We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great setting, great service, weak drinks”
Review of Solstice Kitchen

Solstice Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Solstice Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 973 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Clemson Road
Description: Our cuisine can be labeled many things, but it is most definitely seasonal. Our service is professional, yet far from stuffy. Our décor is modern, yet simple, and our wine list is extensive. Perhaps most important of all, everyone from our servers and bartenders, to our chefs and management, are among the most dedicated service industry professionals in our community.
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great setting, great service, weak drinks”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Outstanding food. Everything from the sashimi appetizer to the red meat entrees were outstanding. The Krispy Kreme dessert was more than I could choke down sweetness/grease-wise, but that's the point. Service was perfect, management on top of the customers. Good environment for a nice date, business dinner. Only downside: their cocktails are very inventive in terms of the crafting, but they really ding you by not putting much alcohol at all in. And I'm not a big drinker and this was obvious. On the flip side, when they only charge 6-9 bucks for their crafted cocktails, there's not a lot to complain about. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaindudeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    64
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Food was outstanding and the service was attentive but not intrusive. The staff was very knowledgeable and the atmosphere is very inviting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Ambiance”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I visited Solstice Kitchen because it was the number one ranked restaurant in Columbia at the time. The polite hostess seated us promptly upon arrival. Our waitress was friendly and exceptionally helpful with menu choices. The restaurant has a romantic allure that enabled us to ignore sitting away from a wall. We felt like we were in an intimate setting although the restaurant was reasonably full. I delighted in the Pan Roasted Atlantic Salmon and my wife enjoyed the Grilled 6 oz Filet Mignon. The moderately sized portions of meat and sides were flavorful and filling.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been going here for a few years, from sitting at the bar or in the main area, the staff is wonderful and the food is just amazing. They always serve you a "present" which is a small appetizer before any food comes out. The sad part is, is that you won't find it on the menu but it is always yummy! Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gayatripingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We invited another couple to dinner at Solstice, and we were all very happy with our selections and our server, Christy. The soft shell crab was some of the best we've ever had, and the salmon entree' was excellent, too. None of us were real crazy about the bone marrow appetizer, but I guess that's just a matter of personal taste. Our friends took a favorite bottle of wine and we paid a corkage fee -- something I wasn't even aware was an option, but was a nice option. We will definitely return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcshealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solstice Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Solstice Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing