We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come for the Location, Stay for the People” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, United States
1 review
“Come for the Location, Stay for the People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The employees of this hotel make it amazing. The property is nice and the location is superior, but the EMPLOYEES make it my hotel of choice when in Columbia. I travel weekly and have never stayed at a hotel that is this consistent with their customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Kevin G F,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our staff and have passed along your compliments to them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    196
    63
    17
    8
See reviews for
215
157
48
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

There are better Columbia area hotels out there, with newer facilities, but none are located any better than the Hampton Inn downtown. Not that it's a dump - it's nice, clean, and updated. My one complaint about it was that our room was on the first floor next to the work out room, and the wall started thumping about 6 every morning as people ran on the treadmill. I would definitely request to stay far away from the gym!

Room Tip: Stay far away from the exercise room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Emilyrenae,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear about your experience with noise near our exercise facility, this is the first time we have had a complaint about that room and we will do our best to research the situation to see what we can do to improve. Our centrally located hotel in the Vista has over 50 bars, shops and restaurants within walking distance, which as you pointed out, is a great benefit of staying at our property. Thank you so much being our guest and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hotel location is the best - locate in a heart of all restaurants and entertainment - walking distance is a big plus. Hotel is very clean and well keep. The room and bathroom is very clean. The fitness center has free weight but not well equipped as compare to Hilton standard fitness. Overall I really enjoy my stay and def come back next year for another 3 weeks stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Hung Viet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Hung Viet N,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our staff and have passed along your compliments to them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here to attend the Masters because rates in Augusta were ridiculous. The drive with traffic was 1 1/2 hours. This hotel is very nice, well taken care of, and in a safe location. Good restaurants are within a stone's throw of the hotel. I only had time to grab a doughnut from the breakfast buffet (Krispy Kreme, not cheap ones), but the buffet looked very good. Room and beds were comfortable, clean and quiet. My room didn't have a microwave or fridge as most Hampton's do. Not a big deal to me, but I had expected it since I was staying at a Hampton. Parking was $12/day. Great hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Hugh G.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our breakfast and try to keep it fresh and fun. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you next year when you return for the Master's!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Walking distance to restaurants for dinner, parking was not obvious but the room was fabulous and the staff. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean and quiet, overlooking small courtyard. lobby was large and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank franciscoj392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Franciscoj392,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! Our centrally located hotel in the Vista has over 50 bars, shops and restaurants within walking distance, which as you pointed out, is a great benefit of staying at our property. Thank you so much being our guest and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel is great! Rooms are nice, clean and toiletries are some of the best. Breakfast is also very good, with enough choices and seating. The breakfast attendant is cheerful and helpful. Parking, on the other hand, is inadequate. On both nights of our stay, we returned late from our conference at another hotel. We had to go to the desk and ask them where we could park, as the lot was completely full, with much double parking. The first night, I was asked to double park. The second night, I was finally, after about thirty minutes, told to park in a handicapped spot. There were two other vehicles also awaiting parking instructions. The arm for the parking lot worked improperly, so I think that anyone going to many of the bars in the Vista were probably parking there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Gail N.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear about your recent experience with our parking lot, that kind of situation is not typical of our Hampton. We have made arrangements with the local business' around our property for overflow parking to prevent this situation from happening again and have since fixed our parking gate so that it operates properly. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We came to Columbia to go to a play at the Kroger center & we could park our car & walk everywhere. We had dinner in an excellent Italian restaurant right across the street. The gentleman who checked us in couldn't have been more helpful!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank kisha r p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Kisha R P,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! Our centrally located hotel in the Vista has over 50 bars, shops and restaurants within walking distance, which as you pointed out, is a great benefit of staying at our property. Thank you so much being our guest and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Address: 822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to the southern charm of the past in the historic district of Columbia. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, and most major museums. Get a feel for the past by browsing the specialty shops and restaurants just outside our door in the Historic District, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to natural wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Ask the team at our Columbia hotel for more ideas on all of the incredible sights of this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing