We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carolina University Inn
Ranked #76 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoy bringing in the new year here at this hotel. The hotel was great, food was great, front desk service sucks. The view was great over looking the city. The new years celebration downtown was amazing. Cool and the gang really put on a great show. Looking forward to next year

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    32
    41
    40
    47
See reviews for
50
25
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ches
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My sister and I stayed here for a friends out of town wedding. The hotel was old but very well maintained and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is a hotel restaurant and I believe there is a swimming pool and work out area but I was there such a short time I did not avail myself of these facilities. This was my first trip to Columbia. It is a quiet city with the sleepy air of a beach town. The hotel is only a few blocks from the downtown area. I would feel safe walking from the hotel to Main Street during the day but not at night. This is a great base for anyone who wants to explore Columbia by car, bike or foot. If I ever get to go back to Columbia I'd stay here again.
WORD OF WARNING: The curtains are merely for decoration and don't close all the way. If you want your privacy bring cloths pegs to jimmy rig the curtains closed.

Room Tip: Some rooms have entrances inside the hotel some rooms have entrances outside motel style. This hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Got a good deal on this hotel from priceline and the hotel is in a good location but that is where it stops. When first arriving both front desk clerks were on the phone for 15 minutes so had to wait which I don't mind I am patient. They gave me a room in the back part of the hotel which I think is the older part of the hotel. The room was a little outdated but again that doesn't phase me much. As long as I have a comfy bed and it's clean that is all I care about. At least I thought so. That night I could hear the people in the next room and the AC in the room was like a car engine it was so loud. So didn't sleep that great. In the morning I walked into the bathroom barefoot and noticed I was tracking in dirt from the carpet in the bathroom. So the carpets aren't that clean in this place. If they would do a little better up keep on the place and clean better this place would be a lot better but for now they need to work on things.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bootskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I recently stayed here and the beds were the nicest thing in the room. Very comfortable and it was reasonably priced. But you also get what you pay for. The bathroom shower had mold in it and hair. When I turned on the water rust came out. I will stay at a different hotel next time I visit Columbia.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

If you're staying here, immediately take a walk to The Whig so you can forget about the nasty hotel you're staying at. By the time you get back you won't even notice or care.

This place needs a serious scrub down. I can't decide who's more to blame, the cleaning staff or management. Spend the extra money and stay near Assembly and Gervais St.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I agree with most everything that's been said about this hotel. My husband, daughter and I were in Columbia for two nights to look at the U of SC. This location can't be beat for our purposes and neither can the price ( $ 79). We're very close to the heart of downtown Columbia and I don't know where else you can get a room within walking distance to a lot for this price. The front desk crew has been friendly and responsive.

We are in one of the rooms near the pool, but being November, it's closed. I remember walking past the covered pool when we first arrived thinking, hmmm... if this were summer I wouldn't want to be staying in this room. I would agree that the rooms are old and in need of updating. The lighting in the room is terrible. We have two very old and rickety lamps with probably 40-watt bulbs! However, the bathroom lighting is very good as is the light over the vanity. We will make survive. I have not found anything to be dirty. The tub/toilet is older and there's an awkwardly placed phone/handset right next to the toilet. I suppose it would be handy if you run out of toilet paper. However, everything is clean. I think that sometimes people mistake old for dirty, which this room is not. The carpet and furniture are older but we do have a new flat screen TV and I don't see stains on anything.

The old saying "you get what you pay for" holds true here. What do you expect for under $ 100 a night in the heart of a city? If our daughter winds up going to the U of SC, we would certainly stay here again. I don't think you can beat the value. Having been here once, I'd know what to ask for (not near the pool in summer) and perhaps look for a room in the tower, but overall, I think it's a fine place if you're not too fussy and can overlook the "old".

Room Tip: Away from the pool (higher numbers are away from pool .. ex: we are 209 and its closer to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The front desk staff is nice. The location convenient. That's about all that's good about this place.

The room itself was uninspiring. The desk chair was filthy and badly stained. The floor was stained. The lampshades were badly cracked. The bathroom faucet was rusting out from underneath. And really, I hate to find other people's hair in my towels.

I would not call this a three star hotel - even for the supposedly better tower rooms. I've stayed in Red Roof Inns that were cleaner and more modern than this place. I did not stay in the "budget-minded" rooms - but be warned those are motel-style accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room, facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarletleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#28 of 94 in Columbia
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.5 mi away
The Inn At Claussen's
The Inn At Claussen's
#29 of 94 in Columbia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina University Inn

Property: Carolina University Inn
Address: 1615 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3413 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Downtown)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolina University Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Carolina University Inn located in the heart of Downtown Columbia. Travelers of all needs can take advantage of our one of a kind property located in the business, financial, and entertainment district of downtown Columbia. Unique local restaurants, boutique shopping, and exciting night life are all located within a one mile radius. The brand new USC Law School opening in Fall of 2017 is just across the street from the hotel's front door and a short walk from where you can discover everything the University of South Carolina campus has to offer. We take great pride in our Gamecocks here in Columbia. Williams Brice Stadium is a short 2.9 mile drive where you will experience college football here in Gamecock Country! Breathtaking views of the South Carolina State House are blocks away on Gervais Street. The South Carolina State Museum and Museum of Art are conveniently located downtown offering a taste of our local culture. Take the family on a delightful educational adventure to the Riverbanks Zoo and Garden or the Edventure Children's Museum, both located within 5 miles of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carolina University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Columbia
Clarion Columbia
Columbia Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing