We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always satisfied!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cellar on Greene

Cellar on Greene
Ranked #25 of 968 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always satisfied!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

My mom and I eat here every couple months and we are never disappointed! Usually we like to try new restaurants when we go out, but we keep coming back to Cellar on the Greene. Whenever we take the first bite of a dish, the response is "hmmmmmmmmm". I highly recommend this restaurant!!

Helpful?
Thank mandu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    20
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wine lover's dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

The staff is knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The wine selection is great. Their $19 three course dinner is amazing!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great wine bar and wine shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The wine here is excellent, of course, because they are pouring from their store! They have a great selection! Make it out for one of their Saturday 12-2 big tastings and you will surely leave drunk and with a case or two of wine. All in the best way possible.

I've eaten here on a few occasions as well and the food was tasty and inventive, beautifully presented and the service was great. I would definitely reccomend going one night and grabbing a $19 three course menu! This is the same owners as Solstice, so you are getting similar food at cheaper price.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silverinc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great wine bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Had the $19.00 three course meal and it was very, very good. Don't miss the Tuna nachos.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I had dinner at Cellar on the Greene in Columbia, SC in July 2011. The place was running a special which included a 3 course meal for 19.00! They had an excellent wine selection and the food was incredible. Every course was HUGE and they didn't skimp on any of the fresh ingredients. We were expecting some tiny portions of left-overs from the day before, but they really provided a nice spread for such a low price. Service was excellent and the surroundings were funky and fun. We will return!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cellar on Greene also viewed

 

Been to Cellar on Greene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing