We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and friendliest staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at this hapton Inn at the recommendation of a friend. He was right there is no better location in Columbia. The staff is great and the rooms are perfect for my business trip. They offered a great breakfast and it is convient to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear John R.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! Our centrally located hotel in the Vista has over 50 bars, shops and restaurants within walking distance, which as you pointed out, is a great benefit of staying at our property. Thank you so much being our guest and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast is wonderful and a great amenity! The hotel is in the perfect location in downtown Columbia, close to everything yet still quiet in the rooms. Will definitely stay here next time I am in Columbia!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliemarie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Juliemarie23,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our staff and have passed along your compliments to them. We are also glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast; we have been working with local partners to provide more unique and delicious options. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The employees of this hotel make it amazing. The property is nice and the location is superior, but the EMPLOYEES make it my hotel of choice when in Columbia. I travel weekly and have never stayed at a hotel that is this consistent with their customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kevin G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Kevin G F,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our staff and have passed along your compliments to them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

There are better Columbia area hotels out there, with newer facilities, but none are located any better than the Hampton Inn downtown. Not that it's a dump - it's nice, clean, and updated. My one complaint about it was that our room was on the first floor next to the work out room, and the wall started thumping about 6 every morning as people ran on the treadmill. I would definitely request to stay far away from the gym!

Room Tip: Stay far away from the exercise room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilyrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Emilyrenae,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear about your experience with noise near our exercise facility, this is the first time we have had a complaint about that room and we will do our best to research the situation to see what we can do to improve. Our centrally located hotel in the Vista has over 50 bars, shops and restaurants within walking distance, which as you pointed out, is a great benefit of staying at our property. Thank you so much being our guest and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hotel location is the best - locate in a heart of all restaurants and entertainment - walking distance is a big plus. Hotel is very clean and well keep. The room and bathroom is very clean. The fitness center has free weight but not well equipped as compare to Hilton standard fitness. Overall I really enjoy my stay and def come back next year for another 3 weeks stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Hung Viet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Hung Viet N,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our staff and have passed along your compliments to them. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here to attend the Masters because rates in Augusta were ridiculous. The drive with traffic was 1 1/2 hours. This hotel is very nice, well taken care of, and in a safe location. Good restaurants are within a stone's throw of the hotel. I only had time to grab a doughnut from the breakfast buffet (Krispy Kreme, not cheap ones), but the buffet looked very good. Room and beds were comfortable, clean and quiet. My room didn't have a microwave or fridge as most Hampton's do. Not a big deal to me, but I had expected it since I was staying at a Hampton. Parking was $12/day. Great hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Hugh G.,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, we are very proud of our breakfast and try to keep it fresh and fun. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you next year when you return for the Master's!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Walking distance to restaurants for dinner, parking was not obvious but the room was fabulous and the staff. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean and quiet, overlooking small courtyard. lobby was large and accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank franciscoj392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanyL-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Franciscoj392,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here! Our centrally located hotel in the Vista has over 50 bars, shops and restaurants within walking distance, which as you pointed out, is a great benefit of staying at our property. Thank you so much being our guest and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Columbia!

Sincerely,

Stefany Lenhart
S.lenhart@hospitalityamerica.com
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Columbia-Downtown Historic District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £106 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing