a little tired but OK for one night. Beds comfy. Only saw one cockroach and it was soon dealt with.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelhappyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Clarion Hotel in downtown Columbia, SC is a well maintained, fully staffed, and centrally located for the traveler who enjoys the historic part of town. Yet, it is only a few miles from the interstate and more recent shopping areas as well as USC.
Our suite had a comfortable king sized bed, nice sofa, table and chairs and best of all, a large whirlpool bathtub. It was well lit and the temperature was always perfect.
Parking was available near the upstairs rooms, which had lights at every door making for a secure feeling.
All in all, a comfortable, clean, reasonably priced and safe place to stay in Columbia, SC.

Room Tip: Suites are a good value and area attractions packages are available when calling in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlsWeekendTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We booked 4 rooms for family for USC graduation for 3 nights. Rooms and facilities were good, clean, and price fair. A little dated but that was easily made up for by the staff. Staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was great. Had breakfast, dinner and Mom's day dinner - all food was EXCELLENT. We'd eat there even if we were staying elsewhere. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spearhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Located within a walking distance of USC.Has plenty of parking space.
Rooms are very dull and look very old and jaded- saw a few cockroaches miving around.
The furniture and the tv are from the past generation.Beds are soft and comfortable.There is no
Refrigerature provided but there is a coffee maker.
The breakfast is charged 9$ with coffee poured charged extra.
Free wifi internet is provide but you have to move around to check where you can get the reception.

Room Tip: Dont know if any room has any advantage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashokbhanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayedin one of the tower king rooms, which was nicer than the cheaper rooms. Not impressed, but not disgusted - veryt in the middle. Bed was very soft, very bad for my sciatica, so if you have back issues, seek a firmer mattress. All the fixtures were outdated by about 20 years, but seemed to work ok - phone, TV, AC, remote, etc. The shower had a terrible leak and poured water down the wall of the shower when I ran it. Room service was ok, nothing special. The "fitness center" was pretty lame - very old equipment, half of which did not work. The front desk staff was very helpful and accomodating with my six hours late flight and helping me get checked in quickly. So all in all - servicable - but needs some TLC.....

Room Tip: Stay in the tower, not in the older rooms - and not close to the street like I did - lots of noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARDESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here while seeing a couple of shows at Township Auditorium and the location was fantastic. Overall our stay was fine without any real issues. Had a great nights sleep so the beds were good. Front desk staff was helpful and answered all our questions. Location was also great if you were looking to be close to campus too. Thinking back the only issue I could remember was the speed of the elevator, which really wasn't a big issue. Lot of parking as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polar_Caver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Good-
Location is about the only thing I could say was good; and that's being generous. The bed was comfortable.

The Bad-
Severely outdated. My room hadn't been vacuumed in quite some time, in fact, there was a large clump of hair under the desk. The TV, which was an old fashioned tube, had static on every channel. The shower was filthy. The refrigerator looked like something you'd buy at the Goodwill. I could go on, but I think it's adequate to just say avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina University Inn

Address: 1615 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3413 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Downtown)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: £82 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolina University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Carolina University Inn located in the heart of Downtown Columbia. Travelers of all needs can take advantage of our one of a kind property located in the business, financial, and entertainment district of downtown Columbia. Unique local restaurants, boutique shopping, and exciting night life are all located within a one mile radius. The brand new USC Law School opening in Fall of 2017 is just across the street from the hotel's front door and a short walk from where you can discover everything the University of South Carolina campus has to offer. We take great pride in our Gamecocks here in Columbia. Williams Brice Stadium is a short 2.9 mile drive where you will experience college football here in Gamecock Country! Breathtaking views of the South Carolina State House are blocks away on Gervais Street. The South Carolina State Museum and Museum of Art are conveniently located downtown offering a taste of our local culture. Take the family on a delightful educational adventure to the Riverbanks Zoo and Garden or the Edventure Children's Museum, both located within 5 miles of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carolina University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Columbia
Clarion Columbia
Columbia Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing