We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business conference travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This property is conveniently located adjacent to the convention center. Hot breakfast is included and changes slightly daily. Apples and coffee available all day and cookies in the afternoon a plus! Only negative is pricey uncovered parking and hotel front opening to gated parking lot -- awkward for pedestrians. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear David G.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. Being a "stone's throw away" from the convention center is a great perk of the hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our daily breakfast that gives a little variety each morning, and nothing beats coming back from work to a fresh hot cookie. Please understand that while parking does cost it is the only way that we are able to provide a secure parking area for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic Distric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very nice hotel and reasonably priced in the "Vista" end of town. Nice restaurants right next door to the hotel and if the weather is nice, 15 minute walk to the Horseshoe. Breakfast was good and the reception staff seemed knowledgable and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear John G,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I am glad that we were able to be your home while touring the University of South Carolina. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and evening reception. Our staff takes pride in being "Local Area Experts" so it's excellent that you found them knowledgeable and efficient in assisting you.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia (maybe the next 4 years)!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic Distric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hotel location is great. breakfast not so hot. Traffic noise on street side rooms can be disturbing. Numerous restaurants within walking distance. this post must have 200 characters so I am writing this to meet that minimum. Kind of a stupid requirement but hey who am I to question a computer?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Codysos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Codysos,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I hate that our breakfast was not above your expectation. We are in the works "tweaking" a couple of items so on your next visit we hope that you find exactly what you need to start your day off. Being in the heart of the Vista is great because you are steps from a multitude of attractions, but that also does keep us near the downtown traffic as well. On your next visit we could try to get you to a higher floor or a room that faces our pool away from the hustle and bustle of Gervais Street.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic Distric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

If you are staying in Columbia for work or pleasure this is a great hotel. It is right in the middle of the historic distric, lots of places to eat near by. The staff are very helpful and kind. It is very clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Cynthia B,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I agree 100% that we are a great hotel in the greatest part in Columbia. Thank you for you kind words.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic Distric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We come in from the suburbs of Columbia, to spend the night. No need to drive home after a wonderful evening in the Vista. The Hampton Inn is the perfect location to get anywhere in the Vista. The rooms are well appointed and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SQfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear SQfromSC,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We are glad that we could be your home away from home for your "Vista" getaway.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic Distric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Hampton is exceptional is every way -- extremely clean inside and out, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast out of sight, and the rooms beautiful! The proximity to the Vista is an added plus. I would strongly recommend staying at this Hampton. My experience was exceptional!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Sandra F.

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I am glad to see that our service stood out to you and thank you for giving us your recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic Distric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This motel was convenient to all the Dinning and Entertainment venues of the Vista area in the heart of Columbia....I would recommend this Motel to anyone for business or pleasure while in the Columbia,S.C. area..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Michael M,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I am glad to see you loved the convenience that our hotel offers and thank you for giving us your recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#21 of 93 in Columbia
592 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £88 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing