We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites(Columbia)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveller rating
637
236
75
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
236
75
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationconvention centerwithin walking distanceblue marlingervais streetrestaurants and barsstate housevista arearooms are cleanparking lotcolonial life arenahotel is locatedusc campusstaff was friendlygreat place to staycomplimentary breakfastbusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
713 - 718 of 977 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Enjoyed my stay here for a conference. Room was clean and quiet and beds were soft. Breakfast was nice each morning! Loved that there is fresh coffee in the lobby all day long. The managers reception is nice each evening as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Mica B,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our breakfast and try to keep our Manager's Reception, which occurs nightly Monday through Thursday, fresh and fun. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We love staying in the historic district in Columbia and this hotel is within walking distance to our favorite restaurants. Plus, we love the local antique shops! We have returned at least 5 times and will certainly return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Celadon906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Celadon906,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, our location really can't be beat! Thank you so much for staying with us so frequently and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed overnight here one night. My husband was attending an event at the convention center which is in walking distance. The hotel was very nice and very clean. Your typical Hampton with good service and what you would expect. We were on the 5th floor which was also very quiet. Not much shopping in the area. There is a huge antique market and several furniture stores. A Starbucks right across the street. We ate at Blue Marlin which was across the street and had a great dinner. I would suggest making a reservation. There is also a great tapas restaurant down the street, but we did not make it there. Plenty of bars and restaurants around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Hiltonheadgolfgirl,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, our location really can't be beat! Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We joined two other couples at this hotel for the weekend, in association with an event at the Colonial Life Arena. We parked our cars and didn't move them until we checked out. Everything we needed or wanted was within walking distance.

The hotel is very well maintained and the staff is friendly and efficient. We got a room with a sitting area so we had room to visit with our friends. The room included a refrigerator, microwave and a large flat screen TV. It was quite comfortable and well appointed.

We were within easy walking distance of the State House (interesting history), shopping, many restaurants, ice cream shops, candy stores, bars, museums, as well as the arena. There were plenty of interesting places to explore.

The hotel's parking lot is to the rear of the hotel and there's a daily $12 charge, but that seems common for most downtown hotels and it's not unreasonable.

The complimentary breakfast is quite adequate. It's not gourmet, but it beats spending $20 for something comparable. It included fruit, cereal, omelette (undoubtedly not made on site), sausage, waffles, pastries, coffee, juices, etc.

Other than the breakfast, there is no restaurant in the hotel. There are many just a few yards away, though.

The city and state have a wide array of taxes they add to the base room cost, so just be aware that the room rate is somewhat lower than what you'll actually pay.

We would definitely choose this hotel for our next trip to Columbia.

Room Tip: This is only a four-story hotel, but I would request a room away from the elevators and the ice machines.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littletm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Littletm,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! Our centrally located hotel in the Vista has over 50 bars, shops and restaurants within walking distance, which as you pointed out, is a great benefit of staying at our property. Thank you so much being our guest and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I am currently sitting in my room, getting ready to check out after my anniversary weekend spent in downtown Columbia. Went to the state museum, a college baseball game, a college basketball game, and ate some of the best food I have had in a very long time. All of this within walking distance of the hotel property. We haven't had the need to use our car all weekend. All of the staff from the front desk,to their housekeeping, right down to Allen with the maintenance department have gone out of their way to make sure that our weekend was perfect. The owners and management should be extremely proud of the staff they have assembled. They are as good as it gets. This hotel is a great value, made even better by "their team" of professionals. I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone needing to stay in downtown.

Room Tip: There are many restaurants within a 2-3 block walk from the property. I strongly recommend the Italian restaurant across the street, Ristorante Divino. The best Italian food I have had in 15 years.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Carolina Mike,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our staff and have passed along your compliments to them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews