We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for downtown business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is easy to get to. The staff was really nice. The evening snacks and drinks were great. The room was large and well appointed. The hot breakfast was great. Can't getuch better than that. Part of the Hilton Honors program too for frequent travelers.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Playright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Playright.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I am glad that you found our hotel easy to find and that you were able to enjoy all of our extras. Thanks for posting the great pictures so future guests can see what we have to offer.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great location downtown with easy walk to fun restaurants and bars. Nice hotel, great staff. No issues with my stay, and I will use this hotel again on future trips to the area for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Scott L.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. The Vista is a wonderful location full of bars and restaurants that are an easy walk from the hotel, which is a plus!! Glad to see that your stay was enjoyable and it's wonderful to know we will be seeing you again.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel charges for everything. When you check in, and everything else os booked, they charge you $12.00 to park you car. HOW RUDE!!!! Additionally, when you complain, they say, oh well! The Hilton around the corner is much better.

Room Tip: dont come here
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Frank P.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I hate to see that your experience was not above your expectations. We do charge for parking to ensure a safe and secure area for our guests, but we also offer free wireless internet, free hot breakfast, a Monday - Thursday complimentary Evening Reception, and don't forget the hot cookies waiting for you every evening. I hate that our staffs' hospitality didn't shine and if your travels bring you back to the Columbia area please feel free to contact me at the given number below, and I will personally assist you with your reservation needs.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
(803) 231-2000
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Not sure why this has to be 200 characters. But here you go. Now charging for parking my affect my decision to stay at this hotel in the future. I have always stayed at this location when I had business at the University of South Carolin

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Terri L.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I hate to hear that our parking charges change your opinion of our hotel. I hope that the advantages of location, free wi-fi and hot breakfast out weigh the cost of parking.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is my 3rd time staying at the hotel and I like everything about it. It is within walking distance of many restaurants. The rooms are quiet and the air is always perfectly set. I like to stay at the Hampton Inns because they offer everything I need to have a pleasant trip. They beds are very comfortable and it is almost like sleeping at home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Anne C.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We love to see returning guests and we are glad you feel at home when staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This property is conveniently located adjacent to the convention center. Hot breakfast is included and changes slightly daily. Apples and coffee available all day and cookies in the afternoon a plus! Only negative is pricey uncovered parking and hotel front opening to gated parking lot -- awkward for pedestrians. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear David G.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. Being a "stone's throw away" from the convention center is a great perk of the hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our daily breakfast that gives a little variety each morning, and nothing beats coming back from work to a fresh hot cookie. Please understand that while parking does cost it is the only way that we are able to provide a secure parking area for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic Distric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very nice hotel and reasonably priced in the "Vista" end of town. Nice restaurants right next door to the hotel and if the weather is nice, 15 minute walk to the Horseshoe. Breakfast was good and the reception staff seemed knowledgable and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear John G,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I wanted to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I am glad that we were able to be your home while touring the University of South Carolina. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and evening reception. Our staff takes pride in being "Local Area Experts" so it's excellent that you found them knowledgeable and efficient in assisting you.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia (maybe the next 4 years)!!

Sincerely,

Taylor Johnson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic Distric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £106 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing