We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really Enjoyed our Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed our Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The employees at this location were top notch! We used our marriott rewards to book our room, and figured we'd get a bottom-barrel room. Not so! We had a fantastic room with a groovy sectional sofa/pullout couch, comfortable king bed, and a beautiful, modern & sleek bathroom. Highly recommend, and you can easily walk to area restaurants located in the Vista area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king/with pullout sofa. Excellent and PLENTY of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyMBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
WOW. Thank you for your wonderful comments, especially the one regarding our staff. We take great pride in our customer service and love getting this feedback. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Holly Penny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    96
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
108
49
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were in Columbia for a weekend getaway with family and friends and thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Springhill Suites. It has a great location, a friendly staff, and is very clean. Nice up-to-date decor. Within walking distance to may restaurants. The sofa ned was horrible, butthat's probably to be expected anywaere. All in all it was perfect for our leisurely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andywms6725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are so happy that you had a great stay here with us at the SpringHill Suites Downtown/The Vista and that you thought it was a great location, a friendly staff and was very clean. We try very hard to make sure each and every guest has the best experience possible! Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards,
Holly Penny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice updated hotel. Near downtown especially the University of SC. Love the microwave and mini fridge in the room. Beds are comfortable. clean rooms and bathrooms. Wish there were locks on the bathroom doors (sliding pocket doors). Modern decor. Free Breakfast included was good. From check in to breakfast Svc was excellent - Brittany during breakfast went out of her way to get me more ham and cheese that ran out on the second day. Front desk was prompt in getting us more towels and shampoo when we asked for it. Smooth superb great stay!!! Recommend highly to stay here.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparklegirl_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to review our SpringHill Suites Downtown Columbia/The Vista. We greatly appreciate it and the wonderful comments regarding our modern rooms and excellent service at breakfast. I look forward to sharing your review with our staff and with Brittany in particular. We also encourage you to add us on Facebook to learn about all the great things we have going on.

Thank you again and see you soon!
Holly Penny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We scheduled a tour for USC and came in the day before to visit First Baptist Church. We unexpectedly included our two younger children on the trip. The layout of the room accommodated us great. The two queen beds with the sofa bed was perfect in the quasi two room suite. The split bathroom allowed one to shower while allowing access to the rest of the facilities. The lighted walk-in closet also doubled as a changing room. This property is within walking distance to a Publix grocery store and works great with the in-room refrigerator and microwave, cutting down on dining expenses.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCCDLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are happy to hear that you had a great time here with us at our SpringHill Suites Downtown Columbia. We are so glad that our room layout was perfect when traveling with your family. We hope to see you again very soon!

Thanks again for taking time out of your day to write a review for us!
Kindest Regards,
Holly Penny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a nice option for USC parent's weekend. It wasn't cheap, but I thought it was good value for money. The room was sufficiently spacious to accommodate me, my husband, our younger daughter and college student. The split bath arrangement was very convenient.

Although the hotel seemed full for the weekend, we heard no sounds in the hallways from our room. The beds were comfortable and we had more than enough towels without having to track down housekeeping for a couple more every day. The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was plenty of parking on a busy football weekend. The shuttle was a nice convenience. Plus this location makes it handy to the Vista for eating and shopping. I would definitely recommend this property to other parents traveling to Columbia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieGF67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for staying at the SpringHill Suites Downtown Columbia/In the Vista for your recent trip to Columbia for Parent’s Weekend at the University of South Carolina. Our staff appreciates you taking the time to give us your feedback and letting us know how we are doing. We are located near the university and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. This makes it convenient for our guest and ensures that there is something for everyone within a short walk. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel's amenities. We hope you come to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Holly Penny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Here for a week and really enjoyed the stay. Rooms are very sleek and comfortable, great pillows and very quiet. Breakfast was typical but could have used some different cereal. Coffee was good and available all night (or at least very early in the morning). Within walking distance of some very nice restaurants, but just wish the Starbucks was closer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. I enjoyed reading your comments, especially where you noted that our rooms are very sleek and comfortable with great pillows and very quiet. We are also very delighted that you liked our convenient location and close proximity to many nice restaurants. We look forward to your return to our SpringHill Suites Downtown Columbia/In the Vista
.
Best Regards,

Holly Penny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were in town for a friend's wedding and decided to stay here since it was close to the reception venue. The hotel is located in The Vista which is a revitalized area of Columbia and within walking distance of many restaurants/bars as well as shops and a grocery store (just across the street). The hotel had a small bar in the lobby and had happy hour each night which was nice, and the breakfast had plenty of offerings. The front desk staff were nice and the rooms were a very good size although I agree about the weird doors for the bathroom. There were a few issues though. First, the air conditioning. There didn't seem to be a high, medium or low setting for the fan and it was on full blast the entire weekend. We would adjust the temperature, but then the unit would just turn off. We were only there two days, so we dealt with it. However, the second issue we had still bothers me. We came back to the hotel one evening to find not one, not two but THREE bugs that looked like roaches (someone called them Palmetto bugs, but to this New Yorker they looked like roaches) crawling along the walls of the hallway leading to our room. I immediately picked up the house phone and called the front desk who sent someone up to kill them, but it creeped me out for the rest of the weekend and I scanned the hallway each time before I walked down it and also searched all in our room (luckily we didn't see any others). We reported it to the front desk the next day and they said they would look into it, but didn't apologize or offer us anything for the inconvenience. Aside from the bugs, the hotel was really clean and in excellent condition, which made seeing the bugs even more bizarre. Regardless, I realize most hotels have bugs like this somewhere, but I'm not sure I would stay here again based on this experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguin0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Penguin0301,

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our daily happy hour at our lounge, our complimentary breakfast with plenty of options and our friendly staff. We thrive on offering the best customer service and cleanest accommodations and thank you for providing those highlights in your review.

However, I am very disappointed to read the comments you recently posted regarding the air conditioner not working properly and the pest you saw in the hallway on the way to your suite. I am not sure why your air conditioner unit’s thermostat controller was not working appropriately as all units have a high/low/auto option with cool, heat, and fan. I hate that we were not able to address the issue for you while you were on property. I am confident to say that the pest/Palmetto bugs/roaches that you saw have been taken care of by our contracted pest elimination company and this type of concern should not be an issue moving forward. I apologize that you had to ever experience this at our property. I am also very sorry that you did not get the service you should have received from our desk staff when reporting this issue.

My team and I are very sorry and hope you give us a chance to earn your loyalty back. We do appreciate your feedback and promise to use it to improve. I wish you and your family safe travels.

Kindest Regards,

Holly Penny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.2 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
#6 of 96 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#11 of 96 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista

Property: SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Address: 511 Lady St, Columbia, SC 29201-3015 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
#23 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Downtown Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing