We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Nearby Hotels
US$100
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$56
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$64
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
620
231
71
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
231
71
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationconvention centerwithin walking distanceblue marlingervais streetrestaurants and barsstate housevista areaparking lotcolonial life arenahotel is locatedusc campusstaff was friendlygreat place to staycomplimentary breakfastbusiness tripclean hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
691 - 696 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I am currently sitting in my room, getting ready to check out after my anniversary weekend spent in downtown Columbia. Went to the state museum, a college baseball game, a college basketball game, and ate some of the best food I have had in a very long time. All of this within walking distance of the hotel property. We haven't had the need to use our car all weekend. All of the staff from the front desk,to their housekeeping, right down to Allen with the maintenance department have gone out of their way to make sure that our weekend was perfect. The owners and management should be extremely proud of the staff they have assembled. They are as good as it gets. This hotel is a great value, made even better by "their team" of professionals. I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone needing to stay in downtown.

Room Tip: There are many restaurants within a 2-3 block walk from the property. I strongly recommend the Italian restaurant across the street, Ristorante Divino. The best Italian food I have had in 15 years.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Carolina Mike,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our staff and have passed along your compliments to them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Many name brand hotels that I've stayed in were very beat up, not this one. Very nice room in great shape with a big tv and free internet. Walk to dozens of restaurants/bars including the Flying Saucer. Safe fun area of town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Christopher G.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, our location really can't be beat! Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

You can't ask for a better hotel location in Columbia. Convenient to shops and restaurants in the Vista, near downtown businesses and The State House and of course, close to the USC campus. You can walk out of the hotel's front door and eat, drink and be merry within a mere block. How can you beat that?

Other positives:
Staff is very friendly
Parking is easy, convenient and well lit
Bathrooms are clean and nice Neutrogena products

The rest is so-so. As soon as you walk off the elevator and down the hall towards your room you are blown away by the smell of bleach. The good news is that you know they're focused on cleaning. The bad news is that the bleach smell is overpowering.

Bed is comfortable, but the pillows are really tiny and squishy and the reek of bleach :(

We've stayed here several times and this is the first time the bleach has been noticeable. Hopefully they'll dial it back a bit in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear SandBAtlanta,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, our location really can't be beat! We will definitely work to reduce the smell of bleach and we deeply apologize that it effected your trip. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The property has an excellent location in the Vista. The hotel is close to great bars and restaurants and serves the area well. The front desk staff were not very friendly or helpful but the check-in was relatively painless. The hotel room was very clean and very serviceable. The hotel common areas are very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was consistent with the Hampton breakfast. Easy parking and very convenient. Although we were a bit concerned that we had to pay $12 for parking but the lot was not secured and anyone could enter without paying.

The price can be a bit steep due to location but overall this property is worth it if you are doing something in the Vista or attending a concert at the arena. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Brian V.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We have noted your concerns about our parking lot and deeply apologize that the parking gate was not in operation during your stay. We have repaired our parking gate to secure our lot and have 24 hour video surveillance on the lot and exterior areas of the building. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great location. Walking distance of great food and entertainment. I felt safe in and around the hotel. Don't expect a lot from the staff though. They are not rude, just don't seem to know you are there. HHonors Member don't be disappointed if you are not recognized.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ronnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Brian V.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. I deeply apologize for the lack of enthusiasm you experienced from our front desk staff. That kind of experience is not anywhere near our standard of excellence and we will make sure this does not happen again in the future. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews