We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Ranked #4 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I have been to Columbia Historic Distoric many times and always stayed at this Hampton Inn. I know it will be clean and the people that work there are always very
nice and the Breakfast food is good and fresh. Very nice place to stay one of the best.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyGermantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2010

My mother, cousin, and I had a great stay at this Hampton Inn. The room was clean and roomy and the hot breakfast was good and plentiful with a wide variety of choices. The staff was extremely accommodating and could not have been nicer. The staff goes over and beyond to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Some examples: if a staff person sees you coming towards an elevator they press the button so when you arrive at the elevator it is waiting on you. They always ask to give you directions and constantly wish you a good day or good evening. The cleaning staff speak to you and welcome and say "Have a good day." They are real sticklers about keeping their hotel spotless; the housekeeper on the 5th floor where I stayed was even dusting the table by the elevator and the windows next to the vending machine room and each time she saw me she asked was everything ok or could she get me anything. Every staff member I encountered from the women and men at the front desk, the lady who takes care of the breakfast each morning, the men and women at the front desk, as well as the maintenance and all the housekeeping are all the nicest and most helpful people I have encountered at a hotel in a very very long time. They all went out of their way to make sure everyone had an excellent stay. Thank you all for a wonderful stay. If there is an award for this hotel chain this group should win. This really is THE place to stay if your attending a football game or just visiting Columbia SC. It is right in the middle of the Vista which is the place to go for restaurants, bars and nightlife. Great value and location, I'd definitely stay at the Hampton Inn Downtown Vista.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timothyh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

This is one well-run and nicely appointed hotel with fantastic staff. I spent two weeks there for a trial and I was impressed daily by the competence and courtesy of the staff. The breakfast was consistently delicious. I was impressed by the clean and up-to-date fitness room. The business center was rather small, but was more than adequate for my needs. Beat out the "nicer" hotel I stayed in in Myrtle Beach the week before.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsl655321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This hotel is full of courteous staff, wonderful amenities, and has an excellent location. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling for any reason. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in, including my own. I could not hear any of my neighbors on either side nor any noise from the hall, even though I was located close to the elevator. I never heard a peep.
This is the ONLY place to stay in Columbia!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I travel here for both business and pleasure ( my daughter goes to college in Columbia). I always get the best service..from the front desk operations to the housekeeping. It is worth paying a little more than some of the other places.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank degh1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I found the hotal clean, the servise was great, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnmiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Every time that I have to spend the night in Columbia, SC, I stay at this Hampton Inn. The staff is very accommodating and will go out of their way to meet the guests' needs. I like the area in which the hotel is located and the convenience of its location in relation to my business in Columbia. Great place. Great people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shastaCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.8 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais St, Columbia, SC 29201-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £104 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located at the heart of the Vista surrounded by over 30 bars and restaurants, less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, the Convention Center, the Colonial Life Arena, 10 minute drive to the Williams Brice Stadium, and most major museums. Get a feel for the southern charm by browsing our local specialty shops just outside our door, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to nature wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife and our nearby local river walk, the Riverfront Park, only a mile away and just one exit away from the Riverbanks Zoo. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Our parking closed lot is located in the back of the hotel on Lincoln street with a small fee. Any other questions on our property please call us to speak to one of our Guest Service Representatives! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing