We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for sure !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stay here for sure !!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

One of best locations in town. Big rooms. Near REALLY great restaurants and nightlife (see review on Motor Supply). Here from Kentucky on college visit to Univ of So Carolina. Great time. Would be delighted to return here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Truman1,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay as well as our great city of Columbia. The Motor Supply is a fantastic resteraunt and I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of trying it out. I hope your visit to the University was a great one and if you do decide to come back to visit us, we hope tha we can asisst. We look forward to serving you again in the future and if my staff or I can do anything for you, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

803-231-2000 (Hotel)
803-744-3321 (Direct)
803-231-2868 (Fax)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    212
    66
    17
    8
See reviews for
236
168
52
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Have stayed here quite a but this summer working on a huge project at USC.

This place is great! Its clean, friendly staff and Liberty Tap Room next door has fantastic food! They even deliver room service to your room and will bill your room, it was perfect for those late work days! I stayed at this hotel 4 times ranging from 2-5 days. Each visit was so pleasant. The free breakfast is very good, lots of options hot and cold. Fresh fruit, oatmeal, eggs, waffles, bagels and muffns. Plus they offer on the run breakfast bags if you dont have time to waste. Those are yummy too!

Room Tip: &MsAsk for the 5th floor! Free M and Skittles! Yum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank partyof6mcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear partyof6mcs,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for your recent review of our hotel! We thank you for your repeat business and glad that you enjoy our hotel. We love to have return guests and try to make this as close to a home away from home as we can. The addition of the room service option from Liberty is a new addition and w are glad to hear that our guests like it. We try to take the headache and hassel away as much as we can. We are always trying to inovate our breakfast options and love to hear that we are adding things that our guests appreciate. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit and will try to get you on the 5th floor again so you can enjoy the treats again. If my staff or I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

803-231-2000 (Hotel)
803-744-3321 (Direct)
803-231-2868 (Fax)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed here in early August 2012 for a quick business trip. It was clean, affordable and very well situated - in the Vista, walking distance to lots of great restaurants and across the street from Starbucks. Easy, free parking too. Room was immaculate and breakfast was decent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear susanjb,

Thank you for your most recent review, we love to hear from our guests! We strive to ensure that each and everyone of our guests leave our hotel 100% satisfied and hope that we can serve you again in the future. Our Historic Vista area is full of great choices of resteraunts and attractions within walking distance and great for the buisness traveler. If my staff or I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

803-231-2000 (Hotel)
803-744-3321 (Direct)
803-231-2868 (Fax)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I was in Columbia for 4 days by myself on business. This hotel was perfect.

It's in a great location: several restaurants in walking distance. Since I was by myself, and I didn't feel like going out to dinner alone, I ordered takeout from the restaurant next door (Liberty Tap Room) every night. Food was very good.

The hotel is clean and well-maintained. The bed was very comfortable. The shower was good.

The free breakfast was surprisingly good. I was expecting cold muffins and boxes of cereal. They have that if you like it, but they also have a waffle iron and three hot items that change every day (usually some type of eggs, some type of breakfast meat, and another item like french toast or pancakes). And it was actually good! Breakfast is served in the lobby, where there are ample tables and chairs, plus a huge flat-screen TV showing the news.

Parking was very convenient. A number of reviewers have complained that the lot filled up. I didn't have a problem, but I was only there Sunday-Thursday. I could see it being an issue on weekends. There are signs all over the lot that say anyone without a Hampton Inn guest pass will be towed, but I don't know if that's enforced.

I will definitely stay at a Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starryrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear starryrach,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! One of our many points that our staff take pride in is ensuring the cleanliness of our hotel and our guest rooms. We also know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and want to make sure that all of our guests get leave with a fresh start on the day with our breakfast. We hope that we can serve you again on future business trips.

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

803-231-2000 (Hotel)
803-744-3321 (Direct)
803-231-2868 (Fax)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I can't believe that I didn't have time to write this review earlier. I was in Columbia to visit USC with my daughter. The hotel was very nice, clean and in a great location. The check-in was very fast - too fast for my daughter that was eating all the cookies on the counter! The staff couldn't be friendlier; we needed options to where to eat and they recommended a very nice restaurant in the area. We spent some quality time together at the Vista area. My daughter decided for USC, so now we know where to stay when coming to visit her.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank social g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear social g,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for your recent review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Congratulations to your daughter and her enrollment into USC, we are happy to hear we have a new Gamecock! Our staff takes pride on their extensive knowledge of the area and we cannot wait to have you back so that we can share some more of the Vista's gem's with you. If my staff or I can assist you in the future with accomodations, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Go Gamecocks,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

803-231-2000 (Hotel)
803-744-3321 (Direct)
803-231-2868 (Fax)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hotel is clean and managed well. We were in town for USC visit and staff was very accommodating with late check out request. Even put a 'do not disturb' tag on our door for maid. Breakfast very good. Many places within walking distance to eat. Very quiet hotel, slept well.:)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cargen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear cargen16,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope that your visit to USC was a fruitful one and we hope to serve you again. The HIstoric Vista area has many choices for dining and attractions; the next time you find yourself in town, we hope that you will stay with us again. Stop by our front desk and speak with one of our knowledgable associates about all that the Vista has to offer. If my staff or I can be of any assistance on future visits, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

803-231-2000 (Hotel)
803-744-3321 (Direct)
803-231-2868 (Fax)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at the Hampton to attend a wedding downtown. Check in was easy, and the lobby had cookies on the counter as well as coffee and tea. We had a room on the 5th floor with a king bed and whirlpool tub. The room was comfortably furnished and we had a wonderful view. Everything was clean and I especially liked the white duvets they have at Hampton because you know that it is clean.
There was a variety of breakfast foods and a nice area to eat.
If you are unfamiliar with this area, the parking lot is not on Gervais, but along the nearest side street. There are many bars and restaurants on Gervais. (It is across the street from Blue marlin, which is a terrific restaurant.
This place seemed more expensive than the average Hampton, but it is in a popular area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor on the back of Gervais have a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcross888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear hcross888,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you personally for your recent review of our hotel. We strive to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied and love to hear so when we do. We hope that the next time you find yourself in the Columbia area we can serve you again. If my staff or I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

803-231-2000 (Hotel)
803-744-3321 (Direct)
803-231-2868 (Fax)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing