We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very crowded, but great”

Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse
Ranked #17 of 965 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hunter-Gatherer Brewery has been brewing and serving classic ales since 1995. Starting in 2015, we will regularly feature cask-conditioned ales served from wood kilderkins made by Alastair Simms, the only master cooper in the United Kingdom. Michael Jackson, aka the "Beer Hunter", visited the Hunter-Gatherer Brewery in 1997. He wrote that the Hunter-Gatherer is "the kind of place CAMRA (Campaign For Real Ale) members might enjoy. The beer is the hero, rather than the brewery being an afterthought. In the U.S., And even sometimes in Britain, the latter is too often the case." Michael Jackson was the best beer writer and critic the world has known. A compliment from Michael Jackson is as meaningful as it gets in the brewery world.
Rigby, Id
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very crowded, but great”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We ended up taking a spot at the end of a table where some professors were all discussing biology. I ordered the sausage pizza, my husband the blackend shrimp po boy. Both were excellent. The waitresses were super busy, but got to us right away. It's a bit loud, but what do you expect that close to a university. I remember reading other posts about problems parking. They do have parking now in the university parking lot next door AFTER 6pm. (there is a note on the door). I would go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoloresfromIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    72
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good brew + good food”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Located steps away from the capital and the University, Hunter-Gatherer is just the right place. Be sure to check the chalkboard for specials and the featured beers. I've never had a bad meal here but would definitely recommend the cheese spread app and the Bruce pizza. Other favorites include the black bean dip and mac and cheese. Grab some friends and a beer and sit for a while, maybe you'll even catch some live music.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good brew pub with good food”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I enjoyed a delicious salad and 2 yummy beers! My work associate had the seafood special and reported it was excellent. The atmosphere is interesting - a good place to have a conversation over good beer. The service is prompt, helpful, not overly friendly, but to be expected from the more hipster staff. That is okay, and fits the mood. We ate on a Wednesday evening and the place was crowded, filled with local business folks, and not so many students. I will be back to try more of their interesting starters, as well as another beer! A great local drinking establishment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excelllent”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This excellent restaurant is located in an old building. The food and beer were excellent. We enjoyed the mussels appetizer; it was the best I've had. We all ordered different beers and were happy with them. We all enjoyed our main courses. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hcross888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The place to be”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. The food was great,the drinks were perfect and the luve jazz was amazing. Cant wait to go back

Helpful?
Thank memetrini77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hunter-Gatherer Brewery & Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing