We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware - they steal at this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson
Ranked #48 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beware - they steal at this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

We went with several families to graduation at Fort Jackson, many of whom had their valuables stolen, such as a brand new (not even out of the box) laptop and other electronic items. Stuff was stolen during graduation, while the "do not disturb" sign was on the door. It's certainly close to Fort Jackson, but whoever is doing the stealing knows when the hotel is empty.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    110
    82
    55
    48
See reviews for
199
96
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
198 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

We paid $56.95 which I thought was fair. Wireless internet worked fine, room was clean and reasonably good sized. It was a fair walk from our room in the back of the complex to the lobby. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank To-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

After I returned home, I received my credit card bill and discovered a $250 charge for smoking in my hotel room! None of our family did.

The establishment has never returned my calls.

I'm wondering if this has happened to anyone else?

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

We stayed here this past thurs & friday for the army boot camp graduation at fort jackson. this hotel is a hidden gem amongst all of the other larger chains in the area. we got a great rate for each night so that was a plus. we arrived to the hotel with ample parking. we checked in super fast and the staff was very pleasant. they have a free breakfast everyday with a ton of variety in choices (make your own waffles, muffins, bagels, yogurt, cereal, coffee, juice, and more!) and they have a nice little area with tables and chairs and couches for you to eat at. We arrived into the room which we were extremely impressed with. They had recently renovated the hotel and all of the furniture is brand new and really nicely chosen for the rooms. we stayed in a room with a king size ---pillow top--- bed which was extremely comfortable. the bed was made very nicely with modern looking linens and there were more than enough pillows then anyone could ask for. They had a mini fridge and a microwave in each room. the furniture was a nice dark wood with silver accents. lots of light in the room with many different lamps. they had a desk that had a 2nd rolling table that pulled out from underneath the main desk so someone else could roll it up to another chair and have a desk of their own. the curtains were nice and modern. the bathroom was clean and the wood floors in the entry way and into the bathroom were nice. the granite counter tops for the (separate) sink area were a nice touch. the decor on the walls was very new and modern -nice pictures and mirrors hanging. The had a huge cushy reclining chair in the corner of the room which was a nice touch. they gave a decent amount of towels per room as well.

Free wi-fi was great! each room had it's own thermostat to control the temperature digitally which i also liked.

we arrived after hours of rain in the area and stayed on the top floor. they honored my request to be as far away from the elevator as possible. They even had washer dryers on each floor!

after we settled into the room for a few minutes room I heard water dripping in the bathtub repeatedly so i went to check it out and thought it was the faucet and I got upset because I could hear it dripping and dripping. on 2nd inspection we realized that the ceiling was dripping. i immediately called the front desk and they were extremely accommodating when i told them what was wrong. there was a huge rain storm for hours before we arrived so we all figured it was the roof leaking. someone came up to our room immediately to give us new keys to the room next door. he even checked the new room for us before we moved our stuff over.

i would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. it's a 5 minute trip to Fort jackson, located immediately off the 20. The mall is right down the road and lots of great restaurants - including the Crab House - which was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1jenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrie
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

After reading a slew of horrible reviews on this hotel, we were flat out terrified to check in! But no worries, everything at the hotel has been re-furbished and renovated! Our room was on the first floor and was modern and tasteful. Pool was great and staff was friendly. For the price we paid it was a great deal! and a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumble999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

We were running late, and called to verify the rooms would be held. When we arrived, they had our paperwork ready and waiting. However, one of the cards did not work on the door for the room. When we got in the room, the window was open. But this did not help the smoke smell in the room. There were holes and cigerette burns in the carpet, and holes in the blankets on all the beds. There was mold on the shower curtain. The shower head was broken. A train rolled by early in the morning. One of our rooms was near the elevator, and could hear every sound from that in the room all night long. The other room must have been near the laundry room, we heard the dryer in our room. We were too afraid to try the breakfast. There are plenty of hotels near this one. No reason to stay here.

After posting this review on the La Quinta website, I received a call from the hotel manager. He stated he was sorry about the stay, and would reimburse one of our rooms. I let him know that regardless, we would not stay at another La Quinta. He said he could not leave it without doing something. About 2 weeks after the call, still no refund.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapperguro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

My room had cockroaches. The bathroom was very disgusting, you'd have to wear some flip flops in there. The shower was okay. Sinks looked like they were new. Service was nice though, the cleaning ladies were very nice to me and my son. They offer Cont. Breakfast but it was nothing really good. Some cold boiled eggs, stale cereal, do it yourself waffles, yogurt and coffee.

The hotel is located behind a ghetto gas station. The owners children actually stand outside at night trying to sell you bootleg movies LOL.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmerz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbia East - Ft Jackson
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia Two Notch Rd Area
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#26 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbia Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson
Address: 1538 Horseshoe Dr, Columbia, SC 29223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Columbia Ne/Fort Jackson Hotel Columbia
Columbia La Quinta
La Quinta Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing