We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #5 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Martinez, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 28 February 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a late Valentine's getaway. What a great location! it's in the middle of the Vista (downtown district), and is surrounded by numerous restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is clean and the staff was helpful. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite, which was perfect. All in all...we will be back!
And, there is great coffee in the lobby 24/7!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmom1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    204
    65
    17
    8
See reviews for
226
166
50
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2009

My husband and I like Hampton Inn when we travel but this one in downtown Columbia topped all of them because of the staff. Last time we were in Columbia we stayed at a Comfort and the road noise was so bad I couldn't sleep. I requested parking lot side and it was quiet. We arrived as the cookies came out of the oven but needed to eat (at the convenient and comfortable restaurant next door). We teased staff about missing the cookies but the head front desk lady promised to have cookies in our room the next night. She did! The city is renovating this once industrial part of town and the Hampton is in a renovated building. Lots of people walked to the many restaurants and businesses in the area so did we.
We were here the week of the BCS Championship and we are ticket-holding GATOR fans. From the folks at the desk to the cleaning crew and the breakfast staff our Gators were complimented. Well, we compliment Hampton Inn Downtown for their wonderful hospitality!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PatMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

My husband went on a business trip and me and my son decided to tag along. We stayed downtown and it was close to everything. The hotel was clean and like any other Hampton Inn. Nothing special but comfortable. Also they don't have a fridge or microwave in every room so if you want one, you have better ask. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The hotel also had a free evening snack with warm food and free drinks. My son and I enjoy walking downtown to the library and the park. It might have seem far for some people because it was about a mile and a half away but even my three year old was able to make it with no stoller. He had a lot of fun and did not seem tired at all. We stopped at certain restaurants for food and drinks and went on our merry way to the park for a pinick. Overall our stay was good but the location is more for single people. Lots of bars and restaurants around. I suppose it was good for business people but I made it fun for me and my son.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank perfectvue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

By far, the best location, quality, and value in downtown Columbia. I called this hotel home for nearly five months during a project. My team and I searched and stayed at several other hotels during our initial search for the "home-away-from-home" and you simply cannot beat the Hampton Inn-Downtown. Dining and entertainment can be reached by walking so after a long day of work, you can park the car and forget about traffic for the rest of the night.

  • Liked — Location and quality
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmtconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4got10one
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2009

We didn't really know anything about the area before we went to Columbia but we soon found out that staying downtown in "The Vista", as they call it, puts you close to everything from restaurants, shopping and personal needs to the museum, river walk sightseeing and nightlife. This Hampton fits in with the surroundings of brick buildings and old south charm. It was one of the only hotels in the downtown area to have it's own parking lot, we found many of the hotels downtown required you to park at a city parking garage at an extra daily fee and we felt safer returning late in the evening via our own well lit parking lot as opposed to wandering through a garage to the hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful and informative. The rooms were clean, the beds had pillow top mattresses and a firm and soft pillow selection. Breakfast was very satisfying and if you needed breakfast on the go it was bagged and ready for you at the desk. Fruit and coffee was available twenty four seven and in the evening when returning to the hotel, big soft cookies were waiting for you at the desk as you walked in. All the staff acknowledged you as you passed by whether it be in the hall, elevator or at the front desk. Definitely one of the best stays we have experienced in our travels.

  • Liked — Comfort throughout the hotel
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank the4got10one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2009

I travel a lot and almost always stay at Hampton Inns, so I am very familier with them. The rooms and beds are consistent and comfortable, and they offer a good stay. Of the many I have stayed at, a very few stand out way above the others, and this Hampton Inn in the historic district of Columbia is one of the top three I have ever seen. The recognition (and attention to preferences) of a regular customer (even by staff you have not yet met you) is equal to what you would expect at a 5 star property. Add to that a location that is within a short walk of many of the cities better dining spots. You can not find a better place to stay in Columbia - trust me.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank foxhunterAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2008

Great location, great staff, great property. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Columbia.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vancityfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to the southern charm of the past in the historic district of Columbia. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, and most major museums. Get a feel for the past by browsing the specialty shops and restaurants just outside our door in the Historic District, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to natural wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Ask the team at our Columbia hotel for more ideas on all of the incredible sights of this area. Private parking is located on Lincoln street on the back entrance of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing