We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed overnight so we could visit the Museum of S. C. The hotel was very convenient and easy to find. The room was comfortable and clean, but the air conditioner was very loud. The pool was not open during our visit, so that was disappointing. Overall it was a good experience and I would recommend this hotel. Be aware you will pay for parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Kristin S,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District. We enjoy the fact that you loved our location and we agree that the Vista area is the premier place to stay in Columbia, SC. We are sorry to hear that the pool was closed during your stay. As you know the summer is a high demand for the pool and we have to keep it in tip top shape for you all. We hope that this does not happen again and hopefully on your next stay you are free to dive in. We would love to see you again very soon and thank you for choosing upon your travels to Columbia!!!

Sincerely,
Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were hoping to find a Hampton Inn & voila, there it was, in the most perfect location in the historic district. It was nice to park the car at the hotel & be able to walk around the area, even to the State Capitol! Starbucks is across the street & a great selection of restaurants to choose from. The staff at the hotel was so friendly & helpful. Was pleasantly surprised in the morning to a buffet breakfast that was delicious & with so many choices, we enjoyed while watching the morning news. The bedding is very cozy & had a peaceful nights sleep. We noticed the little extras that the hotel provides: night light in the bathroom, bottled water, fresh baked cookies, variety of newspapers, free WIFI & apples! I know, sort of corny, but it is the small stuff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Trisha N,

The entire staff at the Hampton Inn in downtown Columbia would like to extend a huge thank you for your wonderful comments. We are elated to hear that you were able to enjoy our wonderful location. From walking to the State House, to walking to a wonderful dinner, our property offers many opportunities to walk to attractions around Columbia. Our staff is also glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. We strive at our property to make our guests feel like they are at home with so many wonderful free amenities. It is nice to see that you enjoyed all the little things that we do at our property to make your stay that much more enjoyable. At our property we believe that it is the little things that separate us from all other hotels. We again thank you for your gracious comments, and hope to see you again very soon!

Best Wishes,
Allan Galatolo
Guest Service Representative
Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia
822 Gervais Street, Columbia SC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice, location was great, everything was clean, but I came there to sleep. The bed was very hard and not relaxing at all. I hardly slept. :( The kicker is that I asked if the beds were soft at the front desk and the young guy raved about how soft the beds are. The young man should try sleeping in one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Gayle W,

On behalf of the whole Hampton Inn management staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your time in Columbia. We would also like to extend our sincerest apology for your issues. We use Serta Cloud 9 mattresses and have had guests rave about the comfort of our beds. Our main goal is our guests comfort and I apologize that you felt mislead by our guest service agent. Guest feedback allows us to stay focused on what matters most. It also provides us with a road map to address issues and concerns so they do not impact the next guest. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even better, please let me know. We hope to see you again in the future!

Best Wishes,
Casey Dornhecker
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn- Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, Sc 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed twice at the Hampton Inn Columbia/Historic District and it has been a fabulous experience every time. Most recently (July 2014) I have to say the front desk staff was just above and beyond in being welcoming and helpful. He even offered to give us his parking space closer to the door when we returned in the evening. It is a clean bright beautiful hotel, spacious rooms, right in the heart of the action in the Vista area of downtown Columbia. Very convenient to I-26, the USC campus and the state house. I love the decor inside and the way the exterior building facade is in keeping with the charm of the district. We will definitely stay there again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EHershey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear EHershey2014,

Thank you so much for choosing the Hampton Inn- Historic District for your accommodation needs. We love our downtown location and I am so glad that you have been able to enjoy the restaurants, shops, and other attractions. We appreciate all of your kind words and are excited to have you stay with us again. Thank you so much for your awesome review on TripAdvisor. Our management team and staff cannot wait to have you back at the Hampton Inn!

Best Wishes,
Casey Dornhecker
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel was very clean, staff was friendly and gave excellent service. Bed were comfortable. The only thing I would have liked is a refrigarator in the room. I would recommend this hotel. Close to convention center and eating facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Nancy B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Mrs. Massey,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for your kind words about our property. We take pride in our location, staff, and amenities. As you know, we are in the process of renovating all of our rooms and we are working our hardest to provide an exceptional stay for every guest. By the end of the renovation, we are pleased to say we will have a refrigerator in every room! Thank you again for your recommendation on TripAdvisor! Come back and visit with us anytime!

Best Wishes,

Brittany Begley
Guest Services Representative
Hampton Inn- Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, Sc 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here for a week on a business trip. Overall, I had a great stay. Parking was good-could get a bit crowded in the parking lot. The hotel was clean and semi-updated. They are in the middle of updating the furniture in the rooms. The continental breakfast was very good. Good selection of foods and it was fresh. Location was great-close to lots of restaurants and downtown. The room was very clean. Housekeeping made my bed daily and cleaned up the room/bathroom. Beds were very comfortable. The exercise room is small, but available. The pool is also on the smaller side, but clean and usable. Has area to lounge and relax outdoors. Kept clean. Staff was very nice! I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Carissa L,

On behalf of the staff and management team, I want to personally thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs. We take pride in our location, staff, and amenities. As you know we are in the process of renovating all of our rooms and we are working our hardest to provide an exceptional stay for every guest. Thank you again for your kind words on TripAdvisor! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Wishes,

Casey Dornhecker
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn -Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I travel to Columbia on business every 6-8 weeks. The hotel location is great and the staff is always very friendly and helpful. They are currently undergoing a renovation which will keep them at the top of my list. I had a special request with my business travel credit card (it was on fraud alert requiring manual authorization) and unlike the hotel I stayed the night before the Hampton G.M. (Len) was more than accommodating and personally executed the transaction. Best hotel in Columbia!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LenG-Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Tim N,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District. We love having you hear and are so happy to accommodate you on your travels to Columbia. If you ever need anything please let us know and we will do everything we can to go above and beyond to help you in a time of need. Have a great day and we will see you soon!

Sincerely,
Len Gilbert
Assistant General Manager
Hampton Inn - Downtown Historic District
822 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
925 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#20 of 93 in Columbia
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £99 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing