We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff very attenative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road
Ranked #30 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
1 review
“The staff very attenative”
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Hello everyone, I just wanted to say that our stay at this Hotel was awesome! The staff was so nice, friendly, polite, and very attenative to your needs. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I highly recommed this Hotel and we are planning to return real soon to the Columbia SC area.

R. Wallace
Philadelphia

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsThingphiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    30
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
41
13
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We were on our way to the Maters, in Augusta and decided to stay an hour out and save ourselves $200 so we would have more to spend on shirts and hats! The hotel was very nice with access to Hwy 20. I would not hesitate to to book a resevation. The rooms were very clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. After a 6 hour drive we decided to enjoy the free happy hour with a beer and wings before heading out to dinner. Nice touch. The breakfeast in the morning was more than a continental breakfeast which was a nice suprise. Then off to the Masters with qucik access to I20 west! Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairstown, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2008

I work for the federal government and have traveled all over the world over the past 30 years. I've stayed in the best and the worst. For a Holiday Inn Express, this is by far the best one I have stayed in. Its fairly new, clean, the hot and cold breakfast was great. The staff was friendly. About the only negative thing I could say is that the shower started to run low on hot water during the peak morning shower period. Other than that I would stay here again, no problem!

  • Liked — Clean, good breakfast, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Occasional lack of hot water in the morning.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fl89808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We can't fault this hotel. It's lovely! We stayed there last year on a trip from Atlanta to Charleston and decided to go back. What can I say, the hotel is beautiful and clean and all of the staff were so friendly. The delightful reception staff always had a few words and seemed genuinely interested in what we'd been doing that day and what our plans were without being over nosey and gave us lots of tips on where to eat and shop. There's a lovely small pool which they kindly opened up for us at 9am even though it didn't open until 10. The breakfast was extremely good. There was even a welcome reception from the manager of the hotel with drinks and nibbles. We have used many hotels in the USA and our party all agree that this one is a little gem and it was the cheapest hotel of the 6 we had booked for our stay and most certainly the best.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Over priced for the hotel condition. Worn furnishings,
Breakfast was so-so. Check in comments were "this hotel
sells out and we get $109. Hah, that is really overpriced
for its condition and ammenties. I paid $79 and I thought
it should have been $49. They would not honor the
internet rate for aarp. Part of the problem is that its privately owned, hence the higher than normal rates.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LarryN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2007

I needed a room for a quick overnight stay. Front desk staff very helpful. I booked the wrong day by mistake and the gentleman at the desk found me a room, even though they were nearly full. Clean hotel, breakfast selection was good, nothing spectacular. Clean rooms, nice bathrooms, overall a pleasant stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pecanpraline55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2007

In the past I've been generally well served by Holiday Inn Express hotels, but not here in Columbia. I was booked to stay for two weeks in the city, and actually moved to his hotel after a brief time at the Holiday Inn by the airport. I thought that first place was mediocre, but this Holiday Inn Express was just pathetic.

My reservation was made for a standard room with a king bed. When I arrived I was informed that that type of room was not available, and they placed me in a double queen bed room. The front desk staff was also very much less than welcoming during check in.

Initially I thought the place was fine, below average for the chain, but nothing outright terrible. The room itself showed a lot of age, there were distinct areas where the wall paper was beginning to peel free of the wall (not many, but enough to be easily noticeable). What shocked me was that there was no desk provided. Like a Super 8, your only available place to sit other than the bed was at a cheep circular wood table with two equally cheap wood dining room chairs. I have back problems, and for someone who on average will spend 1-3 hours completing e-mails and other reports at my laptop, this situation was excruciating.

Beyond that, I experienced the worst nights sleep of my life on their queen bed. I'm not one who is picky about hard or soft or things of that nature, but I was incredibly sore when I woke up the following morning. I stated one more evening, this with almost the exact same result, and then decided that I should find someplace else.

To be fair to the place, the bathroom areas were well cleaned, and a mini-refrigerator was in the room. However, I am again surprised that a business class establishment would skimp on something as fundamental as a proper work space. I do not expect anything fancy, but a complete omission on their part is indefensible.

I left the following morning and have absolutely no regrets. Plus, I might add that my back was fine at both the regular Holiday Inn (by the airport) and at the La Quinta I moved to, this despite them both having standard hotel quality beds.

  • Liked — The hotel lobby was nice enough.
  • Disliked — An incredibly poor quality room for the Holiday Inn Express chain.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tophat2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia I-20 / Clemson Road
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia North East
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Columbia I-26 at Harbison Boulevard
1.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#23 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road
Address: 1011 Clemson Frontage Rd, Columbia, SC 29229-6597
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#28 Family Hotel in Columbia
#28 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-20 at Clemson Frontage Road is a beautiful 65 room and suites hotel, located at exit 80 from I-20. We are the smart choice when staying in the Columbia, Fort Jackson, Elgin, and Camden areas. Business travelers look to our hotel to provide top-of-the-line amenities such as our fitness room with a great view of the pool, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet throughout the hotel, and the Smart Start breakfast that travelers have come to know and love. Our manager's reception offering complimentary hors d oeuvres and drinks makes our guests feel at home. Mint Julep Restaurant is a new and exciting dining experience close to the hotel. The guest laundry facility offers convenience for all those travelers that are away from home. Leisure travelers will benefit from our hotel being the closest to the new Village at Sandhills deluxe shopping center and the Plex Indoor Sports Center, both located five minutes away. We are also less than ten minutes from Fort Jackson, and close to downtown Columbia and the University of South Carolina as well. We are proudly one of the first Columbia hotels to go 100% smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express I-20 at Clemson Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express i-20 At Clemson Road Hotel Columbia
Holiday Inn Express Columbia
Holiday Inn Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing