We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel and Staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road
Ranked #34 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Matthews, North Carolina
1 review
“Amazing Hotel and Staff!!”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Our room was exceptionally clean,spacious and bright. Spotless bathroom and large T.V.The staff was extremely helpful,answering all our questions about the city and recommending local shopping and restaurants. Most definitely would stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bushmilllane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    30
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
13
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding.The front desk staff was very friendly and professional.I was pleasantly surprised at how large my room was!!The bathroom was extremely clean and well stocked with plenty of toiletries and fresh towels.I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarle, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Our experience at the Holiday Inn Clemson Rd was outstanding and the staff was very accomodating. They made my group feel very welcome. I would highly recomend this Hotel. This is not the first time I have stayed at this Hotel and what I was impressed with is that the front desk person who checked me in remembered me from my last visit which was over two months ago. The fact that the same people were working at this Hotel tells me that it must care about the employees who in turn make me feel that I am valued as a guest.

Room Tip: Suites are very large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Our experience was positive.Great staff and large clean rooms.The manager was to helpful and gave my children a stuff gift when we arrived.I loved the staff and breakfast was the best.
I travel to a lot of hotels but this hotel does it right. Has a large pool and it looks new.Lots of restaurants around and a new mall called the Sandhill Mall just 3 miles away.

Room Tip: 317 and 220 will take your breath away
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

I had to stay here for awhile for military training. The staff was great. I have stayed at some 4 to five star hotels and they were the best. I had to move rooms due to special needs person who needed it. No problem. They did everything they could to apologize and make me feel welcome. They upgraded me and help me move . The gentlemen who work the 1st shift and the night shift greeted you every time you came in or out. The manager was so nice and give me info about the place. They really show the military that they cared. Now the only bad side is the traffic. Turning onto the hotel street is a pain. Please tell the city to give a traffic arrow there. There are some great places around there. Your not to close but not to far. Good job holiday inn! Keep up the good work and dont let this posting go to waste

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladygirl-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I just returned from my trip and an overnight stay at this hotel. The floor in the room was wet between the bed and the bathroom and the room smelled sour. When reported to the front desk we were advised that maintenance would be notified but they never responded. We were also advised that we could switch rooms from a two bedroom to a one bedroom but that would not work for two guys visiting town after the game. The floor was wet enough that our shoes squeeked on the floor. Poor response from management and we got no more than a we're sorry when checking out. The hotel is starting to show it's age and there are a number of use related issues that need to be addressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Dan S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you liked our location. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was negatively affected by the staff service received. I will follow up with the staff to ensure similar incidents could be avoided in the future.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Last minute stay, was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. Free Wifi, nice little restaurant in the lobby, business center and pool. Room was clean, no complaints. Will definitely stay here again. The hotel staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MzMiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia I-20 / Clemson Road
1.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia Northeast-Fort Jackson Area
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#22 of 94 in Columbia
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road
Address: 1011 Clemson Frontage Rd, Columbia, SC 29229-6597
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#28 Business Hotel in Columbia
#28 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-20 at Clemson Frontage Road is a beautiful 65 room and suites hotel, located at exit 80 from I-20. We are the smart choice when staying in the Columbia, Fort Jackson, Elgin, and Camden areas. Business travelers look to our hotel to provide top-of-the-line amenities such as our fitness room with a great view of the pool, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and the Smart Start breakfast that travelers have come to know and love. Our manager's reception offering complimentary hors d oeuvres and drinks makes our guests feel at home. Mint Julep Restaurant is a new and exciting dining experience close to the hotel. The guest laundry facility offers convenience for all those travelers that are away from home. Leisure travelers will benefit from our hotel being the closest to the new Village at Sandhills deluxe shopping center and the Plex Indoor Sports Center, both located five minutes away. We are also less than ten minutes from Fort Jackson, and close to downtown Columbia and the University of South Carolina as well. We are proudly one of the first Columbia hotels to go 100% smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express i-20 At Clemson Road Hotel Columbia
Holiday Inn Express Columbia
Holiday Inn Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing