We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Matthews
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Center of the Vista, great location, walking distance to everything. Staff was excellent. Remodeling was taking place so there was some noise during the day but this will make it a lot nicer when complete. Breakfast was good but need a different brand of sausage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank sjeffcoat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Sjeffcoat56,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District. We are so happy to hear about how much you enjoyed our staff and location. We agree that our staff and location is "Great!!!!" We are going through renovations at the moment and will have a fresh no look for you all very soon. If you ever need anything please do not hesitate to call us. Have a great day and we hope to see you again soon!!!

Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    212
    66
    17
    8
See reviews for
235
168
52
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

One of my favorite hotels in the area.

The beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of space.

The staff has always been very friendly and helpful.

Location is great. You can walk to restaurants, bars, shops, and area attractions.

I certainly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Carolyn R,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs.We are so pleased to hear that our property is one of your favorites! Our staff will enjoy hearing that they were helpful during your stay! Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendation on TripAdvisor. Come back and visit with us soon!


Best Regards,
Brittany Begley
Guest Service Representative
Hampton Inn- Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneida, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have stayed at this Hampton Inn numerous times. The staff is excellent. When we stayed this week, we requested a room away from the renovation areas. We were provided with a room on the fifth floor which had been renovated. However, the room right below ours was currently being worked on. When I mentioned this to the manager, Dwight, he was very apologetic. When we received our bill, Dwight had removed one of our night's lodging from the bill.
The location is perfect in Columbia. Their are excellent restaurants all around. The SC State House is right down Gervais and has gorgeous gardens. The tour of the state house is worth viewing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Elizabeth K,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We love our downtown location and I am so glad that Dwight was able to take care of you during your stay! We strive to make every stay feel like it is home away from home. I am so glad you were able to enjoy our surrounding restaurants along with our State House. It really is a beautiful area! Thank you again for your kind words on TripAdvisor! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Wishes,

Casey Dornhecker
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn -Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, NC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

An exceptional facility with especially exceptional staff and very convenient to the University of South Carolina. The Liberty Tap Room & Bar, in a space adjacent to the hotel, was an added convenience with good food and very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear John C,
Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments about the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District. We are glad to hear about your stay and how much you enjoyed our "exceptional" property. We agree that our location and staff make it the number one choice in Columbia, South Carolina. Please come back and see us again real soon and we assure you that you will be met with the same friendly smiles as your most recent stay. Have a great day!!
Sincerely,

Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackshear, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

All the best eating places are within a couple of miles, many within easy walking distance. Starbuck's is located just across the street...but you may not need it because Hampton Inn coffee is amazing! While I was there I visited my daughter and enjoyed shopping places like Target, World Market, and Trader Joe's...all of which were just a short drive. I really can't wait to go back; and I always enjoy staying in this clean, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank THAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear THAbel,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We love our downtown location and we are so glad you were able to enjoy all of the restaurants and shops! We strive to make every stay feel like it is home away from home. Thank you again for your kind words on TripAdvisor! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us, come back soon!

Best Wishes,

Brittany Begley
Guest Service Representative
Hampton Inn -Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, Sc 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hampton Inn was clean, reasonably priced, excellent breakfast, and in the middle of the Vista area. The employees were very courteous, the lobby and room were very clean, and the room was surprisingly large.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Hope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Hope S,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us positive feedback on TripAdvisor. We are so happy you were able to enjoy the location of hotel, in the heart of the Vista. It was a such pleasure having you stay at our property! We look forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards,
Brittany Begley
Guest Services Representative
Hampton Inn- Historic District
Columbia, SC 29201
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We just stayed here for the second time and we love the location, the price, and the helpfulness of the staff. We were 3 floors below the construction but could still hear tapping for a couple hrs. at the end of the workday. Hard to stay in a hotel during construction especially in a small hotel. It is a cute small hotel and they offer lots of perks like breakfast, afternoon cookies, fruit and then great food from 6-7 that area restaurants send over. There are great restaurants across the street and within a few blocks there are many more! And a short walk up the street lands you in front of the beautiful State Capital Building. And close to campus too. We will stay here many times over the next 4 years.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear shirmy,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you have chosen to repeatedly stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to a renovated Hampton Inn!

Thanks,

Casey Dornhecker
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Casey.Dornhecker@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing