We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but noisy guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road
Ranked #32 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but noisy guests”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights while attending a retirement ceremony at Shaw AFB. The hotel staff were very friendly and the room was nice and clean. We couldn't hear any traffic noise which was a nice surprise considering we were right off the freeway. Our stay was not relaxing or restful however because of the constant slamming of doors from other guests on our floor. It was all night - both nights until approximately 2am. Sounded like people room hopping.....

On the day of check out, the housekeeping staff were constantly knocking on the door even though we had until 11am to check out. With 3 people trying to get ready to leave it was most annoying to keep answering the door and telling them that we were still there. If check out is at 11am, they should allow guests time to do just that.

Finally, the complementary breakfast was just okay. The hot food was not tasty at all but the juices and pastries were fine.

Overall, an okay clean hotel with friendly staff. However, I couldn't wait to get home for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sortiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    30
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
41
13
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 days this past week for business purposes. Parking lot need expanding. Very dark at night and right behind some low end restaurants with lots of in/out traffic. Internet was slow and very laggy. Wifi only. Personally, I like the availability of being able to hard wire to the internet when I can.

Biggest dislike...put on 3rd floor, hotel was not packed and my Rewards profile has 1st to 2nd floor, by elevator on it. Was at the end of the hall, furthest from elevator and the elevator....well, I would have made better time taking the stairs. For 3 floors, that was the slowest elevator I've ever encountered.

Otherwise, king size bed was comfortable. Room a little on the cold side. No thermostat control on the wall...only on the window unit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EODirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Being often on the road, I really like the friendy staff at the front desk. Very accomodating, pleasant and quick to check in.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflake63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northernNH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I stayed in a king suite 10 days for business. I appreciated the coffee and full breakfast hot & ready at 6am. Coin op guest laundry & decent sized pool with lounge chairs.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gosouthnorthernNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I complained several times to hotel management about other guest making noises throughout the night. I had my two young kids with me and i had to get up in the middle of night to move them to another room. Do you think the manager ever called me back to apologize? No, his staff was coverring for him each time by saying he was at home sick. Really! Go figure. Take my word for it. If I had the opportunity I would have probably disputed the charge.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PissedOff666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

attended graduation on post - because of the direction we were coming from, we surpassed long lines from other direction - Staff was excellent - any questions, concerns were met with immediate personal service, ( forgotten personal items, lobby computer, ran out paper, extra towels) Also great breakfast with speedy freindly staff refillng as needed, had hot tea and cocoa
only problems ice machines were being worked on and when ok for use - was not fixed correctly - bugs and black debris came out with ice - thus repairmen were called back but machine never worked while there for 4 days, would see a daily bug in our room - but we are in the south, have not stayed many places that i did not see at least 1 bug - also took my work with me- when left some behind- i received a call telling me it was there and told it would be sent -still waiting for it to arrive??
nice hotel terrific staff - would stay again despite seeing a daily bug - also shopping/restaurants short drive away through residenital area and then lots of options - kind of a away from city/base but to close to necceities (everything within 10 min drive) waffle house next door to hotel - walk across parking lot for late night snack - also baby friendly had a pack n play at our request, elevators between floors for elderly family

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacaintheusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a 3rd visit (2 rooms) 20 and 21 June. We just can't fault it. Every time we have visited the staff have been so welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast is good - everything we needed to set us up for the day and on each of our 2 days there was always something different cooking. The rooms are spotless and clean and the hotel is extremely well maintained from the reception area to the pool. For some reason the "Manager's reception" didn't happen this time. We went to one on our last visit and thought it was a nice touch and chance to mingle with staff and other visitors who were passing though. There's a few decent restaurants within walking distance and a great shopping complex just a few minutes down the road. The hotel staff are more than happy to give suggestions. We have stayed in much more expensive hotels but they just don't have the charm that this one does and that's what draws us back time after time. We use it as a "stop-off" for a few days to catch our breath whilst on our vacation and it really is a pleasure to stay there. If there's anyone from the hotel reading this - thank you!

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia I-20 / Clemson Road
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia North East
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Columbia I-26 at Harbison Boulevard
1.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#23 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road
Address: 1011 Clemson Frontage Rd, Columbia, SC 29229-6597
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#28 Family Hotel in Columbia
#28 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-20 at Clemson Frontage Road is a beautiful 65 room and suites hotel, located at exit 80 from I-20. We are the smart choice when staying in the Columbia, Fort Jackson, Elgin, and Camden areas. Business travelers look to our hotel to provide top-of-the-line amenities such as our fitness room with a great view of the pool, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and the Smart Start breakfast that travelers have come to know and love. Our manager's reception offering complimentary hors d oeuvres and drinks makes our guests feel at home. Mint Julep Restaurant is a new and exciting dining experience close to the hotel. The guest laundry facility offers convenience for all those travelers that are away from home. Leisure travelers will benefit from our hotel being the closest to the new Village at Sandhills deluxe shopping center and the Plex Indoor Sports Center, both located five minutes away. We are also less than ten minutes from Fort Jackson, and close to downtown Columbia and the University of South Carolina as well. We are proudly one of the first Columbia hotels to go 100% smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express i-20 At Clemson Road Hotel Columbia
Holiday Inn Express Columbia
Holiday Inn Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing