We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid-no surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is everything that you would expect from a Hampton Inn. Location is good for the city and dining. The location is convenient to the capitol and Univ of SC. Many solid dining choices within walking distance. Parking lot is tight if you are driving a bigger car.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Craig H.,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Columbia! We appreciate your kind comments and feedback about our property and its convenient location. We're glad that you were able to enjoy some of the surrounding restaurants and nightlife in the Vista area. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Sincerely,

Casey Dornhecker
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Casey.Dornhecker@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We got a room on a floor under construction. Upon check-in, we were asked to "disregard the carpet." Turns out, there was much more going on than just ripped-up carpet. The entire floor was under intense construction and ours and one other were the only habitable rooms. There was a strong smell of sheetrock dust and paint the air, and construction began bright and early the next morning. Not the best experience. However, the drink desk staff upon check out went above and beyond to compensate us for the inconvenience. I'm sure once renovations are done, this Hampton Inn will be back up to its expected 5 star reviews.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BadLlama17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear clcl11,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you stopped in Columbia and stayed with us; we are very proud of our staff and am glad to hear they were accommodating to you.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hampton Inn post renovation!

Sincerely,

Casey Dornhecker
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Casey.Dornhecker@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Everyone was wonderful and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel for convenience too. Check in and check out were fast and no-hassle. We needed several items we didn't bring along and they had them for us free of charge. Great place to stay! Thanks too all the nice folks at the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank 998ileneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about the Hampton Inn- Historic District! We are pleased that you enjoyed our in-room amenities. We strive to make everyone feel like they are at home when they stay with us! Thank you again for your awesome review and recommendation. Come back and visit us soon!

Best Wishes,

Brittany Begley
Guest Service Representative
Hampton Inn- Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My family came down to Columbia for my brother's wedding. All of the festivities were in and around the Vista area that the hotel is located. It was very convenient to everything (Starbucks, Jason's Deli and several other bars and restaurants across the street and within walking distance). The parking was easy, staff was friendly and accommodating, room was clean, pool was clean and easy to access (although could have used a bit more shade), and internet was easily accessible and fast. We spent a lot of time visiting with friends and family in the lobby during the day and after the wedding. There was always complementary coffee/tea down there as well as fresh fruit (apples and bananas) and water. Overall, this was a great location for what we needed this weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Rebecca F,
The entire team from, the Hampton Inn in the Historic District, would like to thank you for your kind comments. Our staff was elated to hear that they were able to go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. Also we are happy you were able to enjoy some of our surrounding businesses and attractions. It was a pleasure having you stay at our property, and we look forward to seeing you again!!!

Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed at this property on several occasions and have never been disappointed. It is a perfect place to stay if you are going to a concert at the Colonial Life Arena. They have parking ($12 and well worth it!) and are only a few blocks away - an easy walk. It was so great not to be stuck in all of the traffic before and after the show. The room was very clean and staff very friendly. Breakfast is the standard fare and they were still keeping it replenished up until the last minutes of breakfast. Plenty of other restaurants and bars all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments about the Hampton Inn! We love that our property is only a couple blocks from the Colonial Life Arena. It makes it easy for our guests to walk to the concert and walk back to the nightlife of the Vista. Our breakfast is something we take pride in and we are so happy that you enjoyed it! We hope to see you back at the Hampton Inn- Historic District in Columbia, South Carolina.


Best Regards,
Brittany Begley
Guest Services Representative
Hampton Inn Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Perfect location in Columbia SC. Just about anything we wanted to do was in walking distance.. I really like the fact that hot coffee and hot water and an assortment of tea bags were available all the time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Donna L,
Thank you so much for your comments on the Hampton Inn Columbia Historic District. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our location, location, location!!!! We love our location as well. We are pleased to have hot coffee and tea twenty four hours a day for our guests. Please come see us again very soon and have a great day!!!

Sincerely,

Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location for walking to a variety of places for dinner and/or drinks.

I also enjoyed a few beers at the hotel happy hour. The breakfast choices were typical for any Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: I've stayed here several times and typically just have a shower. This time, I was in room 427 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Katie B,

Everyone at the Hampton Inn in downtown Columbia, would like to thank you for your gracious comments. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the vista in Columbia. Our location gives all of our guests’ the option to walk to over 50 bars and restaurants. Also we are glad to hear you enjoyed our manager’s reception. From the free beer and wine, to the free appetizers, we hope that our guests can enjoy a light meal in the convenience of our lobby for manager’s reception. Thank you again for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again at the Hampton Inn in downtown Columbia.

Allan Galatolo
GSR
Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia
822 Gervais Street, Columbia SC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
936 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#23 of 93 in Columbia
594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £84 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing