We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local find in Columbia”

Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse
Ranked #17 of 984 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Hunter-Gatherer Brewery has been brewing and serving classic ales since 1995. Starting in 2015, we will regularly feature cask-conditioned ales served from wood kilderkins made by Alastair Simms, the only master cooper in the United Kingdom. Michael Jackson, aka the "Beer Hunter", visited the Hunter-Gatherer Brewery in 1997. He wrote that the Hunter-Gatherer is "the kind of place CAMRA (Campaign For Real Ale) members might enjoy. The beer is the hero, rather than the brewery being an afterthought. In the U.S., And even sometimes in Britain, the latter is too often the case." Michael Jackson was the best beer writer and critic the world has known. A compliment from Michael Jackson is as meaningful as it gets in the brewery world.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good local find in Columbia”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Decent pub food & good in house brewed beers. Relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. Good happy hour specials as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    75
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Beer, So-So Food”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I always try to eat at a few brewpubs while on vacation. Stopped here after visiting the state capitol. No parking available close, should have just walked the few blocks from our capitol spot. Ended up circling many times looking for a spot and parking within 100 feet of our original spot. Tried the stout and the ESB, both were great. Ordered crabcakes which were lukewarm at best and very small. Also had the Iberian pizza, it was just OK. I wouldn't come here for the food, but the beer and the setting make it worth a stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeetheParks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Gross, not gourmet”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Based on reviews I looked forward to coming here. The service was perfect but that was because we ate at 430pm. I ordered smoked chicken ravioli which I did not like. That was a waste of $12.95. The salad was ok but I also didn't like the dijon vinaigrette. My husband loved his crabcake sandwich meanwhile I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie10100, Owner at Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
I wish that you had a better experience. We try to make sure that people leave happy, but we obviously failed to do that for you. If it is possible (I am not familiar with posting rules), would you please consider taking the word gross out of the review. When I hear someone describe a restaurant experience as gross, I think of bugs or worse, not just a bad meal. Thanks, Kevin, Owner ( I dont know how I got the name Annie10100)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service. Good food. Ok beer.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We visited early on a Sat. evening. Our waitress was serving many tables, but did a fantastic job keeping everyone happy and we were never searching for her.

Pros:

Excellent service
Pretty good food(nothing that stands out though)

Cons:

I came for the beer, but it was just mediocre. They didn't seem to match the styles very well. Some were too malty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AverageTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CT
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Popular for a Reason”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I enjoyed having dinner here as we passed through Columbia. On a Friday evening, the restaurant and bar were full of convivial eaters and drinkers. It was noisy, but that was to be expected. The craft-brewed draft beers were very good (I liked the amber ale, my wife liked the lager), and the food was excellent, with an excellent array of chalkboard specials (which we had) in addition to the standard menu. Our server was terrific---responsive and anticipatory, but not hovering by any means. The upper floor, which rings the restaurant, gives an atrium effect to a building which was built nearly 100 years ago an an automotive repair shop. I thought our service might suffer because we were on the upper floor (servers had to go downstairs for food and beverages), but it did not. Great overall view of this fun place from the opstairs seats, which I recommend. Parking is on-street, but plentiful after hours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing