We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and quiet.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Ranked #16 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for a week. The hotel has a modern feel / design to it. The toilet is in a different room from the shower. I found this a plus for 2 or more people staying in a room. The only down sides that I found were 1) The shower door didn't shut all the way so it leaked onto the floor. 2) There is an inch gap between the hallway door and the floor. It lets a lot of light through. If you are light sensitive you will need to block this with a towel or something similar.

Location - The hotel is only 2 - 4 blocks from some good places to eat at night. There is also a grocery store right across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Burnboy,

Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs while here in Columbia and thank you for taking the time to give us a great rating! Come back and see us anytime!

Sincerely,

Jacob Toda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    102
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
112
52
20
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel, however my night stay there was ruined by a busload of fraternity and sorority kids getting their alcohol prime for the Carolina Cup in Camden the next day. Please beware: dont stay here during the Carolina Cup.
Kids were talking in the hall, banging on doors, and slamming doors well beyond midnight, then up at 6:00 am with the music blaring, slaming doors again.
They were walking up and down the halls with open beer cans and bottles of wine. It looked like the hotel was turning a blind eye to underaged drinking, but I did not check ids. The hotel management did nothing to quiet them or stop the problem, and in fact the group returned for Saturday night as well.
Very nice hotel with very poor management and no leadership.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Don C.
Thank you for speaking with me over the phone regarding your stay. I hope through our correspondence you feel assured that what your experience is very far from a typical weekend here in Columbia. I had no problem whatsoever refunding the total amount of your stay. I couldn't expect anyone to pay having the experience you did. As summer approaches, hotels are challenged as the variety of guest broadens. Weddings, bachelor parties and rambunctious kids are always a challenge!! I'm sorry the noise and chaos effected your stay.
I hope that in the future you will look to us again.

Sincerely,

Jacob Toda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on a family road trip. Great neighborhood with lots of trendy bars, restaurants and shops. Room was spacious. Not having a bath tub was a bummer, so keep that in mind if you have young kids. Breakfast was typical hotel fate, but it got the job done.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Florida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Florida G,

Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs while passing through on your road trip. I hope the trip was a success and that we’ll see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jacob Toda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

As with most Marriott properties, spotlessly clean for the most part
Fresh smelling
Above and beyond service- great service at front desk
Good food
Comfortable & relaxing
Great work housekeeping department
good locale minutes walk from great restaurants

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcsst9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Mcsst9,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate the nice comments. I'll be sure to pass them along to the rest of our staff. We hope you'll come and see us the next time you are in Columbia!

Sincerely,
Audra Wood
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Clean throughout.... Nice indoor pool.... Bar in the evenings... Nice light breakfast... Close to everything downtown (convention center, USC, etc), but closest to the arts area aka Vista... SC State museum and Edventure center are across the street. Highly recommend... Will return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Christian B,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for your positive feedback! I'm happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of the local attractions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Audra Wood
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Wow! What a wonderful room and welcoming staff! This is a brand new hotel with a great location and the feeling that they are not trying to squeeze every penny out of you! Free abundant parking and strong wifi make this a perfect place for business travelers. Close to great restaurants and stores puts this at the top of my list!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and leaving us such an awesome review! And what an honor to make the top of your list! I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff! Come stay with us again the next time you are in our area!

Sincerely,

Audra Wood
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This immaculate hotel seems to be the best value downtown when it comes to space and convenience. Our enormous king suite king suite was the biggest we've found in close to two weeks on the road. I wish more hotels offered a bathroom like this one, which consists of two separate parts: shower and tub in one, toilet in the other and a vanity in each. The complimentary breakfast and efficient, welcoming service compared to what we've found at other well run chain hotels but we'll remember this one for room to spread out and relax.

So why am I not giving it five stars? Two things, both fixable. First, our room was supposed to be disability-friendly but had no bathmat or textured bars in the tub. (There were plenty of grab bars but why not prevent slipping in the first place?) Second, the TV was awkwardly positioned between the sleeping and living areas so that the only good view was from the desk chair.

Still, if space is a priority you cannot do better. And you'll be walking distance from plenty of restauarants and bars.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gelatifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate the positive feedback and the suggestions for how we can improve. We look forward to having you stay with us again if you're ever back in Columbia! Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Audra Wood
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
1.2 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista

Property: SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Address: 511 Lady St, Columbia, SC 29201-3015 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
#23 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Downtown Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing