We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Zoo”

Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden
Ranked #1 of 109 things to do in Columbia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Riverbanks Zoo and Garden is home to nearly 2,000 animals that represent more than 350 species from around the world. A visit to the Zoo will play host to an array of wild adventures from a diving expedition on a Pacific coral reef to a safari through the plains of Africa to an interactive Outback encounter with a flock of sociable lorikeets. The Botanical Garden boasts 70-acres of unparalleled beauty and is considered one of the America's best public gardens. Dramatic and themed gardens showcase more than 4,300 species of native and exotic plants, providing a living classroom for gardeners and non-gardeners alike. The Garden also is the gateway to natural river views and spectacular valley overlooks. In addition, guests can view structural remains dating back to the early 1800s with South Carolina's textile industry and the Civil War.
nc
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This si by far the best zoo in the area. Great exhibits, clean and friendly staff. Can't go wrong going here

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank drrob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,614
    543
    123
    19
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Plan to spend the day”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Lots of baby animals. A very relaxing way to spend a sunny spring day.

Helpful?
Thank SouthCarolinaPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden, Columbia, SC”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I am a frequent visitor to Columbia's zoo. The animals are entertaining. It's a good opportunity to get exercise by walking. The aquarium is really good. And the Christmas lights are exceptional.

Helpful?
Thank RetiredCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great if you go in the spring/summer”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have been to this zoo many times and have always had a good experience. However my last visit was in late October and many of the animals were not out because of the "cold". At least that is what I was told because when I visited it was almost 70 out. As long as you go in the warm weather season you should thoroughly enjoy it. I really recommend going in the spring to see the flowers blooming in the garden.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ALESHA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place To Get Away And Enjoy Nature”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Riverbanks Zoo is simply a great place to go visit. They have something for everyone. If you have children they will have a great time looking, and in some cases petting the animals. Additionally they have rides and play areas for the kids that they will really enjoy. When I bring my children there they love the children's train, carosel, and the play area. Additionally, there are movies there as well as good food concessions. For adults the animals are great as well as the botanical area at the top of the zoo. I have been to many large city zoos and none of them are better than what we have here in Columbia. The zoo also has special events during the year that are great fun. The Christmas Lights, Boo At The Zoo (Halloween), and many other events are well worth attending as the thousands who go can attest. The zoo also offers yearly memberships that allow unlimited access as well as admissions to some of the special events. Finally, the botanical gardens offer plants and bulbs for sale. Don't miss this gem.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing